Join Early Retirement Today

Has anyone developed a writing hobby/second career?
Old 11-30-2007, 06:38 AM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets

Has anyone developed a writing hobby/second career?

My DW and I are sliding into fire after more then 60 years (jointly) of work in our professions. We plan to drop to three day/week work averages in 2008, with a total FIRE 1 to 2 years later. We are both mid-50's. From both savings and an inheritance we plan a lovely FIRE, with a $50,000+ travel budget a few years out.

My real questions surrounds my desire to write book length projects. I believe that I have some talent, and life experience, to apply to my writing. I'm more concerned about how to successfully navigate publishing my book(s). Has anyone "walked this road"?

Here's a sample:

PROLOGUE: U.S. NAVY HUMANITARIAN AID CLINIC
FREETOWN, SIERRA LEONE, AFRICA

They found the first body a block from the clinic. Marine Gunnery Sergeant Marcus Smith pulled the palm fronds covering the body away while the other American bent down over the corpse. Navy Lt. John Johnson knew the man was dead before he bent down. The body’s arms had been hacked off, and the skull split like a melon. The man’s ears were gone, probably chopped off as a trophy of the kill. It was a sight ghastly enough to instantly sicken most people, but the lieutenant just straightened up and looked over at Gunny Smith. “I thought the civil war and RUF atrocities ended ten years ago”. Lt. Johnson was an MD, freshly out of residency, and an even more recently brevetted full lieutenant in the United States Navy.