How many people own a rice cooker?

I cook rice in my pressure cooker, probably one of my most versatile piece of cooking equipment I own (I use mine every day).

1 cup of dry rice + 1.5 cup of water. Heat until the cooker is pressurized. Turn off the heat. And let the cooker depressurize on its own. Done. Works for white or brown rice.

Years ago I took a Chinese cooking class and the instructor said the way to cook rice is to put in the ingredients and ignore it . Well I've been doing that for thirty years and my rice is always perfect .

I cook rice in my pressure cooker, probably one of my most versatile piece of cooking equipment I own (I use mine every day).

1 cup of dry rice + 1.5 cup of water. Heat until the cooker is pressurized. Turn off the heat. And let the cooker depressurize on its own. Done. Works for white or brown rice.

Awesome method...thanks!

Going to try it right now.

Most important is the choice of rice. My favorite is Kokuho Rose, a korean rice. It's a little sticky, and never dry.

+1
Yes, I should have mentioned that. This is my favorite white rice, too. In fact, it's the only one I use now.

I took a Politic Science course in college as an elective in the mid 70's and the professor would often ramble on about things in his personal life. He rice cooker was one of his favorite stories.

I never really understood why he did this at the time, however, now thinking about it he probably had tenure and was thinking about retirement and not about teaching.

I've cooked rice both ways. I've screwed it up in a pot on occasion, usually through poor measuring or overcooking. The rice cooker has never messed up the rice. Adding to that, I don't know a single Asian born American who doesn't own one. I won't eat in an Indian restaurant that doesn't have Indian customers. Same with any other ethnic restaurant. If they don't have customers of the same ethnicity I assume they aren't very good. So I'm a believer in the rice cooker concept.