Join Early Retirement Today

How things have changed..
Old 01-09-2019, 05:52 AM   #1
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post

How things have changed..

I earned my undergraduate degree at the State University of New York near the Border of Canada ($2500/yr all in). The winters were long and extremely cold and at the first hint of spring heat some of the coeds would don bikinis and lay in the sun. It was a welcome sight because for much of the year the uniform of the day was a down paraka, jeans, a flannel shirt and some hefty boots. It might be all of 75 degress out but it was a relative heat wave when you compare it to 20 below zero. I can tell you the cold there did funny things to cars like when the door handle of my VW bug came off in my hands. I stick shift would become stiff because the cold had frozen the grease. We could judge the temperature by looking out the window at the campus heating plant and gauge the height of the steam plume. A couple hundred feet meant extreme cold. Oh you can dress heavily, have an air cooled car (my bug) but, I learned to respect the cold as it always wins.

The AuSable river runs through the campus and empties into lake Champlain in town; It was there at the mouth of the river that I caught a northern pike one late summer day. As I recall It was my buddy Larry that came up with the idea of ‘tubing’ the AuSable. Amazingly tubes were available at the recreation office. Looking back, I can safely say providing tubes to students was a idea fraught with peril and an insurance nightmare.