Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
HSA rolled into Roth IRA by mistake!
Old 06-09-2017, 01:17 PM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Marietta
Posts: 116
HSA rolled into Roth IRA by mistake!

I put in a request to roll $4800 of my current work HSA to my TD Ameritrade HSA account. Instead, in error, they rolled it over to my TD Ameritrade Roth IRA.

I searched online and could find nothing about this, other than it is not allowed.
Since earnings will still be tax-free, I guess it does not matter.

The reason I rolled it over to begin with, is because the work HSA has fewer options and I earn more with the TD Ameritrade HSA. For now, I prefer to pay healthcare expenses (not a high cost and I can afford it easily) out of pocket and let the HSA money grow with earnings tax-free, similar to my Roth accounts.

Should I be concerned about this error or not worry about it?
__________________

workburnout is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-09-2017, 01:31 PM   #2
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
euro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 1,228
Tell Ameritrade to fix it
__________________

euro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2017, 01:44 PM   #3
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
OldShooter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: City
Posts: 3,230
Quote:
Originally Posted by euro View Post
Tell Ameritrade to fix it
This.
OldShooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2017, 02:08 PM   #4
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Marietta
Posts: 116
Sent them an email to fix it. Will see what they say, hopefully will not need to call them.
workburnout is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
After tax 401K rolled to Tira and Roth sayhey24 FIRE and Money 18 03-22-2016 04:57 AM
Backdoor Roth IRA Mistake - HELP! CountingDown2014 FIRE and Money 11 02-01-2014 09:25 PM
Should I move T-IRA into my active 401k and do backdoor ROTH IRA? dvalley FIRE and Money 6 01-17-2014 04:04 PM
Retired recently and have a rolled over IRA, classic dilemma Bona Fide Retiree FIRE and Money 10 11-26-2010 01:43 PM
rolled over IRA and 401K question tmm99 FIRE and Money 6 12-11-2009 06:20 PM

» Quick Links

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:04 AM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.