Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
https site
Old 02-24-2016, 05:57 PM   #1
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
Brat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 5,914
https site

I am putting data in a website. The address given starts with https and I have seen that address on the vendor's computer. When I enter that website with my own computer it tells me that my computer isn't secure and doesn't offer me the https portion of the address.

My wifi is secure. What am I missing?
__________________

__________________
Duck bjorn.
Brat is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 02-24-2016, 06:16 PM   #2
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
2017ish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 1,848
Probably nothing to do with WiFi. I believe it probably is more of an issue with the software on your computer (I'm no expert though).

Is your browser up to date? How about any security software? I'd use google (or your preferred search provider) to search for "[my browser name] https error codes not secure" and look at the discussions/tips.

I just did this with "chrome https error codes not secure" and looks like the responsive sites are pretty good.
__________________

__________________
OMY * 3 2ish Done 7.28.17
2017ish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2016, 06:41 PM   #3
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
target2019's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3,710
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brat View Post
I am putting data in a website. The address given starts with https and I have seen that address on the vendor's computer. When I enter that website with my own computer it tells me that my computer isn't secure and doesn't offer me the https portion of the address.



My wifi is secure. What am I missing?

Your browser is not sending the encryption that the site is requesting.
__________________
target2019 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2016, 06:43 PM   #4
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Car-Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Citizen of Texas
Posts: 2,486
HTTPS is just a secure "communications" protocol over a network between two computers. (Typically, client to server) Is your browser up to date? An out of date browser is often the problem when you can't connect VIA HTTPS.
__________________
Car-Guy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2016, 09:32 PM   #5
Full time employment: Posting here.
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 576
When this happened to me, Google had sent notice to the site that they needed to update their security certificate. I sent the site an email , they verified the Google request and updated the security certificate.
__________________
davef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2016, 10:22 PM   #6
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
Brat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 5,914
The vendor said to use Chrome which is what I am using. Maybe my version of Chrome is old & moldy.
__________________
Duck bjorn.
Brat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2016, 10:41 PM   #7
Full time employment: Posting here.
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 588
I had the same msg in a link from a post in the forum. I put up an incognito tab and browsed. Then when done, I closed and reset. I haven't had any problems with any other https sites so I presumed it was the other sites problem.
__________________
devans0 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2016, 01:42 AM   #8
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
target2019's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3,710
Time and date must be correct for https. Make sure that is set correctly on your computer.

The specific message you get is important for troubleshooting purposes. Put that in quotes when you search.
__________________
target2019 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2016, 06:38 AM   #9
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 1,878
Post the exact error message will help get better answer. It could be date/time issues. certificate issues etc

Here's a link for firefox that is for "Your connection is not secure" which may be what you are seeing

https://support.mozilla.org/en-US/kb...ot-secure-mean
__________________
rbmrtn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2016, 10:38 AM   #10
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
Brat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 5,914
The first error message was to the effect that "Your connection is not secure" Now I see a lock with an "x" and a line thru https

I took a look a chrome error messages of this type and learned that it may be Norton Antivirus Online. Chrome suggests I try turning off my antivirus program remembering to turn it back on after testing that solution.
__________________
Duck bjorn.
Brat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2016, 06:37 PM   #11
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
target2019's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3,710
Click on the lock to get more information.

It sounds like the website is presenting an out of date security certificate.

Everything on the page does display, correct?
__________________
target2019 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2016, 10:56 PM   #12
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
Brat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 5,914
Yes, I can do what I need to do. The lack of the https status is only mildly a matter of concern.
__________________
Duck bjorn.
Brat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2016, 11:56 PM   #13
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
target2019's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3,710
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brat View Post
Yes, I can do what I need to do. The lack of the https status is only mildly a matter of concern.

It's not you, then. That is a guess until you click on the lock and find what is really behind this.

Another frequent cause is that the security certificate does not match the website name.
__________________
target2019 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2016, 05:10 AM   #14
Full time employment: Posting here.
dixonge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Ajijic
Posts: 849
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brat View Post
The first error message was to the effect that "Your connection is not secure" Now I see a lock with an "x" and a line thru https

I took a look a chrome error messages of this type and learned that it may be Norton Antivirus Online. Chrome suggests I try turning off my antivirus program remembering to turn it back on after testing that solution.
It's not anything on your end, it is just Chrome telling you it doesn't like something on the site. It sounds like you are getting the result in the 3rd section here:

Gradually Sunsetting SHA-1

Read that page for the details...
__________________

__________________
dixonge is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pfau: https://www.onefpa.org/journal/Pages/OCT15-Making-Sense-Out-of-Variable-Spendin walkinwood FIRE and Money 62 10-17-2015 03:53 PM
https: (+ padlock) kaneohe Other topics 3 07-21-2011 12:28 PM
good site to visit for er planning dex Other topics 3 05-10-2004 04:43 PM
UK equivalent site M f Hi, I am... 1 06-14-2003 12:16 PM
The "Analyze Now" web site RedOscar Other topics 2 07-15-2002 04:14 AM

 

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:05 AM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.