Join Early Retirement Today

I need a beer.  Beer, beer, beer...here beery beer
Old 02-22-2005, 09:07 PM   #1
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...

I need a beer.  Beer, beer, beer...here beery beer

Tax time is now concluded.

Our first married filing jointly return. How thrilling! :P

For the first time since ER'ing, I had to pay taxes, but at least the wifes withholding covered the damage and we're getting a little bit back.

Some key learnings:

- It does not really matter if you have your investments spread over hell and earth or at one place. This is my first year where everything was in one place (vanguard). I expected almost push-button ease. Not to be had.

- Do not, I repeat, do not use the vanguard short term bond fund as your faux money-market account. Granted I had a lot of activity in mine because I had dividends paid out to it from all my other funds and then drained it for my regular spending needs. I also used it just like a MM account at a brokerage...putting new money into it and funding investments from there. Upon review of my full transaction loads, almost every single sell generated a small and nearly insignificant loss that in aggregate ate up all the interest I was paid. Further, since about 70% of the sell transactions generated a small loss, they were all subject to the wash sale rule and I had to calculate which 'bucket' the shares came from and how many shares had then been purchased within the 60 day window of that sale. Ay Carumba! Surprisingly, although I have vanguards download and quickens sideslip into turbotax, the program couldnt figure this out on its own. All the numbers were there, readily available. Apparently Intuit spent so much time figuring out how to shoehorn offers for $19.95 for Its Deductible! and other various and sundry extras that they forgot to build in useful functionality to the program.