Join Early Retirement Today

I think I got my leg pulled
Old 04-27-2018, 12:15 PM   #1
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post

I think I got my leg pulled

Yesterday afternoon I hung out at my local, large craft brewery (Ballast Point) for a couple of beers. As I was paying my tab I felt a tap on my shoulder and was greeted by a nice young ex-coworker whom I always enjoyed seeing.

One or two other familiar faces drifted in, as well as some unfamiliar ones, and I realized they were having a professional society (ASHRAE) meeting that evening. I chatted a bit and was introduced to an unfamiliar person who asked me where I worked. I said I used to be an engineer too, but now I'm retired. He gave me the usual "but you're too young to retire" and kept pressing it. Eventually he told me that he's retired, too. I didn't think too much of it.

Today, it dawned on me that he didn't look too much older than me and had a twinkle in his eye as he kept saying I was "too young." I think he was pulling my leg and maybe I have another ER person in my town? Hmmm, I wonder...

GalaxyBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!