Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Induction Cooktop...which one would you buy?
Old 04-19-2016, 04:36 PM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 434
Induction Cooktop...which one would you buy?

DH and I have made the decision to swap out our 36" gas cooktop to an induction cooktop. I had planned to do it at some later point, but decided why not now while we're remodeling.

I've done quite a bit of research and am leaning to the Bosch 800 series cooktop mainly for its feature of setting a specific temperature. I'd love to try sous vide cooking w/o buying yet another specific use appliance. My previous cooktop had a grill/griddle burner which I've never used so the bridge feature has no appeal.

I'm also concerned about reliability and potential ease of repair. The US has not embraced this technology so I believe this concern is valid.

Thoughts? Experience w/induction that you care to share? TIA.
__________________

__________________
TrvlBug is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-19-2016, 05:04 PM   #2
Moderator
MBAustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 4,146
I've had a GE induction cooktop for 5 years and absolutely love it. Just as responsive as gas, as easy to clean as any smooth top electric, and much faster to get up to temperature than either.

We just bought a new Bosch dishwasher, and in general I think their products are quite reliable. There are no moving parts in an induction cooktop, so my thought is that if it works for a year (getting past electronic infant mortality issues), it's likely to last a long time. FWIW, our GE has been trouble-free.

Induction cooking appliances are getting more common - more manufacturers are producing them now than 5 years ago.

I was curious about the "specific temperature" setting you mentioned above so I went to the Bosch website and downloaded the manual. If you are referring to the AutoChef function, I didn't get the impression you could actually set the temperature, so you may want to check with Bosch to see if one of the low settings will give you sous vide capability, if you haven't already. That would really be cool!

Happy cooking!
__________________

__________________
"One of the funny things about the stock market is that every time one person buys, another sells, and both think they are astute." William Feather
----------------------------------
ER'd Oct. 2010 at 53. Life is good.
MBAustin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2016, 05:56 PM   #3
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 434
Thanks MBAustin. I purchased an induction hot plate for my makeshift kitchen and am loving it. It also has a temp mode to hold a specific temp, but I haven't tried it. I went to 3 appliance stores today, none of which had active units and all sales people said yes, Bosch's Auto Chef feature allows you to set and hold a specific temperature. It also has the lock and timer features which I think are standard.

There's a showroom about 15 mi. from my house that has fully functioning units and will demonstrate and teach you all the features. I need to coordinate another work from home day later this week where DH can be home again with the contractors and I can do some more shopping.

Electrician is coming by later this week to tell me if we have the capacity for another dedicated 220. I want to be able to use the wall oven, cooktop and microwave w/o tripping breakers. Hopefully we won't need to increase capacity...this reno is costing a fortune as it is .
__________________
TrvlBug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2016, 06:27 PM   #4
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Colorado Mountains
Posts: 2,131
I have been considering an induction cook top. But then we had a power outage that lasted a day and a half this weekend. Last year I was without power for five days.

I would think the cool cook top would clean easier than a smooth top electric because the food would not burn on. Am I incorrect on that?

We had gas at the last house and I like cooking with gas but don't like trying to keep the burners clean. If I get gas it will be simple enough to work when the power is out.
__________________
Hermit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2016, 06:30 PM   #5
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Colorado Mountains
Posts: 2,131
Quote:
Originally Posted by TrvlBug View Post
Thanks MBAustin. I purchased an induction hot plate for my makeshift kitchen and am loving it. It also has a temp mode to hold a specific temp, but I haven't tried it. ...
I am planning on an induction hot plate for my downstairs wet bar. Would you recommend the one you use? The brand and model?
__________________
Hermit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2016, 06:30 PM   #6
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
REWahoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas Hill Country
Posts: 42,070
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hermit View Post
I have been considering an induction cook top. But then we had a power outage that lasted a day and a half this weekend. Last year I was without power for five days.
Sounds like gas is the way to go.
__________________
Numbers is hard

When I hit 70, it hit back

Retired in 2005 at age 58, no pension
REWahoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2016, 07:16 PM   #7
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
RonBoyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Denver, Colorado
Posts: 5,280
We purchased the 8100 MC model of this Duxtop Induction "hot plate" for our RV.

http://www.amazon.com/1800-Watt-Port...eywords=duxtop

I am very impressed with this technology... tremendous control of heat like that (or better than, actually) of a high pressure gas unit. I will concede that a "power failure" would be a problem but that is less common than a gas outage.
__________________
"It's tough to make predictions, especially when it involves the future." ~Attributed to many
"In theory, there is no difference between theory and practice. But, in practice, there is." ~(perhaps by) Yogi Berra
"Those who have knowledge, don't predict. Those who predict, don't have knowledge."~ Lau tzu
RonBoyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2016, 07:27 PM   #8
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 434
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hermit View Post
I am planning on an induction hot plate for my downstairs wet bar. Would you recommend the one you use? The brand and model?
I purchased the same one as RonBoyd and have been very happy with it.
__________________
TrvlBug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2016, 08:01 PM   #9
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Colorado Mountains
Posts: 2,131
Thanks RonBoyd and TrvlBug. I added the hot plate and a small set of pans to my wish list.
__________________
Hermit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2016, 08:09 PM   #10
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Colorado Mountains
Posts: 2,131
Quote:
Originally Posted by RonBoyd View Post
I will concede that a "power failure" would be a problem but that is less common than a gas outage.
If I run out of gas it is because I forgot to get the propane tank filled!
__________________
Hermit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2016, 08:31 PM   #11
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 434
Fortunately, we don't have power outage issues. The longest about 12-18 hours and I can count on one hand the number over the years! If during dinner time, we head to the pizza joint . And if we do have a bad EQ, the gas would be turned off anyhow. We stock up on charcoal and any cooking would be on the Weber.
__________________
TrvlBug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2016, 08:38 PM   #12
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Colorado Mountains
Posts: 2,131
Quote:
Originally Posted by TrvlBug View Post
... If during dinner time, we head to the pizza joint . ...
For me, that's 35 to 50 minutes down the road depending on weather.
And, yes, I have made that pizza run more than once!
__________________
Hermit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2016, 05:37 AM   #13
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Florence, AL/Helen, GA
Posts: 2,086
You buy a $1,600 induction cooktop, and you're also going to want to spring for double convections ovens--another $3,000. For the money spent, you could have a Viking or other ultra luxury stove system.

We enjoy our GE Profile double oven stove just as well for a small percentage of the induction and separate oven cost.
__________________
Bamaman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2016, 08:55 AM   #14
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 434
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bamaman View Post
You buy a $1,600 induction cooktop, and you're also going to want to spring for double convections ovens--another $3,000. For the money spent, you could have a Viking or other ultra luxury stove system.

We enjoy our GE Profile double oven stove just as well for a small percentage of the induction and separate oven cost.
I had and will continue to have separate cooktop and wall oven/micro. I just prefer that set up rather than a range, although I did seriously consider both options. My new wall ovens are both convection with the top oven being a speed oven, an oven and microwave in one! Love it (I should anyway as it won't be installed for another 6 weeks when cabinets come in) and this should meet my need for a double oven during holidays.

I can't wait until my new kitchen is done .
__________________
TrvlBug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2016, 10:30 AM   #15
Moderator
MBAustin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 4,146
TrvlBug - we did have to add a new circuit to the panel for the new cooktop and double oven when we reno'd, hope you don't have to. Would love to hear all about it when you get a full demo.

Hermit - you are correct, it's actually much easier to clean than a regular electric smooth top. I've never had to use the scraper which was a common occurrence on the old cooktop. It has been so long, I actually forgot all about that!
__________________
"One of the funny things about the stock market is that every time one person buys, another sells, and both think they are astute." William Feather
----------------------------------
ER'd Oct. 2010 at 53. Life is good.
MBAustin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2016, 08:36 AM   #16
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Utrecht
Posts: 2,204
I have an induction cooktop now in my rental appartement, first ever.

Only downside is that the controller is touchscreen. Which doesn't work well when it's wet (cooking spills, I make a big mess sometimes).
__________________
Totoro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2016, 11:09 AM   #17
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 434
I've done more research and the Auto Chef feature of the Bosch 800 is not what was represented by some of the salespeople...I don't think they really knew as induction is a small part of their sales. It's for bringing temp up to your frying temp and letting you know when that temp has been reached. My finger test works great for me so I don't need to spend good $ on that . I am considering splurging for the bridge feature though (Benchmark model) or possibly Thermador's 'put the pan anywhere on the cooktop' feature.
__________________
TrvlBug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2016, 11:25 AM   #18
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 79
I love Thermador's "put the pan anywhere" feature, but we wanted a range so we picked the Miele induction range. It was expensive but worked out to cost less than a cooktop with a large separate wall oven. I can't tell you how it works yet because it won't be installed until next week. Like you, I can't wait for my kitchen to be completed!
__________________
Persn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2016, 12:13 PM   #19
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 434
Quote:
Originally Posted by Persn View Post
I love Thermador's "put the pan anywhere" feature, but we wanted a range so we picked the Miele induction range. It was expensive but worked out to cost less than a cooktop with a large separate wall oven. I can't tell you how it works yet because it won't be installed until next week. Like you, I can't wait for my kitchen to be completed!
The advantage of Bosch's Benchmark over the Thermador is that Bosch accommodates 5 pots vs. Thermador's 4. Creating the bridge allows you to put up to 3 pots anywhere on the bridge. Also Thermador has an alarm if pot boils over...that's something that would be really, really useful to me! Fortunately I have some time to decide.
__________________
TrvlBug is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2016, 01:50 PM   #20
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Toronto
Posts: 189
I'm really looking forward to getting an induction range myself. Our kitchen layout won't accommodate a separate cooktop/oven so we have to go with a range. I have my eye on a double-oven Whirlpool induction range.
__________________

__________________
Spudd is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
If you could only have one test...which would it be? Newventurer Health and Early Retirement 50 03-17-2015 03:33 PM
WiFi All In One Printer - which one to buy Disappointed Other topics 18 05-09-2013 07:35 PM
Changing cooktop cutout size? skyline Other topics 16 02-25-2008 04:51 PM

 

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:12 AM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.