Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Internet Problem
Old 01-18-2015, 11:47 AM   #1
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
TromboneAl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 11,197
Internet Problem

Occasionally, and most often early in the morning, we'll have trouble loading web pages. We'll get Server not Found errors, and if we click on "Try Again," 20 times or so, the page will eventually load.

Sometimes one page, for example, google.com will load fine while another, say facebook.com, will fail to load.

Many things are exceptionally slow.

But after a while, things will return to normal.

I've assumed that this is just a problem that our ISP, suddenlink, is having, but when I call, they say they know of no problems. They offer to send someone out, but since it's so intermittent, I doubt he could find anything. At this point I don't want to take the chance that some of our equipment is bad, and thus incur a charge.

What do you think is going on?
__________________

__________________
Al
TromboneAl is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-18-2015, 11:54 AM   #2
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
braumeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Northern Kentucky
Posts: 8,589
Cable or DSL?
__________________

__________________
braumeister is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2015, 11:56 AM   #3
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
Amethyst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 5,875
Yes, I've had this issue. ISP tries to sell me faster data rate.


Basic stuff:



Did you try restarting?



Is your upload/download speed fast enough?



Acc to my ISP (FIOS) these things can affect your internet speed:

  • Network traffic/congestion
  • Internet usage in your home
  • Laptop/computer speed
  • Watching Video On Demand (VOD)
__________________
If you understood everything I say, you'd be me ~ Miles Davis
'There is only one success – to be able to spend your life in your own way.’ Christopher Morley.
Amethyst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2015, 11:58 AM   #4
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
mpeirce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Columbus area
Posts: 1,589
Lately I've been running into various DNS issues when I'm asked to "fix my internet". Often it seems to be a bad DNS server at an ISP and can be fixed by changing the DNS server to any of the public DNS servers out there like OpenDNS (208.67.222.222 & 208.67.220.220) or Google (8.8.8.8 & 8.8.4.4)

Obviously there are lots other things that go wrong, but this worth a try.
__________________
mpeirce is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2015, 12:06 PM   #5
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
TromboneAl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 11,197
Cable.

>Did you try restarting?

Yes, multiple times.

>Is your upload/download speed fast enough?

Usually, yes. Right now it's very slow:

Speedtest.net by Ookla - My Results

and now it's OK:

Speedtest.net by Ookla - My Results

I picture the cable guy telling me to reboot, and then it's fine (by chance), and I get charged for a visit.





Is your upload/download speed fast enough?
__________________
Al
TromboneAl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2015, 12:13 PM   #6
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northern IL
Posts: 18,263
I've tried this series of ping tests to try to isolate the problem (your ip #'s for your router etc may be different):

ping -c5 0 << to internal network card << 1 mS
ping -c5 192.168.1.1 << ROUTER ~ 1 mS
ping -c5 8.8.8.8 << GOOGLE DNS ~ 26 mS [compare to your DNS]

ping -c5 xx.xx.xx.xx << - sub the IP that Speedtest.net by Ookla - The Global Broadband Speed Test shows, this to my router (VOIP Adapter) ~ 2 mS


ping -c5 www.<your isp> << my ISP ~ 14 mS
ping -c5 www.<try other sites> <<<<<<<<<<< ~ 27mS

Those were my ping times, yours should probably be lower with cable (I have a fixed wireless connection, some additional delays I think). Try with different DNS as suggested by others.


-ERD50
__________________
ERD50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2015, 12:14 PM   #7
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,001
Check your ethernet cables, I had similar issues where some pages load fine and others wouldn't. I just kept swapping them out and replacing them, testing each until it cleared up. This was for wired and wifi connections. This resolved my problem. Cheap fix, but very irritating.
__________________
Dimsumkid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2015, 12:16 PM   #8
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 5,563
Al,
My guess based on your speeds only, is it's your ISP bandwidth or routing issues. The standard respose of any good network guy is "we're not having any problems". Past that, not sure where to go other than to the ISP. If you can tie your problems to anytime the speed is slow that might give you some leverage with them. Best wishes.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using Early Retirement Forum mobile app
__________________
MRG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2015, 12:17 PM   #9
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northern IL
Posts: 18,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by TromboneAl View Post
....
>Is your upload/download speed fast enough?

Usually, yes. Right now it's very slow:

Speedtest.net by Ookla - My Results

and now it's OK:

Speedtest.net by Ookla - My Results ....
Your 'very slow' is about all I get on my connection. That absolutely does not result in 'pages not loading'. For example, the er-org portal refreshes for me in less than one second. A highly customized google news page loads in about 2 seconds, reliably.

I suspect DNS issues. Try the google DNS or open DNS.

-ERD50
__________________
ERD50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2015, 12:28 PM   #10
Full time employment: Posting here.
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: San Diego
Posts: 699
have you tried swapping out your router?
__________________
AllDone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2015, 12:33 PM   #11
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northern IL
Posts: 18,263
Ummm, are you still doing your backups in the morning?

Quote:
Occasionally, and most often early in the morning, we'll have trouble loading web pages.
from an older thread:

Connection Problems: Router, ISP?

Quote:
Originally Posted by TromboneAl View Post
Today I discovered that this problem happens consistently when, first time in the morning, I do a backup of my book. A 17 MB file is copied to the Skydrive (Onedrive), and the problem happens a few seconds after that.

Perhaps the Explorer/Skydrive system is hogging all the bandwidth improperly. And maybe my disconnect/reconnect thing just happens to be complete at the same time Skydrive is done.

-ERD50
__________________
ERD50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2015, 12:37 PM   #12
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 5,563
Quote:
Originally Posted by ERD50 View Post
Your 'very slow' is about all I get on my connection. That absolutely does not result in 'pages not loading'. For example, the er-org portal refreshes for me in less than one second. A highly customized google news page loads in about 2 seconds, reliably.

I suspect DNS issues. Try the google DNS or open DNS.

-ERD50
Yes I see your point. It's slow not stopped, causing timeouts. The DNS is actionable and easily swapped. Your post made me change my thinking, I would start there too. I do get intermittent DNS problems and they do timeout, giving 'page not loaded'.


Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using Early Retirement Forum mobile app
__________________
MRG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2015, 12:49 PM   #13
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
imoldernu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Peru
Posts: 4,616
Depending on the Microsoft version you are running, you may want to try this...
In "Internet Connections"

Go to: Properties, and uncheck this: Internet Protocol Version 6(TCP/IPv6)

Also... for the past three days, I have been receiving large Microsoft Updates when starting up. Also, auto updates to antivirus and other installed programs will "update" when the computer starts. These auto updates are becoming more intrusive and some of the newest "fix your compter type" programs are also searching for driver updates. By themselves, none of these should slow your computer to any degree, but taken together, a nuisance.

To see what may be causing a probem, download process explorer. Even if you don't understand the processes that are running, this shows what is using the memory. You can then google to see what the process is that's causing the problem.

http://filehippo.com/download_process_explorer

Am not a techie, but just my guesses.
__________________
imoldernu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2015, 01:07 PM   #14
Recycles dryer sheets
Theseus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 484
Quote:
Originally Posted by TromboneAl View Post
At this point I don't want to take the chance that some of our equipment is bad, and thus incur a charge.
In the past when Charter still had a presence on the Broadband DSL Reports forum with techs that knew their stuff and were bestowed with the independence to make things happen, it was an awesome resource. Charter made a megacorp-style decision and did away with that, much to the chagrin of customers that dared put some of their own effort into making things work. I looked and Suddenlink does apparently have some sort of online tech support presence, can't vouch for their abilities, but it might be worth a shot if you care to do some self-diagnosing with their input.

Suddenlink forum | DSLReports, ISP Information is the link for the Suddenlink forum; sticky "Approved Suddenlink Tech Support Agents" brings up a list of online tech support.
__________________
Theseus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2015, 01:19 PM   #15
Moderator
Ronstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: A little ways southwest of Chicago
Posts: 9,341
I had a similar problem when an animal had partially chewed through the cable line
__________________
Ronstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2015, 01:59 PM   #16
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
target2019's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3,705
If you have a diagram of all devices and how wired (or wireless), it helps. There are problems in your LAN, and then there are problems beyond, which require alerting the ISP.

One possibility is DNS.

You could try to flushdns on the computers. If Windows, run command prompt as administrator.

ipconfig /flushdns

There is cached content in your router and modem, too. The following link explains DNS very well.

https://timwolverson.wordpress.com/tag/clear-dns-cache/
__________________
target2019 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2015, 02:17 PM   #17
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Dash man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Limerick
Posts: 1,668
Do you have antivirus scans running on a schedule the coincides with your slow periods? They can slow things down.


Sent from my iPhone using Early Retirement Forum
__________________
Dash man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2015, 07:36 PM   #18
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
target2019's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3,705
Al,
Is this a continuation of this problem?
Connection Problems: Router, ISP?
__________________
target2019 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2015, 09:55 PM   #19
Administrator
W2R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 38,837
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ronstar View Post
I had a similar problem when an animal had partially chewed through the cable line
+1

Another possibility - - We had internet problems every time it rained, in College Station. The rain was getting into the connection just outside our house.
__________________
Already we are boldly launched upon the deep; but soon we shall be lost in its unshored, harbourless immensities.

- - H. Melville, 1851
W2R is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2015, 10:02 PM   #20
Moderator
Ronstar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: A little ways southwest of Chicago
Posts: 9,341
Quote:
Originally Posted by W2R View Post
+1

Another possibility - - We had internet problems every time it rained, in College Station. The rain was getting into the connection just outside our house.
Definitely - rain can be a problem. When I was having problems, the Comcast tech first checked all connections inside and out. Seems logical for a situation where the internet works, then starts having sporadic problems
__________________

__________________
Ronstar is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Poll:"internet" or "Internet" TromboneAl Other topics 31 03-22-2014 03:23 PM
Debt problem or spending problem ? frayne FIRE Related Public Policy 9 03-11-2013 08:00 AM
The “not my problem” mindset is a problem. Midpack Other topics 14 05-01-2012 05:42 PM
FI/RE a nice problem to have but still a problem Grizz Hi, I am... 27 06-29-2007 02:29 AM
Problem Getting Internet on Home Wireless Network TromboneAl Other topics 8 05-22-2007 10:31 PM

 

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:18 PM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.