Join Early Retirement Today

Is Jazz Worth It?
Old 12-23-2010, 06:57 PM   #1
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...

Is Jazz Worth It?

My trio had a firm gig of every first Friday of the month at a nice restaurant with a piano, but when I called to confirm, the owner said that the other partners are considering discontinuing the music, and the gigs are up in the air.

This kind of thing is the major source of stress in my life, and I'm just not sure it's worth it. I'm essentially playing for free (the pay usually doesn't cover the car expenses), and as a musician, I'm usually treated as a second-class citizen (calls not returned, pianos not tuned, etc.). I quit the nursing home gig because they wouldn't even keep the piano tuned.

Just venting.
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-23-2010, 07:05 PM   #2
Give me a forum ...

Your story is a familiar one around the bbbamI abode.