Join Early Retirement Today

Is this kosher ?
Old 06-25-2016, 06:10 AM   #1
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post

Is this kosher ?

A few years ago I was asked to take some photos of the neighborhood for the HOA website. Today I get a flyer in the mail from a real estate company that has my photos plaster all over the front of the flyer. Neither I or the HOA was asked permission to use the photos.

I few of my photog friends said this is absolutely illegal and that I should send an invoice to the real estate company.

Although I am an amateur photographer I have done some paid works in the past, if that makes any difference.

Your thoughts ?
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 06-25-2016, 06:32 AM   #2
Full time employment: Posting here.

Absolutely send an invoice. If they refuse to pay, your next recourse is either small claims court or you can threaten to negatively, and factually, review them on Yelp.

I think in the long run, you're helping them by keeping that realtor honest and reminding them of professional courtesy, civility, and the law.