Join Early Retirement Today

Laptop cooling stand?
Old 04-07-2009, 10:30 AM   #1
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post

Laptop cooling stand?

I am really no computer expert, but read that it is wise to use a laptop cooling stand as it prevents the unit from overheating and extends the computer's life.
Looking at the following, and wonder if anyone here has any experience with this Belkin Cushtop Notebook Stand: Belkin CushTop - F8N044-GRN - Buy.com. This appears to be foam covered in microfiber, but it did have good reviews as to preventing your laptop from overheating, as well as, saving your legs from burning when the laptop is sitting on your lap.

Or would I be better off purchasing one with an actual fan in it? And, if so, any suggestions as to what type is best? I have been looking at amazon.com, pcnet, cnet, epinions.com and other sites as for suggestions, and can't seem to find "the one" that is best. Any suggestions from you computer pros out there?
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-07-2009, 10:46 AM   #2
Moderator Emeritus