Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
LCD TV screen black after 2 secs -- help!
Old 12-10-2008, 10:29 AM   #1
Full time employment: Posting here.
Urchina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Central Coast, California
Posts: 891
LCD TV screen black after 2 secs -- help!

This morning I turned on the TV so the kids could watch cartoons while I made breakfast. Everything was fine for 2 seconds, then the screen went black. The sound keeps coming through fine.

Checked the cables, changed the channels, turned the TV on and off and on -- still have the problem. This is a Sharp Aquos we bought a couple of years ago and it's been absolutely great until this morning -- no problems at all.

Anyone run into something similar? When the TV picture is on (for those initial 2 seconds) the picture is ok -- no pixellation or other problems.

A search of the web using the search string "LCD screen black sound OK" was fruitless.

Thanks!
__________________

__________________
"You'd be surprised at how much it costs to look this cheap." -- Dolly Parton
Urchina is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 12-10-2008, 11:04 AM   #2
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 265
can you get a picture from another signal source e.g. dvd player?
__________________

__________________
rgarling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 11:17 AM   #3
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 157
If you can get the menu to come up, check to that the audio only is not selected. AUDIO ONLY - OFF should be selected.
__________________
cashbalancetrouble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 12:19 PM   #4
Full time employment: Posting here.
Urchina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Central Coast, California
Posts: 891
Thanks for the ideas. It turns out the answer was embarassingly simple -- I had to unplug the TV and leave it unplugged for over 1/2 hour. Then I plugged it back in and it works. The nice lady at Sharp's customer service line recommended this.

I forget -- turning these things off doesn't actually turn them off and reset them -- they continue to draw nearly as much power as they do when they're on. This is utterly wierd to me, but worked.

Thanks, and sorry for crying wolf!
__________________
"You'd be surprised at how much it costs to look this cheap." -- Dolly Parton
Urchina is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 01:11 PM   #5
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
TromboneAl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 11,199
No reason to apologize. The answer was not at all obvious -- it's the appliance designer's fault.
__________________
Al
TromboneAl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 01:13 PM   #6
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
FinanceDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 12,484
Quote:
Originally Posted by TromboneAl View Post
No reason to apologize. The answer was not at all obvious -- it's the appliance designer's fault.
Hey, at least customer service as Sharp is well, "Sharp".........
__________________
Consult with your own advisor or representative. My thoughts should not be construed as investment advice. Past performance is no guarantee of future results (love that one).......:)


This Thread is USELESS without pics.........:)
FinanceDude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 01:36 PM   #7
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: near L.A.
Posts: 173
Quote:
Originally Posted by Urchina View Post
I forget -- turning these things off doesn't actually turn them off and reset them -- they continue to draw nearly as much power as they do when they're on.
does this mean from now on I should unplug them instead of just turning them off(to save electricity)?
__________________
ER_Hopeful is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 01:39 PM   #8
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
FinanceDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 12,484
Quote:
Originally Posted by ER_Hopeful View Post
does this mean from now on I should unplug them instead of just turning them off(to save electricity)?
Yes, all appliances draw some current when resting. That's how they keep time and stuff, kinda like "standby" on a computer monitor.......
__________________
Consult with your own advisor or representative. My thoughts should not be construed as investment advice. Past performance is no guarantee of future results (love that one).......:)


This Thread is USELESS without pics.........:)
FinanceDude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2008, 01:41 PM   #9
Full time employment: Posting here.
Urchina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Central Coast, California
Posts: 891
Quote:
Originally Posted by ER_Hopeful View Post
does this mean from now on I should unplug them instead of just turning them off(to save electricity)?
Yup. Anything with an internal clock or remote control (Computers, modern TVs, stereos, DVD players, DVRs, etc.) continues to draw power even when it is "off." This is called a phantom load. The only way to stop the phantom load is to unplug the appliance. In our case, we have them plugged in to power strips, so we can easily turn the power strip off and on -- makes saving energy by turning them off a lot easier.
__________________

__________________
"You'd be surprised at how much it costs to look this cheap." -- Dolly Parton
Urchina is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Good and Cheap Flat Screen monitor, or LCD? FinanceDude Other topics 3 10-28-2008 09:20 PM
Problem with laptop screen Khan Other topics 3 06-05-2008 06:18 PM
Best Buy in a flat screen TV? maddythebeagle Other topics 5 06-27-2007 09:36 PM
Plasma or LCD flat screen TV, now it's AFTER x-mas Enuff2Eat FIRE and Money 20 12-28-2006 11:04 PM

 

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:46 AM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.