Libre vs Open Office

CardsFan

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Just want some opinions from some users. I have been using MS Works for the past 9 years. Use is low and simple. Got a new laptop, and, of course, Works no longer works.:D

Several here have recommended these two free suites, so I just wanted to get some opinions.

I have downloaded Open Office, and can open my Works Spreadsheets, but not documents. Not a real big deal as most documents were just one use. The spreadsheets are the ones I go back to.

Any other pros/cons for one over the other?

My understanding is that they came from the same source. Libre is more frequently updated and has a few more features, such as it can write .docx files, while OpenOffice can just read them. Perhaps a power user would find Libre better. Being updated less often, it's possible that OpenOffice is more stable.

You should be able to open documents with OpenOffice. It may be that you didn't download that part of it. Libre comes with everything; OpenOffice lets you pick what you want in case you want to save space, or just know there is something you'll never use.

I started with OpenOffice years ago and have found no motivation to change. If I found a reason to, I wouldn't hesitate to jump to Libre.

I use Open Office and have been doing so for many, many years. It provides me with exactly what I need and want in an Excel clone (and I really don't know or care much about the other functions). Since I love it so much, I have zero desire to try Libre.

That said, I've heard people say that they prefer Libre.

My guess is that whichever you pick, you can't lose.

I haven't used MS Works since dirt was young, and TBH I have no files in that format. So, I really can't comment on its ability to read MS Works files.

Oh, I was thinking MS Word documents, not Works. Can't say if either handles those. I'm sure there's a list of types each handles documented somewhere. Do the google.

Thanks for the comments.