Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-11-2015, 03:03 PM   #41
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 5,580
Quote:
Originally Posted by Totoro View Post
This is what I meant. Drive does it automatically, costs +/- 50% more vs. straight up HDD.
Agree 100%. I know you know this, but for some others, that haven't had exposure.

It's a concept that's been in use on enterprise class disk for a long time, but an order of magnitude more cache. As you mentioned its automatic, exactly what is needed. Your hot data stays on ssd and is backed by hdd. In enterprise class sans, you(at least a year ago) paided extra for that feature.

The benefits of avoiding hdd hits improves performance, as your not mechanically seeking to a track and reading a sector. Even the fastest disk slows the cpu down to a crawl if you're waiting on i/o operations. With ssd that happens at memory transfer speed(more or less), a very short wait.

Many years ago(30) I was in a presentation given by a application tuning guy. His point was the cheapest i/o was the one you didn't do. His example was great, if a mainframe only executed a single instruction a second it would take one year for an i/o to complete. Most of that year (10+ months as I recall) was spend waiting on the disk. Technology is different but physical i/o, (waiting on disk) has always been a bottleneck.
__________________

__________________
MRG is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-13-2015, 08:56 PM   #42
Full time employment: Posting here.
Jerry1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 558
I have a 120GB SSD and a 2TB hard drive. I save all my programs on the SSD and store all my data on the hard drive. I'm not a power user, but I have the full microsoft office suite, quicken, turbo tax, the operating system and a few other various programs on my SSD and still have about 25% unused. It is great. The computer starts up fast and loads programs fast. I then buy an external drive and back up my storage drive on a regular basis. The main thing I worry about is my storage drive. Everything on the SSD can be reloaded. Keeping all my data in one place makes backup very easy. I have USB 3.0 and use a USB 3.0 backup drive. I just do an uncompressed copy. It takes awhile, but I just get it going and walk away.

It's really not hard to run this way and I love how fast the computer starts. It also was a good compromise between a regular hard drive (slow and noisy) and a hybrid in terms of cost since the SSD is not that big.
__________________

__________________
Jerry1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2015, 09:15 PM   #43
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 3,422
I've had Seagate drives fail on me. So I've switched to WD ...
__________________
explanade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2015, 09:39 PM   #44
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
easysurfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,888
Quote:
Originally Posted by explanade View Post
I've had Seagate drives fail on me. So I've switched to WD ...
I've got a failing Seagate drive at the moment. Guess those bargain basement prices are for a reason..to unload them.
__________________
Have you ever seen a headstone with these words
"If only I had spent more time at work" ... from "Busy Man" sung by Billy Ray Cyrus
easysurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2015, 09:41 PM   #45
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 3,422
I do backups on two different drives. Incremental backups don't take long so maybe should add a third.

Also a good idea to keep one of the drive offsite but it's a lot of work.
__________________
explanade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2015, 11:26 PM   #46
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
pb4uski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Vermont & Sarasota, FL
Posts: 16,428
My uncle has a relatively new Apple Mac and has gone through 3 hard drives in the last 6 months. Amazing. He is much more patient that I am. I would have thrown the thing in the pool by now.
__________________
If something cannot endure laughter.... it cannot endure.
Patience is the art of concealing your impatience.
Slow and steady wins the race.
pb4uski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2015, 03:52 PM   #47
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 86
Quote:
Originally Posted by pb4uski View Post
My uncle has a relatively new Apple Mac and has gone through 3 hard drives in the last 6 months. Amazing. He is much more patient that I am. I would have thrown the thing in the pool by now.

That is highly unusual. Perhaps the machine is being abused or the technician did not diagnose the issue correctly? Sometimes other failures will appear to be the hard drive ( e.g., hard drive cable).
__________________
Daniel J is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2015, 04:47 PM   #48
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
easysurfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,888
Replaced the Segate drive of my desktop pc with an older Western Digital drive I had around. The issue of my computer randomly pausing for about a minute at times is fixed .

I should have done the hard drive change a long time ago, but the cause didn't dawn on me (besides just something random) until reading an actual name of the symptom on a Microsoft page called a "generic freeze" caused by bad hardware.

http://support.microsoft.com/en-us/kb/2681286
__________________

__________________
Have you ever seen a headstone with these words
"If only I had spent more time at work" ... from "Busy Man" sung by Billy Ray Cyrus
easysurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
disk drive failure


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upgrading Laptop Hard Disk scrinch Other topics 11 10-02-2008 12:21 PM
Backups: DVDs or flash drives? Nords Other topics 42 11-22-2007 10:58 PM
The new CEO of Ford drives a Lexus LS430............. Cut-Throat Other topics 96 09-22-2006 04:33 PM
Who drives the END of their dead end street? thefed Other topics 17 06-13-2006 03:01 PM
USB Travel Drives, are they reliable? MJ Other topics 2 04-01-2006 11:46 AM

 

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:56 AM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.