MBA question

Bimmerbill

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
OK, this may sound like a strange question, the cart before the horse type.

But, I am enrolled in a part time MBA program and plan to graduate within the next 1.5 years. 100% paid for, so I figured what the heck. Not my first choice, but my 100% tuition is only to state colleges/universities and I didn't want to go for a MS in comuter programming at the other state college.

Now, my undergrad is in Computer Science, and I'm a tech guy (MS certs, network admin, engineering, etc).

What sort of opportunities will this combo (B.S. Comp sci & MBA) open up? IT management? Nothing?

What are you concentrating on in your MBA program? If you do a lot of finance and stats, that plus the comp sci would set you up very well to work for a big bank or a hedge fund doing quantitative modelling work on derivatives, etc. Pays very well, and you would be on the cutting edge.

Bimmerbill said:
What sort of opportunities will this combo (B.S. Comp sci & MBA) open up?  IT management?  Nothing? 

If your personal desires and personality favor moving to management, an MBA on your resume' would likely be helpful in securing interviews and a job.

If you aren't really interesting in management, brewer's comments are dead on.  Pick a concentration area which, combined with your undergrad IT degree, would prepare you as an individual contributor.  Finance or Operations Management come to mind.

I am concentrating in Investment & Finance. I have Investment Management starting in 2 weeks and then Graduate Money and Banking. I'll be 50% done in Aug (5 classes out of 10).

I chose the Investment and Finance concentration because it's interesting to me. And, I hope some of the stuff I learn will be useful to me.

Thanks for the info!