Join Early Retirement Today

My Father's Eyes
Old 11-13-2011, 10:18 PM   #1
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post

My Father's Eyes

When did your father/mother see you as an adult/equal?

IN another thread NYEXPAt said
Quote:
Originally Posted by NYEXPAT View Post
When I graduated college, I assumed I would go to work at his firm. I still remember my Father laughing and saying "why would I pay you for what you do not know"? Like many lessons, I did not realize he was right till much later.

I remember him being proud when my "net worth" exceeded his.

But, that's when I realized I was trying to please him and not myself.

This triggered my thinking, when did my father 'see me as a man'? I remember a discussion with a college processor. His father did not see him as a man/adult/equal when he finished school, got a job or got married, it was only when he bought a house.
For others it may be education, marriage, parenthood or financial achievement. For me it was not until I turned 30 and started doing charitable work, became a Big Brother and other activities. Until then he felt I was cruising with others looking four for me or just looking after myself.
Also my father was very debt adverse, a survivor of the depression. Although he had passed away years earlier I sort of felt his presence when I made my final mortgage payment.
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!