Join Early Retirement Today

MY furnace stopped working on the coldest day of the year...you'd never guess why
Old 01-03-2010, 04:22 PM   #1
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post

MY furnace stopped working on the coldest day of the year...you'd never guess why

We woke up the other day freezing. I checked and the digi thermostat and replaced the batteries...and the furnace turned on.

About 2 hours later...nothing. Flipped the power to the unit, it turned back on....

two hours later....off again! Luckily it's a Trane with diagnostic lights...whihc tell me the primary or secondary switch is open...wtf is that? I googled and seems it could be any number of pressure switched.

I fiddled with this and that, talked to my HVAC guy, and came upo with nothing

The next morning I discovered my problem. As embarrassing as it is to say, my CLOGGED furnace filter was to blame. Now, if you dont know, I am a duct cleaner by trade. Needless to say, I have never cleaned my own ducts (which is obvious when you see this filter). We did some construction in the house over the last few months and forgot to change the filter...that drywall dust clogged up the filter like my 4 year old clogs the toilet with TP.

Anyhow, I'm happy it was an easy fix. UNHAPPY that I had to cancel my service call from close friend/HVAC tech and tell him the cause of the problem!
thefed is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!