Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
My Laptop Can Phone Home
Old 01-03-2016, 10:53 AM   #1
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
easysurfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,883
My Laptop Can Phone Home

ET phone home.

I'm a happy camper. Finished fiddling around with my computer so now I can use my laptop to remotely turn on and connect to my desktop when out and about.

A few months ago, was flustered trying but yesterday when about to quit again, got things working when stumbling on an example .
__________________

__________________
Have you ever seen a headstone with these words
"If only I had spent more time at work" ... from "Busy Man" sung by Billy Ray Cyrus
easysurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 01-03-2016, 01:18 PM   #2
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,862
I've been using VNC and Google Remote desktop for this purpose. It's great to run the email client on one computer and check it remotely from any computer. Or to fix something on my LAN when I'm away on vacation.
__________________

__________________
Animorph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2016, 02:27 PM   #3
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
easysurfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,883
I use Teamviewer to remote into my desktop. But in the past couldn't remotely wakeup my PC when away. I'd have to either leave the PC on and waste electricity or use a program to sleep and wake on scheduled times.

Now, at least tested with a wifi connection at a local Panera Bread outside my home network, I am able to turn on remotely doing a wake on lan, then from there use Teamviewer for the access.
__________________
Have you ever seen a headstone with these words
"If only I had spent more time at work" ... from "Busy Man" sung by Billy Ray Cyrus
easysurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Smart phone/ House phone Lodell Other topics 32 03-19-2013 08:09 PM
Best place to get a cell phone / cell phone plan? bank5 Other topics 4 09-18-2009 06:01 AM
Re-activate old cell phone, or keep new phone? thefed Other topics 10 05-09-2009 10:42 PM
Replacing The Landbased Phone With a Cell Phone Danny Other topics 12 11-04-2005 07:12 PM

 

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:45 AM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.