Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
My TV Has No Audio
Old 10-09-2008, 06:47 AM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 104
My TV Has No Audio

Hi guys,
Hopefully someone has knowledge in this. Yesterday, my girlfriend and I were watching TV when all of the sudden the volume just went out. Just like if you pressed mute on your remote. I turned it off and on again, I checked the wiring in the back, played around with the menu option on the remote, and still nothing. Does anyone know what could be the problem here? Thanks.
__________________

__________________
eddieb is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-09-2008, 06:58 AM   #2
Full time employment: Posting here.
jambo101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 940
If your TV came with a manual it probably has a trouble shooting section,or Google the TV mfgr with a "no sound"
add on and you may see how other people have solved the problem.

eg;http://www.google.ca/search?hl=en&q=...e+Search&meta=
__________________

__________________
"Second star to the right and straight on till morning"
jambo101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2008, 08:08 AM   #3
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 157
I vote you should get it fixed on November 5, Wednesday.
__________________
cashbalancetrouble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2008, 08:16 AM   #4
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 104
I did find some recommendations online. When I get home I'll play around with it some more.
__________________
eddieb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2008, 09:32 AM   #5
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
freebird5825's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: East Nowhere, 43N Latitude, NY
Posts: 9,017
very simplistic siggestion, and i'm sure you already did this...but...
do you get a bar displayed at the bottom when pushing the up arrow of the volume control on the remote ? that will tell you a) your remote is functioning, and b) your TV is responding to the remote.
even more simplistic...operate the volume control right at the set, i.e. put remote down. if TV and remote signals are out of synch...well you know the rest.
i have accidentally put my older TV is mute mode, and had a low remote battery to boot. i had many a good laugh at myself as i changed the remote battery. good luck!
__________________
"All our dreams can come true, if we have the courage to pursue them." - Walt Disney
freebird5825 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2008, 10:11 AM   #6
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: North of Montana
Posts: 2,753
Now, if you could only get the video to work like the audio......
__________________
There are two kinds of people in the world: those who can extrapolate conclusions from insufficient data and ..
kumquat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2008, 10:21 AM   #7
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by freebird5825 View Post
very simplistic siggestion, and i'm sure you already did this...but...
do you get a bar displayed at the bottom when pushing the up arrow of the volume control on the remote ? that will tell you a) your remote is functioning, and b) your TV is responding to the remote.
even more simplistic...operate the volume control right at the set, i.e. put remote down. if TV and remote signals are out of synch...well you know the rest.
i have accidentally put my older TV is mute mode, and had a low remote battery to boot. i had many a good laugh at myself as i changed the remote battery. good luck!
I do get the bar (at the top), so the TV does respond to the remote. I have also went up to the set and used the volume function, I think my situation is a bit more complex, but hopefully I'll be able to figure it out when I get home.
__________________
eddieb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2008, 10:47 AM   #8
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by eddieb View Post
Hi guys,
Hopefully someone has knowledge in this. Yesterday, my girlfriend and I were watching TV when all of the sudden the volume just went out. Just like if you pressed mute on your remote. I turned it off and on again, I checked the wiring in the back, played around with the menu option on the remote, and still nothing. Thanks.
Turn on closed captioning
__________________
Dudester is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2008, 11:05 AM   #9
Full time employment: Posting here.
toofrugalformycat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Anchorage
Posts: 731
We have rabbit ears and one of those box doohickeys to convert from the digital signal, and sometimes just the audio goes away when the digital signal is being interfered with. But never for very long, so that's probably not your problem.
__________________
toofrugalformycat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2008, 11:16 AM   #10
Full time employment: Posting here.
jambo101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 940
My TV wont give me any sound if my daughters have plugged in their head phones,usually takes me a minute of head scratching to see the problem.
But if your sound just went off while you were watching i suspect a circuit in the sound system is fried,it also might fix itself after the TV cools down as these newer TV's have heat and moisture shut offs.
__________________
"Second star to the right and straight on till morning"
jambo101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2008, 12:28 PM   #11
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dudester View Post
Turn on closed captioning
lol, that's exactly what we did while watching Larry King last night
__________________
eddieb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2008, 01:49 PM   #12
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northern IL
Posts: 18,300
Quote:
Originally Posted by kumquat View Post
Now, if you could only get the video to work like the audio......
My TV came with one of these:




- ERD50
__________________
ERD50 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2008, 03:29 PM   #13
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
cute fuzzy bunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Losing my whump
Posts: 22,697
Cable box? sat box? dvd player? tv have a regular 'off the air' tuner?

If the latter and thats not what you're using, turn to that, turn to a channel you dont get and turn up the volume. If you get loud static, theres a problem in your cable/sat box or whatever you normally use as a signal source.

If you dont, theres something bad in your tv. If thats the case, and the tv is reasonably new and expensive, get it fixed. Otherwise it may be just as cheap to buy a new one. I've made the mistake of repairing a few tv's and the average cost was around $300.

Another temporary fix is to plug your audio out from the cable/sat box into your stereo and use that for sound. A little inconvenient, but it'll get you by a few more years.
__________________
Be fearful when others are greedy, and greedy when others are fearful. Just another form of "buy low, sell high" for those who have trouble with things. This rule is not universal. Do not buy a 1973 Pinto because everyone else is afraid of it.
cute fuzzy bunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2008, 03:45 PM   #14
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 104
Amen, somehow I got it fixed. I unplugged absolutely everything and plugged it all back up, played around with the romote and Amen. I would like to thank everyone for your suggestions. Hopefully I can help you guys sometime.
__________________
eddieb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2008, 05:05 PM   #15
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
freebird5825's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: East Nowhere, 43N Latitude, NY
Posts: 9,017
YAY!!!!
now that it is fixed, i can be bold and share an engineer's joke with you...
if something electronic doesn't work, please check if it's plugged in first. and you'd be surprised how many times this "fixes" the problem. j/k
glad you found the solution.
__________________
"All our dreams can come true, if we have the courage to pursue them." - Walt Disney
freebird5825 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2008, 05:48 PM   #16
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northern IL
Posts: 18,300
Quote:
Originally Posted by freebird5825 View Post
YAY!!!!
now that it is fixed, i can be bold and share an engineer's joke with you...
if something electronic doesn't work, please check if it's plugged in first. and you'd be surprised how many times this "fixes" the problem. j/k
glad you found the solution.
Step 2 is to give it a good solid hit. People are usually surprised by this and think you are kidding, but loose connections are a common fault. Hitting it can make the connection again, probably just temporarily, but it gives a hint of what to look for.

This has been a permanent fix for DW dryer. The buzzer stuck ON 12 years ago. I looked at all the screws I would need to take out to get to the buzzer, and decided to just give it a good whack. Buzzer stopped. I got myself a beer for a tough job well done. It's still working fine (yes comes ON and then shuts OFF).

I think I'll go get another beer, to commemorate the occasion

-ERD50
__________________
ERD50 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2008, 08:00 AM   #17
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
freebird5825's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: East Nowhere, 43N Latitude, NY
Posts: 9,017
wow, 12 yrs of buzzer ON ? a plug-puller if i ever heard one.

quick...call 1-800-DRY-RABS
__________________
"All our dreams can come true, if we have the courage to pursue them." - Walt Disney
freebird5825 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2008, 09:44 AM   #18
Full time employment: Posting here.
toofrugalformycat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Anchorage
Posts: 731
Quote:
Originally Posted by freebird5825 View Post
YAY!!!!
now that it is fixed, i can be bold and share an engineer's joke with you...
if something electronic doesn't work, please check if it's plugged in first. and you'd be surprised how many times this "fixes" the problem. j/k
glad you found the solution.
Then there is the software engineer's joke (only works on Windows and later software): Wave your hand over it as you say "oogah boogah" three times. This often fixes it.
__________________
toofrugalformycat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2008, 06:15 PM   #19
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
ls99's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 4,792
On many remotes there is a button labeled SAP. It is for Subsidiary audio, aka foreign language, elevator music etc.. If you press it and the station does not transmit anything on that channel, no sound. Pressing it once or or twice more will get you back to the main audio feed.
DW has pressed it unwittingly many times , and is puzzled each time. I no longer re- explain just press the button and all is well with the world.
__________________

__________________
There must be moderation in everything, including moderation.
ls99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Very shocking audio clip..i saw it at digg.. wog777 Other topics 3 01-12-2007 04:25 PM
classic hi-end audio equip. mathjak107 Other topics 12 09-10-2006 02:46 PM
Free e-books and audio books online Jay_Gatsby Other topics 2 03-15-2006 01:09 PM
Audio Question Bob_Smith Other topics 10 12-31-2004 04:42 PM
Audio speaker help needed haha Other topics 11 12-07-2004 05:33 AM

 

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:23 PM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.