Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Need help: Can't log in to Firefox
Old 09-25-2009, 10:54 PM   #1
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,015
Need help: Can't log in to Firefox

A year or so ago, after reading on this forum about Mozilla Firefox, I switched from IE and have been very happy with it...particularly being able to browse without ads.

Everything was working great until yesterday, when I tried to log onto Firefox and nothing happened. There was a slight pause, then nothing. I can get into IE, so I uninstalled Firefox and re-installed it. Still nothing.

My computer is running Windows XP SP 3 and I haven't added any new programs recently.

Any ideas on what might be the problem would be greatly appreciated. I miss Firefox!
__________________

__________________
Achiever51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 09-25-2009, 11:35 PM   #2
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
TromboneAl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 11,197
May not be relevant, but...

I've found that sometimes firefox is running, although it doesn't appear anywhere. As a result nothing happens when I try to launch a new instance.

Either go to the task manager, and see if firefox.exe is one of the processes running, and if so, End Process it.

Or just reboot.
__________________

__________________
Al
TromboneAl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2009, 07:33 AM   #3
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
donheff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 8,638
Could be a Firewall issue with something like Norton or Zone Alarm, or possibly MS' firewall in Vista. If Firefox updated and got identified as a new app you may have accidentally blocked it. Check your firewall blocking list and uncheck it if it is checked.
__________________
Every man is, or hopes to be, an Idler. -- Samuel Johnson
donheff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2009, 08:06 AM   #4
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
Dawg52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Central MS/Orange Beach, AL
Posts: 7,433
Glad you asked the question. I have been having the same problem lately. If I keep trying, it eventually let's me in. I'll look at some of the suggestions.
__________________
Retired 3/31/2007@52
Full time wuss.......
Dawg52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2009, 08:20 AM   #5
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
target2019's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3,705
I think you're trying to say that Firefox won't let you login to early-retirement.org. If that is so, what error message do you get when trying to login?
__________________
target2019 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2009, 09:49 AM   #6
Moderator Emeritus
Martha's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: minnesota
Posts: 13,212
You might try Mozilla's trouble shooting page on the issue: Firefox will not start

From the link:
Firefox previously worked

If Firefox previously worked but suddenly doesn't start, it may be due to some corrupt data in your settings. Uninstalling and reinstalling Firefox would not fix this problem because your settings are not removed on uninstall.
To test to see if this is the problem, use the Profile Manager to create a new profile. If the problem goes away, you can then move your bookmarks and other important settings into the new profile.

If you installed Firefox outside of your package manager, make sure that your system has the libraries listed in the system requirements.
__________________
.


No more lawyer stuff, no more political stuff, so no more CYA

Martha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2009, 11:03 AM   #7
Moderator Emeritus
Nords's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Oahu
Posts: 26,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by target2019 View Post
I think you're trying to say that Firefox won't let you login to early-retirement.org. If that is so, what error message do you get when trying to login?
Quote:
Server not found
Firefox can't find the server at www.early-retirement.org.
I get this message just about every time I click on my "http://early-retirement.org/forums/index.php" bookmark.

I'm not sure why FF has the problem at E-R.org but it happens at Bogleheads and USNA.com as well, which are other login websites, so I think it's FF's problem. One explanation was that FF is trying to read its cache's old login version/session instead of starting over as if it had never been to the website before.

The solution is to do a hard refresh with CTRL+F5.

I don't know if FF is even aware of the issue, let alone working on it.
__________________
*
*

The book written on E-R.org, "The Military Guide to Financial Independence and Retirement", on sale now! For more info see "About Me" in my profile.
I don't spend much time here anymore, so please send me a PM. Thanks.
Nords is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2009, 01:00 PM   #8
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
Moemg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sarasota,fl.
Posts: 10,031
I had the same problem so I did System Restore and I can now get Firefox again .
__________________
Moemg is offline   Reply With Quote
Thanks everyone!
Old 09-26-2009, 02:21 PM   #9
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,015
Thanks everyone!

Quote:
Originally Posted by donheff View Post
Could be a Firewall issue with something like Norton or Zone Alarm, or possibly MS' firewall in Vista. If Firefox updated and got identified as a new app you may have accidentally blocked it. Check your firewall blocking list and uncheck it if it is checked.

Ding, ding, ding!!! We have a winner! I checked my Norton 360 app and found a check mark next to the Firefox app...unsure how that happened, but I'm back in business -- happily without those annoying ads!

I so much prefer using Firefox over IE!!

(To clarify, I couldn't open Firefox at all to access any websites. Had to revert to IE to get online. The problem wasn't only getting to E-R or other sites.)

Thanks everyone for your help. This group continues to amaze with its support!!
__________________
Achiever51 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2009, 10:31 AM   #10
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
Moemg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sarasota,fl.
Posts: 10,031
Quote:
Originally Posted by Moemg View Post
I had the same problem so I did System Restore and I can now get Firefox again .

I spoke too soon as it worked for one day and then stopped again so I'll check my firewall and hope that is it .
__________________

__________________
Moemg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vanguard Log-ons nwsteve FIRE and Money 9 09-22-2008 09:59 AM
Do you have to log in every time? The answer: BigMoneyJim Forum Admin 4 05-26-2007 10:13 PM
Strange, get invalid login/password when I log in HobbyDave Forum Admin 2 05-23-2007 03:55 PM
Unable to log in using Safari on a Mac Renderdog Forum Admin 7 01-30-2007 12:40 PM
Ventless Log Fireplaces, Safe or Not ? frayne Other topics 7 12-08-2006 08:47 PM

 

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:14 PM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.