Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Need help with Dell laptop running XP
Old 08-09-2009, 04:57 PM   #1
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
SecondCor521's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Boise
Posts: 2,401
Need help with Dell laptop running XP

My oldest son "somehow" fiddled with my laptop and messed up the keyboard.

If you are running XP on a Dell Inspiron E1505 laptop (or similar), could you please run regedit and let me know what values you have under

HKEY_CURRENT_USER/ControlPanel/Accessibility/KeyboardResponse

You should find the following keys:

AutoRepeatDelay
AutoRepeatRate
BounceTime
DelayBeforeAcceptance
Flags

Thanks for any help. This is driving me nuts.

2Cor521
__________________

__________________
"At times the world can seem an unfriendly and sinister place, but believe us when we say there is much more good in it than bad. All you have to do is look hard enough, and what might seem to be a series of unfortunate events, may in fact be the first steps of a journey." Violet Baudelaire.
SecondCor521 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 08-09-2009, 05:13 PM   #2
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Houston
Posts: 1,435
On my Dell Latitude D630:

AutoRepeatDelay 1000
AutoRepeatRate 500
BounceTime 0
DelayBeforeAcceptance 1000
Flags 126

Are you sure this is the cause of the problem? Not something simpler like turning on numlock, turning on accessibility mode (makes keys sticky), or changing the keyboard default language from US English?
__________________

__________________
soupcxan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2009, 05:13 PM   #3
Moderator
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Eee Bah Gum
Posts: 21,085
I have a Dell laptop inspiron E1505 but run Vista. However, I attach a screen shot with the values you ask for.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg reg editor.JPG (66.3 KB, 6 views)
__________________
Retired in Jan, 2010 at 55, moved to England in May 2016
Now it's adventure before dementia
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2009, 05:32 PM   #4
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: North of Montana
Posts: 2,753
Vostro 1000 - XP
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Reg.JPG (48.3 KB, 3 views)
__________________
There are two kinds of people in the world: those who can extrapolate conclusions from insufficient data and ..
kumquat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2009, 06:02 PM   #5
Moderator Emeritus
Nords's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Oahu
Posts: 26,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by SecondCor521 View Post
My oldest son "somehow" fiddled with my laptop and messed up the keyboard.
I don't know if this helps with the problem but: our kid loaded the Cyrillic alphabet on her Dell Inspiron 505, and she switches to English by using CTRL-SHIFT.
__________________
*
*

The book written on E-R.org, "The Military Guide to Financial Independence and Retirement", on sale now! For more info see "About Me" in my profile.
I don't spend much time here anymore, so please send me a PM. Thanks.
Nords is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2009, 11:41 PM   #6
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
SecondCor521's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Boise
Posts: 2,401
Thanks all.

The symptom is that I am unable to type very fast (normally I type about 80 wpm) -- the keystrokes are just not accepted as fast as they used to be.

My son indicated he did fiddle with the accessibility options, so I went in and turned those all off, but that didn't fix it. (At least I think I did, the UI is not very well designed there.)

I also tried an old restore point, but that didn't work either.

I'm trying the settings in msgs 2 and 3, and it's still not back to "normal" but it's not bad.

I don't think he loaded a different keyboard mapping.

2Cor521
__________________
"At times the world can seem an unfriendly and sinister place, but believe us when we say there is much more good in it than bad. All you have to do is look hard enough, and what might seem to be a series of unfortunate events, may in fact be the first steps of a journey." Violet Baudelaire.
SecondCor521 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 10:11 AM   #7
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
TromboneAl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 11,197
I have an Inspiron E1505 running XP:

Keyboard.jpg

Perhaps there's something that's eating up processor power, and the computer is too busy to keep up with your typing. Run the Task Manager and watch the CPU usage to see if it is too high.

Also do a virus scan and malware check.
__________________
Al
TromboneAl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2009, 11:46 AM   #8
Administrator
W2R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 38,846
I was thinking the same thing as Al. Maybe it is doing something CPU intensive in the background.
__________________
Already we are boldly launched upon the deep; but soon we shall be lost in its unshored, harbourless immensities.

- - H. Melville, 1851
W2R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2009, 08:11 PM   #9
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
SecondCor521's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Boise
Posts: 2,401
TAl, W2R,

Good thoughts. Task Manager and CPU are both OK. I was surprised to discover that I don't have antivirus installed on this machine. Will try that.

Thanks again,

2Cor521
__________________
"At times the world can seem an unfriendly and sinister place, but believe us when we say there is much more good in it than bad. All you have to do is look hard enough, and what might seem to be a series of unfortunate events, may in fact be the first steps of a journey." Violet Baudelaire.
SecondCor521 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2009, 09:02 PM   #10
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
SecondCor521's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Boise
Posts: 2,401
AVG reports it's totally clean. Oh well. I may boot into Linux and at least that way figure out if its Windows or hardware.

2Cor521
__________________
"At times the world can seem an unfriendly and sinister place, but believe us when we say there is much more good in it than bad. All you have to do is look hard enough, and what might seem to be a series of unfortunate events, may in fact be the first steps of a journey." Violet Baudelaire.
SecondCor521 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2009, 06:16 PM   #11
Dryer sheet aficionado
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 41
Have you inspected the Control Panel>Keyboard Settings? My Repeat Delay is set to the 3rd marker and my Repeat Rate is set to Fastest. I would think it is the Repeat Rate. Anyway, Just a thought....
__________________
Mike1968 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2009, 07:59 PM   #12
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
target2019's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3,705
Check these things:
- Windows update, and force all the updates to install. Could be something is hung up, and stealing processing time.
- Check the CD burn folder. I've run into situations where items in que cause a slowdown.
- Check msconfig for unusual items in the Startup tab. You can turn off a few at a time, reboot, and see if the problem goes away.
__________________
target2019 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2009, 01:04 AM   #13
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
SecondCor521's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Boise
Posts: 2,401
@Mike1968, yup -- both pegged on the fastest settings.

@target2019 -- Will check Windows update. Nothing in the CD burn folder. Turned off a few things in msconfig, but I'm not hopeful.

2Cor521
__________________
"At times the world can seem an unfriendly and sinister place, but believe us when we say there is much more good in it than bad. All you have to do is look hard enough, and what might seem to be a series of unfortunate events, may in fact be the first steps of a journey." Violet Baudelaire.
SecondCor521 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2009, 05:35 AM   #14
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
target2019's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3,705
Is the typing problem the same in all applications? Web, Word, Notepad, etc.?

If you boot into safe mode, do you have the problem?
__________________
target2019 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2009, 05:40 AM   #15
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
target2019's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3,705
"click on msconfig .. services.. and unselect the ATIHOTKEYPOLLE" - reboot.

Check this thread for other ideas if that doesn't work.
__________________
target2019 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2009, 08:32 PM   #16
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
SecondCor521's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Boise
Posts: 2,401
@target2019: Yes and yes, and I don't have that ATI service running.

2Cor521
__________________
"At times the world can seem an unfriendly and sinister place, but believe us when we say there is much more good in it than bad. All you have to do is look hard enough, and what might seem to be a series of unfortunate events, may in fact be the first steps of a journey." Violet Baudelaire.
SecondCor521 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2009, 08:47 PM   #17
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: North of Montana
Posts: 2,753
Probably time to say 'WTF' and re-format and re-install everything. Say thanks to Mr. Gates. Or, you could try some flavour of Linux.
__________________
There are two kinds of people in the world: those who can extrapolate conclusions from insufficient data and ..
kumquat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2009, 08:13 PM   #18
Recycles dryer sheets
heyduke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 348
i know you said AVG found nothing but I would still go download malwarebytes (its free) update it and run it thoroughly (takes several hours) ... see if it finds anything because there are a few bad things out there that can cause that...
__________________
heyduke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2009, 11:06 PM   #19
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
SecondCor521's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Boise
Posts: 2,401
@kumquat...Yup, I agree. I've dealt a little with Puppy Linux before so may install that instead. It's nice to control your destiny sometimes.

@heyduke...I may try that right before I install Puppy over the top of everything :-)

2Cor521
__________________
"At times the world can seem an unfriendly and sinister place, but believe us when we say there is much more good in it than bad. All you have to do is look hard enough, and what might seem to be a series of unfortunate events, may in fact be the first steps of a journey." Violet Baudelaire.
SecondCor521 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2009, 01:09 PM   #20
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
TromboneAl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 11,197
Are you by any chance paying the computer with stock options instead of cash?
__________________

__________________
Al
TromboneAl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Limit on Dell Laptop Battery Recharges? TromboneAl Other topics 56 12-01-2009 08:57 PM
Got a good, cheap laptop at Dell Outlet thefed Other topics 7 01-31-2009 11:12 PM
Dell laptop OS transfer? statsman Other topics 10 09-23-2008 09:56 AM
Dell laptop battery? hogtied Other topics 2 09-12-2008 10:35 PM
Dell Laptop Price Projections TromboneAl Other topics 12 11-11-2006 03:30 PM

 

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:33 AM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.