Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-03-2016, 08:07 PM   #21
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
ExFlyBoy5's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1,977
Quote:
Originally Posted by folivier View Post
Also have the Honeywell wifi thermostat. Works great. Actually use it to see if our electricity has gone out after a storm.
One caveat on this one and others is that you will probably need the 5th wire which has 24Vac already hooked up (or need to hook it up) for it to work. Our original thermostat was battery operated and this wire wasn't hooked up. Pretty easy to hook up but had to find it upstairs in the a/c unit in attic using my voltmeter.
Also have the Honeywell and have had it for about 3 years with no issues. Works great and was MUCH cheaper than Nest.

Sent via mobile device. Please excuse any grammatical errors.
__________________

__________________
Founder and Head Lounger @ The Life of Leisure Institute
Retired in 2014 at the Ripe Age of 40.
ExFlyBoy5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-03-2016, 10:16 PM   #22
Administrator
W2R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 38,949
I'll leave these fancy thermostats to the travelers and others here who may need them or find them fun to play with.

For me, the ideal thermostat is manual, non-programmable, simpler than simple, and with HUGE PRINT and numbers.

My present thermostat is more or less like that. Close enough.
__________________

__________________
Already we are boldly launched upon the deep; but soon we shall be lost in its unshored, harbourless immensities.

- - H. Melville, 1851
W2R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2016, 05:20 PM   #23
Full time employment: Posting here.
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 894
Another alternative to the Nest is an Ecobee. I installed one a couple of years ago and it works great. I didn't want the learning features of the Nest and if I remember correctly, the Ecobee was around $100 cheaper.
__________________
Eat, Drink and Be Merry.
tulak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2016, 05:28 PM   #24
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Sunset's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,749
Quote:
Originally Posted by pb4uski View Post
I went the cheaper route since our programmable thermostats were only a few years old at the time I wanted to be able to monitor the temperature in the house while we were away for the winter.

I bought a temperature/humidity sensor from Lacrosse that as a wireless battery operated sensor and a base unit that attaches to my internet via wi-fi. About $85 as I recall and I can look at the house temp anywhere I have an internet connection, but I usually just use the phone app....
My solution came about as DW seems pretty reluctant to get rid of the land line.

I bought home-sitter, a device that plugs into the phone line.
It will phone 3 numbers if: the temp drops too much, the floor gets wet, or the temp rises too much (fire?).
It also phones if the power has gone off for 10 minutes.

It has phoned me a couple of times regarding the power failure, and I can always test if the house has power by phoning the house and see if the answering machine turns on.
__________________
Sunset is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2016, 05:30 PM   #25
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Sunset's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,749
Quote:
Originally Posted by W2R View Post
I'll leave these fancy thermostats to the travelers and others here who may need them or find them fun to play with.

For me, the ideal thermostat is manual, non-programmable, simpler than simple, and with HUGE PRINT and numbers.

My present thermostat is more or less like that. Close enough.
My buddy won't use a NEST themostat, even when they were offered for free to him.
He does not like that someone can track if you are home or not.
__________________
Sunset is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2016, 05:32 PM   #26
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
audreyh1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rio Grande Valley
Posts: 16,536
So no one was affected by the nest automatic update that rendered it useless and left power off?

I'm a bit leery about someone having wireless control over my thermostat for automatic updates or shenanigans in general.
__________________
Well, I thought I was retired. But it seems that now I'm working as a travel agent instead!
audreyh1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2016, 05:49 PM   #27
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Colorado Mountains
Posts: 2,147
If You Use Revolv's Smart Hub, You Are Officially Screwed (Thanks Nest!)

According to this article, Nest is owned by Google. After being purchased by Google, Nest purchased other companies including one that made a product called Revolv which was an "Internet of Things" hub. Nest is shutting down the Revolv site so that piece of equipment will be dead. I'm not too crazy about retailers keeping the controls for my house in their cloud anyway.

I will have a smart home, but I will be staying away from "Inetrnet of Things" as much a possible. BTW, it is not easy. My garage door openers can only be remotely controlled through an IoT interface. I wonder how many apps you would need to work with a house full of IoT gadgets? I'm going to have to figure out how to hack into the garage door openers to be able to remotely open and shut the garage doors.
__________________
Hermit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2016, 05:50 PM   #28
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
braumeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Northern Kentucky
Posts: 8,630
Quote:
Originally Posted by audreyh1 View Post
So no one was affected by the nest automatic update that rendered it useless and left power off?
Never a problem in the three years I've been using Nest.
__________________
braumeister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2016, 05:53 PM   #29
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
braumeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Northern Kentucky
Posts: 8,630
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hermit View Post
I'm going to have to figure out how to hack into the garage door openers to be able to remotely open and shut the garage doors.
You could just let the door close by itself and not worry about it:
AutoCloser Automatic Garage Door Closer - Household Alarms And Detectors - Amazon.com
__________________
braumeister is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2016, 06:15 PM   #30
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Colorado Mountains
Posts: 2,147
Quote:
Originally Posted by braumeister View Post
You could just let the door close by itself and not worry about it:
AutoCloser Automatic Garage Door Closer - Household Alarms And Detectors - Amazon.com
Unfortunately, I believe these openers (Genie) send a signal on the line rather than just closing contacts when you push the button on the wall. I have three garage doors and three openers. I want to have a computer controlled system that will do exactly what this closer does (plus other scenarios). On my last house, when I deactivated the home security system via a key fob, the garage door would also open and when I activated the security system via the key fob, the garage door would close.
__________________
Hermit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2016, 08:55 AM   #31
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 1,323
I just ordered a White Rodgers Wi-Fi thermostat. I currently have a programmable thermostat and don't "need" a different one, so it falls under the fun toy category:

https://www.amazon.ca/White-Rodgers-...542290_TE_item
__________________
Music Lover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2016, 10:17 AM   #32
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
harley's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Following the nice weather
Posts: 6,441
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sunset View Post
My solution came about as DW seems pretty reluctant to get rid of the land line.

I bought home-sitter, a device that plugs into the phone line.
It will phone 3 numbers if: the temp drops too much, the floor gets wet, or the temp rises too much (fire?).
It also phones if the power has gone off for 10 minutes.

It has phoned me a couple of times regarding the power failure, and I can always test if the house has power by phoning the house and see if the answering machine turns on.
Got a link to that? It sounds like an interesting backup. I have a landline in MD, since I'm a retired Telco dude and get it free (plus $8 worth of taxes and fees). I wouldn't mind giving that a try, since the landline isn't actually doing anything anymore since I went to an internet fax system.
__________________
"Good judgment comes from experience. Experience comes from bad judgement." - Will Rogers, or maybe Sam Clemens
DW and I - FIREd at 50 (7/06), living off assets
harley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2016, 11:22 AM   #33
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Sunset's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,749
Quote:
Originally Posted by harley View Post
Got a link to that? It sounds like an interesting backup. I have a landline in MD, since I'm a retired Telco dude and get it free (plus $8 worth of taxes and fees). I wouldn't mind giving that a try, since the landline isn't actually doing anything anymore since I went to an internet fax system.
Here is the company website: Freeze, Water and Temperature Alarms | Protected Home
I notice they have cellular ones now as well in case others are interested.

I bought mine at our local hardware store Menards a few years ago for $70 on sale.
http://www.menards.com/main/heating-cooling/thermostats-freeze-alarms/homesitter-multi-functional-home-monitoring-device-with-call-out/heating-cooling/electric-heat/thermostats-freeze-alarms/homesitter-multi-functional-home-monitoring-device-with-call-out/p-1444427409844.htm
__________________
Sunset is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2016, 11:25 AM   #34
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Sunset's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Chicago
Posts: 4,749
I also have a skype subscription, which allows the use of local phone numbers to connect to foreign countries, so I programmed into it my relatives skype number (a local call).
It worked and they were surprised to receive the voice alert telling them "there is a power failure at the protected location".
__________________
Sunset is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2016, 09:20 PM   #35
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 189
I've never seen the Nest thermostat but do remember reading this article in the New York Times last winter about server problems causing people's homes to get chilly.

http://www.nytimes.com/2016/01/14/fa...re-freeze.html
__________________
rdy2go is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2016, 10:00 PM   #36
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
audreyh1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rio Grande Valley
Posts: 16,536
Quote:
Originally Posted by rdy2go View Post
I've never seen the Nest thermostat but do remember reading this article in the New York Times last winter about server problems causing people's homes to get chilly.

http://www.nytimes.com/2016/01/14/fa...re-freeze.html
Yeah - that was the auto update problem I referred to earlier.
__________________
Well, I thought I was retired. But it seems that now I'm working as a travel agent instead!
audreyh1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2016, 01:01 PM   #37
Full time employment: Posting here.
misanman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 536
Doesn't Nest have the equivalent of ctrl-alt-delete?
__________________
"The best thing about the future is that it happens one day at a time." -- A. Lincoln
misanman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2016, 01:18 PM   #38
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 3,709
As we're away from home all winter I almost got a NEST. My main interest was to see the temperature in the house.

Then along the way it seemed to me that I kept reading that while you can adjust the temperature remotely, you can't read the temperature.

Is that so?


In any event, I got a three sensor Accurite system for $100 and it worked like a charm all winter. (Put one in a plastic bag in the hot tub and that worked great as well)
__________________
Living well is the best revenge!
Retired @ 52 in 2005
marko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2016, 03:24 PM   #39
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
zinger1457's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,455
Quote:
Originally Posted by marko View Post
As we're away from home all winter I almost got a NEST. My main interest was to see the temperature in the house.

Then along the way it seemed to me that I kept reading that while you can adjust the temperature remotely, you can't read the temperature.

Is that so?
With the Honeywell wifi thermostat you can. It's hard to imagine that Nest wouldn't provide that information.
__________________
zinger1457 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2016, 03:41 PM   #40
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
audreyh1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rio Grande Valley
Posts: 16,536
Quote:
Originally Posted by misanman View Post
Doesn't Nest have the equivalent of ctrl-alt-delete?
Well - in this case it didn't.
__________________

__________________
Well, I thought I was retired. But it seems that now I'm working as a travel agent instead!
audreyh1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nest Thermostat GalaxyBoy Other topics 27 12-27-2014 03:46 PM
Nest Thermostat- In floor/Gas Backup/Air Conditioning bizlady FIRE and Money 1 05-15-2014 05:10 PM
Thermostat settings & your AC motor? Orchidflower Other topics 18 04-08-2011 06:14 PM
Programmable Thermostat joesxm3 Other topics 11 07-25-2008 01:01 PM
How to rig up an intake fan to a thermostat/temp switch? thefed Other topics 6 08-21-2007 11:30 AM

 

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:26 AM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.