Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-08-2016, 06:07 PM   #41
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
braumeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Northern Kentucky
Posts: 8,601
Quote:
Originally Posted by marko View Post
I kept reading that while you can adjust the temperature remotely, you can't read the temperature.



Is that so?




Not at all. When I check remotely, the Nest tells me the temp and also the indoor relative humidity.


Sent from my iPad using Early Retirement Forum
__________________

__________________
Pas de lieu Rhône que nous.
braumeister is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-08-2016, 06:25 PM   #42
Moderator
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Eee Bah Gum
Posts: 21,105
Quote:
Originally Posted by marko View Post
As we're away from home all winter I almost got a NEST. My main interest was to see the temperature in the house.

Then along the way it seemed to me that I kept reading that while you can adjust the temperature remotely, you can't read the temperature.

Is that so?


In any event, I got a three sensor Accurite system for $100 and it worked like a charm all winter. (Put one in a plastic bag in the hot tub and that worked great as well)
Quote:
Originally Posted by braumeister View Post
Not at all. When I check remotely, the Nest tells me the temp and also the indoor relative humidity.


Sent from my iPad using Early Retirement Forum
Correct, when you access it remotely it tells you the inside temp, the current set point, the outside temp and also the indoor relative humidity.

I also have a NEST security camera set to come on when we are not in the house so that I don't get nuisance alerts (email or text) while we are at home but don't have to remember to turn it on when we leave the house either on a day to day basis or for vacation.
__________________

__________________
Retired in Jan, 2010 at 55, moved to England in May 2016
Now it's adventure before dementia
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nest Thermostat GalaxyBoy Other topics 27 12-27-2014 03:46 PM
Nest Thermostat- In floor/Gas Backup/Air Conditioning bizlady FIRE and Money 1 05-15-2014 05:10 PM
Thermostat settings & your AC motor? Orchidflower Other topics 18 04-08-2011 06:14 PM
Programmable Thermostat joesxm3 Other topics 11 07-25-2008 01:01 PM
How to rig up an intake fan to a thermostat/temp switch? thefed Other topics 6 08-21-2007 11:30 AM

 

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:45 AM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.