Portal Forums Links Register FAQ Community Calendar Log in

Join Early Retirement Today

Network Attached Storage (NAS) & XBox
Old 11-11-2007, 12:48 PM   #1
Full time employment: Posting here.

Network Attached Storage (NAS) & XBox

I was thinking of buying a network attached storage device so that my wife and I can backup the data on our computers. I noticed that some NAS devices have a media server installed on them.

I'm really very new to NAS devices and media servers. I understand the media server on the NAS streams music and such (which are stored on the network drive(s)) to different clients on the network. What I'm not sure of is this: can I listen to one song from my home office desktop while my wife listens to a different song from her laptop in the living room at the same exact time? Or can only one client listen to/view media at a time? I would think that if were a true server that multiple clients could listen to/view different media at the same time. Am I correct?

I understand that the XBox can be used as a media player in such a configuration. Can the XBox be hooked up to a stereo system or will it only play media through a television?

Thanks.
Vincenzo Corleone is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!