Join Early Retirement Today

New iPad Air Wi-Fi - Personal Review - Comments.
Old 02-02-2014, 07:53 AM   #1
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...

Last week someone was kind enough to give me a Brand new iPad Air Wi-Fi 128gb as a birthday Gift. Before I start I am a retired Electronic Engineer and I would like to think I am NOT electronically challenged, in the past I have usually given in an jumped on a new FAD.

As basically everyone I know uses iPads I have had plenty of time to decide that I HATE it!, and all Apple products in general. My main pet peeve is being held against my will in Apple Jail. But all dislikes aside I decided to give it a shot. I played with it for 3 days (without removing the protective plastics or using any of the accessories that came with it.) I even purchased an iLuv pro BT KB to make my life easier. I have not even used the first battery charge it comes with.

Results:

I am NOT convinced of it's long term value, and it is most likely going on Craiglist, into Local Paper or eBay, and most likely I am going to sell it. But alas there are some really nice things about. Unfortunately NONE IMHO are due to usability and app availability which is the substance of all reviews on the net. Here is my uneducated review.

I will start with the cons again IMHO.

1) All the metal makes it pretty heavy in my opinion.
2) My Galaxy S4 does EVERYTHING and much more without any Apple Jail Restrictions. (The Screen unfortunately is a little small, I should have got a Galaxy Note) Free Paid Apps every day with Amazon, See an app on your computer you like, DL it copy it to Android, install it and your done.
3) iTunes again Apple Jail.
4) No direct unrestricted connection to MS Windows 7 or 8 for file transfers and FTP etc.
5) No Memory expansion (SD Card)
6) Multi Tasking is a Kluge, having to double click to stop apps running. There should be an IOS 7..4 option to close app on exit. In fact apps should have an exit button.