Join Early Retirement Today

New Mac owner with frustration
Old 01-03-2012, 06:07 PM   #1
Full time employment: Posting here.

New Mac owner with frustration

I'm new with Apple computers. I've learned the operational basics, but one thing is new and very annoying that I never experienced with my old Dell laptop.
When opening a new web address in Safari I sometimes get a full screen error screen saying this site cannot be opened and asking me whether I want to diagnose the problem. Usually after waiting a little while I try it again and it works. Other times I try another web address and it works fine, but the first site still doesn't work. If I select diagnose, it says the Internet connect isn't.
I suspect that Windows on the Dell might have seen the same problems but simply delayed everything. So the same problem may have been expressed as a really slow computer.
I am on a wireless router from AT&T with DSL. My hunch is that the problem may be the router or the DSL line. (I'm out in the country, probably on the end of a line. )
Has anyone else seen this, and is there a solution? And do you think it's a router/DSL problem or an iMac problem? Should I just go after AT&T? (Lots of luck with that.)
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!