Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old computer upgrade
Old 05-10-2010, 12:24 PM   #1
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Dallas
Posts: 1,211
Old computer upgrade

Hi all,

I recently bought Rosetta Stone for Spanish (Latin American) and loaded it on my old desk top Dell Dimension 4600. This computer has a Pentium 4 at about 2.5 Mhz, 60 gb of hard drive and only 512 mb of RAM.

The installation was very slow going but it was finally successful. However, when I started using the program it quit responding after a few minutes.

I called their tech rep and was told that my problem was not enough RAM.

I agreed and decided to increase the computer capacity to 4 gb (max). This cost about $200 and the shipment is on its way.

My question is should I consider a bigger and faster hard drive? Or, could I use a flash drive? If so, please give me some hints as to how to proceed.

Thanks and cheers,

Charlie
__________________

__________________
charlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-10-2010, 12:36 PM   #2
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
powerplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,380
I think the RAM upgrade will give you the best bang for the buck. Is the hard drive full or near full? Hopefully you checked out the max RAM your computer can use before ordering.

A couple of years ago I upgraded the RAM in both my Dell laptop and desktop. I was only able to utilize 2GB RAM in my computers so ordered that amount. It definitely made an improvement, but I am unlikely to do any further upgrades given the age of my current systems.
__________________

__________________
powerplay is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2010, 12:47 PM   #3
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Dallas
Posts: 1,211
Thanks Powerplay,

After cleaning the hard drive I have 17 gb free space. Rosetta Stone will take almost 6 gb of that as I bought all 5 levels.

My computer has space for a 2nd hard drive. I have never tried to run programs from 2 drives before. Is it possible? If so, I could use a new drive for Rosetta Stone exclusively and keep my other stuff on the old
drive. I have also thought about using a solid state flash drive.

The computer will take 4 gb max RAM.

Cheers,

charlie
__________________
charlie is offline   Reply With Quote
4GB of RAM?
Old 05-10-2010, 12:54 PM   #4
Recycles dryer sheets
TeeRuh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 248
4GB of RAM?

Charlie, I hate to predict bad news but I don't think you can load that much RAM into that particular computer. I believe you would need a new mother board and operating system (which I doubt you got for $200). I hope I'm wrong but I think 512 MBit is about max memory for a Dell 4600.

t.r.
__________________
Life is a Holiday!
TeeRuh is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2010, 12:59 PM   #5
Moderator
ziggy29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 15,612
Hmm. This product lists 512 MB as a minimum requirement. It *should* run without a RAM upgrade according to its system requirements. It may be slow but it shouldn't *stop* unless something else is up with the software or hardware. (Memory leak?)

Frankly, $200 would have gone a long way toward a new system and I don't think the one you have is worth "investing" another $200 into. You can get all new lower-end systems from Dell (for example) for $300 or less, and that is a big upgrade in processor, graphics and hard drive. I would encourage you to return the RAM, get the $200 back (minus restocking fee, even) and buy a new desktop computer, even a low-end one, for an extra $100-300 above what you just spent on the RAM. It will keep you going many more years into the future.
__________________
"Hey, for every ten dollars, that's another hour that I have to be in the work place. That's an hour of my life. And my life is a very finite thing. I have only 'x' number of hours left before I'm dead. So how do I want to use these hours of my life? Do I want to use them just spending it on more crap and more stuff, or do I want to start getting a handle on it and using my life more intelligently?" -- Joe Dominguez (1938 - 1997)

RIP to Reemy, my avatar dog (2003 - 9/16/2017)
ziggy29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2010, 01:03 PM   #6
Recycles dryer sheets
TeeRuh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 248
Charlie, My mistake. Should have ran upstairs first; my old beater is a Dell 4100 (not 4600); which only holds 512 of RAM. What threw me off was your clock speed. (You have GHz, not Mhz speed!) A quick look says you should easily use 2Gb of memory, but you have to upgrade the operating system to actually use 4Gb. By the way I agree that a memory upgrade is always the best bang for the buck.

t.r.
__________________
Life is a Holiday!
TeeRuh is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2010, 01:15 PM   #7
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Leonidas's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Where the stars at night are big and bright
Posts: 2,847
He probably will be able to support 4 gig of RAM depending on the motherboard and chipset. Most P4 systems will support that much RAM unless it's really old or really cheap. He could have spent a little more money and solved both of his problems at once, and gotten Windows 7 64bit to boot. This would not necessarily be what I would chose, but it does give you an idea what is available for the money. eMachines - Desktop with Intel® Celeron® Processor - ET1831-05

If I were going to buy a solid state HD, given current prices I would probably just buy one big enough to run the OS from and even then it would have to be on sale. But you've got not quite an antique, but certainly a classic, so I would save that purchase for my next computer build. Internal SATA drives are so cheap right now that I would just buy one of those. Decent 1TB disks are less than $100 everyday prices.
__________________
There is no pleasure in having nothing to do; the fun is having lots to do and not doing it. - Andrew Jackson
Leonidas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2010, 01:31 PM   #8
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
powerplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,380
My desktop is a Dimension 4500 and I just checked it and the max RAM is 1GB, while my laptop is an Inspiron 8600 with max RAM of 2 GB. My technology is aging (and so am I)!

You could add an additional HD and put Rosetta Stone on it. I added a second HD to mine when it was new along with a CD/RW and a few other upgrades because they were cheaper than ordering those features from Dell. One of the external portable hard drives might be a good way to go as the device could be used on any system.

Looking at a new system would be a good exercise also. About 5 months ago my laptop would not turn on. I decided it could be the power supply and/or who knows what else. For me it was old enough that I wouldn't spend any $$ on getting it fixed. I looked at the Sunday ads and went out and bought a new laptop with Windows 7 for about $325. It is nice and of course does more faster than the older laptop. A couple weeks later I was poking around with the old laptop and noticed a glimmer in the power light so thought it was worth a Google search. Well it turned up a known defect on this model and was a 5 minute fix with instructions. So I have my old laptop back functioning again due to a power cable that gets unplugged easily.

How do you like the Rosetta Stone software??
__________________
powerplay is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2010, 01:56 PM   #9
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Dallas
Posts: 1,211
My user manual says the computer will hold 4 gb in 1 gb sticks and the illustration shows 4 slots so I guess I am ok on that score.

I like the idea of a removable hard drive. This allow me to transfer it to my daughter for her kids when I am finished.

Are there any potential problems like software copy protection that I need to be aware of?

Cheers,

charlie
__________________
charlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2010, 02:05 PM   #10
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
powerplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by charlie View Post
I like the idea of a removable hard drive. This allow me to transfer it to my daughter for her kids when I am finished.

Are there any potential problems like software copy protection that I need to be aware of?

Cheers,

charlie
I'm sorry I don't know the answer to that question. Usually a software license allows it to be used on only one machine at a time. Hopefully someone else will see this thread and have some input for you.
__________________
powerplay is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2010, 02:13 PM   #11
Moderator
ziggy29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 15,612
Quote:
Originally Posted by powerplay View Post
I'm sorry I don't know the answer to that question. Usually a software license allows it to be used on only one machine at a time. Hopefully someone else will see this thread and have some input for you.
I found this:

http://www.rosettastone.com/us_asset...global-eng.pdf

Quote:
6. TRANSFER: Licensee may not, and may not permit others to, directly or indirectly sell, rent, lease, loan, timeshare, or sublicense the Rosetta Stone Product. The transmission of Licensee’s user name, password or Activation ID to allow any person (other than Licensee or a member of Licensee’s Household) to use Rosetta Stone Product is expressly forbidden and failure to comply with this prohibition may result is the suspension or termination of the right to continue to use the Rosetta Stone Product or receive support.
I am not a lawyer, but is sounds like you can let members of your household use your password to access the software. If OP's daughter is not in the same household, this violates the licensing agreement. Also I think you can only activate it on one machine. This means if you are a parent of minor children, you can install it on ONE machine in your home and you and your kids who live in the same home can all use it with the same shared user ID.

That's how I read it -- again, IANAL.
__________________
"Hey, for every ten dollars, that's another hour that I have to be in the work place. That's an hour of my life. And my life is a very finite thing. I have only 'x' number of hours left before I'm dead. So how do I want to use these hours of my life? Do I want to use them just spending it on more crap and more stuff, or do I want to start getting a handle on it and using my life more intelligently?" -- Joe Dominguez (1938 - 1997)

RIP to Reemy, my avatar dog (2003 - 9/16/2017)
ziggy29 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2010, 02:20 PM   #12
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 13,252
You can get a USB hard drive for less than $100 at Staples etc... I got a 500GB one... just have not connected it to any computer yet... it is less than a week old
__________________
Texas Proud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2010, 08:20 PM   #13
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Dallas
Posts: 1,211
I received the 4 gb RAM set in the middle of this conversation and installed it with only minor difficulty. You really have to push hard to fully seat the memory cards.

After installation, Rosetta Stone was very quick so I have decided to defer installing a dedicated hard drive for now.

Thanks for your responses and ..... Cheers,

charlie
__________________
charlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 05:35 AM   #14
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,038
Quote:
Originally Posted by charlie View Post
My user manual says the computer will hold 4 gb in 1 gb sticks and the illustration shows 4 slots so I guess I am ok on that score.

I like the idea of a removable hard drive. This allow me to transfer it to my daughter for her kids when I am finished.

Are there any potential problems like software copy protection that I need to be aware of?

Cheers,

charlie
Not sure what you mean "transfer it to my daughter". You cannot install this program on a removable drive and then just plug it in another computer and have it run. Your operating system is on the main drive and the program is registered with the OS during install. The program would have to be reinstalled if put on another computer in any case.
__________________
In theory, theory and practice are the same. In practice, they are not.
Lazarus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 10:37 AM   #15
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
kcowan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Pacific latitude 20/49
Posts: 5,705
Send a message via Skype™ to kcowan
So how do you like Rosetta Stone? What other ways have you tried to learn the language, if any?
__________________
For the fun of it...Keith
kcowan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 12:13 PM   #16
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
travelover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9,871
Quote:
Originally Posted by kcowan View Post
So how do you like Rosetta Stone? What other ways have you tried to learn the language, if any?
I wonder the same thing. I'm a hardworking farm boy who would like to meet an Italian supermodel.
__________________

__________________
Yes, I have achieved work / life balance.
travelover is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
House Upgrade CCdaCE Young Dreamers 38 04-24-2009 11:15 AM
Site Upgrade Tech Admin Forum Admin 2 12-03-2008 12:12 AM
RV Upgrade Successful Rich_by_the_Bay Other topics 29 08-09-2007 01:59 PM
Slate: "The Best Computer Upgrade Ever" Nords Other topics 3 09-17-2006 09:17 AM

 

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:03 PM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.