Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-21-2016, 06:53 PM   #21
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 65
Happened to me today. I am not happy.


Sent from my iPhone using Early Retirement Forum
__________________

__________________
Act2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-21-2016, 06:58 PM   #22
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
braumeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Northern Kentucky
Posts: 8,633
I'm an Apple guy, but my standard policy is to always update everything, but only after the update has been out in the field for at least a week. I like getting the latest security gap plugs and bug fixes, and this method has saved me from a couple of buggy updates.

I also have daily backups of everything, so it's not a big deal to recover if something unexpected goes south.
__________________

__________________
braumeister is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2016, 07:00 PM   #23
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 381
I switched all of our machines from Windows 7 to Windows 10 a few months ago - no issues on any of them.
__________________
big-papa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2016, 07:12 PM   #24
Administrator
W2R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 38,949
Quote:
Originally Posted by Walt34 View Post
There is already a thread on this issue:

OMG.... they changed my OS without permission!!!
I merged both threads so that everyone experiencing this update without giving permission, can post about it, exchange ideas, commiserate, and so on, on the same thread.
__________________
Already we are boldly launched upon the deep; but soon we shall be lost in its unshored, harbourless immensities.

- - H. Melville, 1851
W2R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2016, 07:52 PM   #25
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
powerplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,380
I almost had this happen to me. After reading this thread I went and booted my Win 7 machine that I do not want to upgrade. The Windows 10 popup had changed and instead of asking to select now or later to upgrade the box announced it would be updating to Win 10 on May 24th! I was able to go and change the update schedule and take if off automatic. This is pretty dirty of Microsoft.
__________________
powerplay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2016, 07:54 PM   #26
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
pb4uski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Vermont & Sarasota, FL
Posts: 16,490
Happened to DW yesterday. I reverted to Windows 7 it less than 24 hours later... she hated it.
__________________
If something cannot endure laughter.... it cannot endure.
Patience is the art of concealing your impatience.
Slow and steady wins the race.
pb4uski is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2016, 08:04 PM   #27
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1,050
I can't believe they would force an OS update like that. Wow. Just shows how they don't respect their users data as OS updates are risky.
__________________
jim584672 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2016, 08:23 PM   #28
Recycles dryer sheets
gettingthere's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 150
I had the same thing happen to me a month or so ago.


I googled the issue and turned up this link, and successfully stopped the process by following the instructions in that link.


Prevent the Windows 10 upgrade from installing after making your reservation | Windows 10 content from SuperSite for Windows




As I recall, it was scenario 3 that I fell under.


I did note down that there were three updates I deleted.


KB3035583
KB2976978
KB3044374




__________________
gettingthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2016, 11:34 PM   #29
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 430
Here's a product I used to prevent the automatic updates to Windows 10. Besides this article, it is also recommended by Computerworld and other respected publications.

Never10 is a free app for when you absolutely, positively don't want Windows 10 | PCWorld
__________________
gindie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2016, 06:06 AM   #30
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Utrecht
Posts: 2,213
I'm switching back to Linux at earliest convenience. Microsoft really pulled out all the negative stops on this.

Other things you need to be aware of:
  • You will be shown advertisements by default on the boot screen and on several other places. Yes, even if you paid for it.
  • Privacy settings are there, but by default you share everything. Some privacy settings cannot be disabled. Some data will go to Microsoft regardless, even if you block the connections (the OS bypasses them).
  • Updates happen when Microsoft wants them to happen. Best you can achieve is postponing for 1 or 2 days at a time.
  • Downloads of said updates will also happen automatically. Only way to stop that is by either not being connected to the internet or indicating you are on a metered connection for every connection you have.


In short: Microsoft is switching to an advertisement supported model where they own and control your device, including everything you do with it.
__________________
Totoro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2016, 07:16 AM   #31
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
donheff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 8,653
MS tricked me into this shortly after they changed Win 10 to a recommended update. I was working on my Win 7 desktop and the Upgrade now? Upgrade Later? window popped up. I planned to upgrade much later so I clicked that button assuming I would get the same screen back when "later" arrived. The next morning I booted to Win 10. I have been happy with the new OS but irritated that MS pushed it on me before I was ready.
__________________
Every man is, or hopes to be, an Idler. -- Samuel Johnson
donheff is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2016, 07:56 AM   #32
Moderator
MichaelB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Rocky Inlets
Posts: 24,492
This is a strange way to build share of heart among consumers. In the past MS has shown some disregard to the knowledge investment (in IE and Office) made by their user base by not ensuring complete backward compatibility and introducing upgrades with different GUI and structure. I thought they needed to increase their share in the consumer marketplace. Forced upgrades appears to me to be something along the lines of "the beatings will continue until morale improves!".
__________________
MichaelB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2016, 08:19 AM   #33
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Nodak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Cavalier
Posts: 2,317
I don't know what, if anything, was special about yesterday but last evening I had calls from 4 friends whose systems were automatically updated. So far all were successful.
__________________
"Don't take life so serious, son. It ain't nohow permanent." Pogo Possum (Walt Kelly)
Nodak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2016, 11:03 AM   #34
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 13,291
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nodak View Post
I don't know what, if anything, was special about yesterday but last evening I had calls from 4 friends whose systems were automatically updated. So far all were successful.

Oh, mine was successful, but it was not what I wanted...

It also changed some of my options on programs... I have only gone into Firefox and MS new explorer (whatever it is called).... and my menus have changed or gone away... trying to get them back to where I want... will have to check to see if other programs work...

I also asked not to enable Cortana, but it is down on the bottom taking up a good amount of real estate...

I did turn off am much info sharing as I could on the opening screens.... but MS being MS, it was not easy to find or change... there was a big button indicating to accept on the right and a really tiny text somewhere on the left for you to make your own selections.... sneaky way of getting most people to default to setting beneficial to MS....

AND, now when my computer comes out of sleep mode, I am NOT where I used to be.... there is some screen with (IIRC) a mountain... I have to click on that, then there is a screen for me to 'sign in' even though I never set up my computer to sign in....


In the end I will probably be OK with Win 10.... so far it seems like it is much better than 8 which I hated... and the look and feel is enough like 7 for me to be OK with it.... but time will tell when I actually start to do things in my programs...
__________________
Texas Proud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2016, 11:07 AM   #35
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
ExFlyBoy5's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1,977
I think all this MS buffoon buffoonery has convinced me to bite the bullet and give Linux a try.

Sent via mobile device. Please excuse any grammatical errors.
__________________
Founder and Head Lounger @ The Life of Leisure Institute
Retired in 2014 at the Ripe Age of 40.
ExFlyBoy5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2016, 11:09 AM   #36
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 13,291
OMG.... just noticed that my ad block is no longer on Firefox... what was the one that was better than ad block I never wrote it down and do not remember the name!!!


Edit...

Just used the 'start' button for the first time... and NOW I see where the big difference is.... not a fan of this as it now does look like Win 8 to me...
__________________
Texas Proud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2016, 11:14 AM   #37
Moderator
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Eee Bah Gum
Posts: 21,150
The exact same thing happened to DW yesterday and she was convinced she had accidentally triggered it. We only just moved into our new place in England and got internet connected on Friday and with the English style keyboard having keys in slightly different places she thought she had started the upgrade.

The good news is that the upgrade has worked well and she is sticking with W10.
__________________
Retired in Jan, 2010 at 55, moved to England in May 2016
Now it's adventure before dementia
Alan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2016, 11:16 AM   #38
Administrator
W2R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: New Orleans
Posts: 38,949
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texas Proud View Post
OMG.... just noticed that my ad block is no longer on Firefox... what was the one that was better than ad block I never wrote it down and do not remember the name!!!
That's weird! I have no trouble with Ad Block Pro running with MSIE under Windows 10.

Wonder why you are having a problem running it with Firefox?
__________________
Already we are boldly launched upon the deep; but soon we shall be lost in its unshored, harbourless immensities.

- - H. Melville, 1851
W2R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2016, 11:18 AM   #39
Full time employment: Posting here.
dixonge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Ajijic
Posts: 849
Quote:
Originally Posted by Texas Proud View Post
OMG.... just noticed that my ad block is no longer on Firefox... what was the one that was better than ad block I never wrote it down and do not remember the name!!!
uBlock Origin - runs as an add-on, even on mobile!
__________________
dixonge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2016, 11:22 AM   #40
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 13,291
Quote:
Originally Posted by W2R View Post
That's weird! I have no trouble with Ad Block Pro running with MSIE under Windows 10.

Wonder why you are having a problem running it with Firefox?

I am not saying it does not work, but that it is no longer in Firefox...

When it updated and I went into Firefox it said that there was a problem and I needed to 'refresh'.... so I refresh... now, the two adblock add ons that I had are no longer inside Firefox... so ads are now popping up...

There was a discussion on a better ad blocker than adblock as it has a white list of sites where they allow ads.... I do not want any if possible... I will have to search if nobody lets me know the name...

Again, this is directly related to having the OS changed... more work for me...
__________________

__________________
Texas Proud is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What are the rules for using someone's credit/debit card with permission? easysurfer Other topics 12 02-25-2014 08:12 AM
MD without residency--- What kind kind of jobs they can do? rsingh6675 Hi, I am... 3 03-22-2011 09:37 PM
OMG! They're giving away Detroit homes!!!! Orchidflower Life after FIRE 34 03-29-2009 04:16 PM
How one is granted permission to sell DFA funds. bamsphd FIRE and Money 6 11-30-2007 11:57 AM
MBNA switched from Visa to American Express without permission SonnyJim FIRE and Money 7 09-25-2006 12:01 AM

 

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:16 AM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.