Join Early Retirement Today

Open to suggestions
Old 04-04-2012, 10:55 AM   #1
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post

Open to suggestions

I'll be retiring at the end of August and I just found out that 2 of my collegues have been asked to find out what kind of retirement send-off I might like. I find this kind of odd. I've been teaching at the college for the past 20 years and I am friends the folks that teach in my discipline but I don't really know or socialize with the rest of the department. I am just not interested in any kind of retirement party. I find them boring, depressing and a forced obligation. I would prefer to quietly close my office door and leave but I also know that some people want to do something nice before I go.
In the past many of you have offered sage advice. What would you do in this case? Thanks.

Cheers!
Badger is online now   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-04-2012, 11:04 AM   #2
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...