Join Early Retirement Today

Old 04-05-2011, 09:47 PM   #21
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...

The only thing I buy from my local health food store is organic (brown) rice. I have been buying it for about 10 years. I like its taste and texture better than processed rice although I sometimes eat the latter anyway.

I am always reminded of that line from Woody Allen's "Sleeper" in which Allen plays a health food store owner who wakes up 200 years in the future only to find it pretty weird. When the doctor who revived him tells him that everyone he knows has been dead for nearly 200 years, he replies, "But they all ate organic rice!"
Retired in late 2008 at age 45. Cashed in company stock, bought a lot of shares in a big bond fund and am living nicely off its dividends. IRA, SS, and a pension await me at age 60 and later. No kids, no debts.

"I want my money working for me instead of me working for my money!"
scrabbler1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 04-06-2011, 06:04 AM   #22