Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-02-2008, 03:14 PM   #41
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
cute fuzzy bunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Losing my whump
Posts: 22,697
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bimmerbill View Post
Seems to work fine, a bit better sound quality- less of an echo, which I got sometime. Vonage adaptor must tag IP packets as VOIP, or does the router read the IP header?
Theres a lot of long answers, but the short answer is that VOIP generally uses a specific set of ports and a specific protocol (generally RTP) to do its work. So the router looks for RTP on those ports or just prioritizes any traffic to/from those ports.

Not sure how Asus has implemented their QOS, but there is much written about the dd-wrt version, along with its congestion control.

Neihn...whats in that version that isnt in the standard 24sp1 version? Anything good?

I have to quit fiddling with something that works perfectly well in the first place :
__________________

__________________
Be fearful when others are greedy, and greedy when others are fearful. Just another form of "buy low, sell high" for those who have trouble with things. This rule is not universal. Do not buy a 1973 Pinto because everyone else is afraid of it.
cute fuzzy bunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 10-02-2008, 05:28 PM   #42
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Portland/North Port
Posts: 182
Quote:
Originally Posted by cute fuzzy bunny View Post
Neihn...whats in that version that isnt in the standard 24sp1 version? Anything good?

I have to quit fiddling with something that works perfectly well in the first place :
The new version fixed a UpnP bug (my son wants this for his xbox live) and the USB bug. I already got the USB storage up and running and sharing using samba, still need to work out the startup script -. I will write a summary if when I am done.
__________________

__________________
neihn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2008, 05:30 PM   #43
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
cute fuzzy bunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Losing my whump
Posts: 22,697
Oh goodie. I've got a 360, a roku box and a pair of directv HD receivers all using upnp with it. Although they all worked fine with it turned off, which was interesting.
__________________
Be fearful when others are greedy, and greedy when others are fearful. Just another form of "buy low, sell high" for those who have trouble with things. This rule is not universal. Do not buy a 1973 Pinto because everyone else is afraid of it.
cute fuzzy bunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2008, 11:33 PM   #44
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Portland/North Port
Posts: 182
For people who flashed the WL500W with dd-wrt. Here's the steps to set up the USB HD to share. Disclaimer: Try it with your own risk!

1. Prepare the usb HD - Partition

Down load gparted - GParted -- Download
and partition/format the USB hardrive as follow

partition 1 - ext3 - 1G - Use this to mount /opt to install optware
partition 2 - linuxswap - 512M - Use this to add swap to the router, 32M of ram is little small operation
partition 3 - ext3 - the rest of the drive - Use this for share storage

2. Turn on USB services via the web admin (http://192.168.1.1)

Go to services tab and turn on the following

Core USB Support
USB 1.1 Support (OHCI)Enable
USB 2.0 Support
USB Storage Support
ext2 / ext3 File System Support
FAT File System Support

Reboot the router with the USB HD attached

2b. Telnet to the router - telnet 192.168.1.1

3. Check if the drive is seen by the router - type

Code :
# dmesg


look for something like this

hub.c: new USB device 01:03.2-1, assigned address 2
scsi0 : SCSI emulation for USB Mass Storage devices
Vendor: SAMSUNG Model: SP2514N Rev: VF10
Type: Direct-Access ANSI SCSI revision: 02
Attached scsi disk sda at scsi0, channel 0, id 0, lun 0
SCSI device sda: 488397168 512-byte hdwr sectors (250059 MB)
Partition check:
/dev/scsi/host0/bus0/target0/lun0: p1 p2 p3
WARNING: USB Mass Storage data integrity not assured
USB Mass Storage device found at 2


4. If they are show up in the dmesg, next step is to mount all partitions

Mount /opt and /mnt

Code:
# mount /dev/scsi/host0/bus0/target0/lun0/part1 /opt
# mount /dev/scsi/host0/bus0/target0/lun0/part3 /mnt

Set up optware

Code:
# wget http://www.wlan-sat.com/boleo/optwar...stall-ddwrt.sh -O - | tr -d '\r' > /tmp/optware-install.sh
# sh /tmp/optware-install.sh
# export PATH=/opt/bin:/opt/sbin:$PATH
# /opt/bin/ipkg update


We want to have swap since 32M is not enough to things like
- bittorent
- ftpd
- samba
etc...

Install optware's busybox so we can use swapon to mount the swap patition

Code:
# /opt/bin/ipkg install busybox

Turn on swap

Code:
# /opt/bin/busybox swapon /dev/scsi/host0/bus0/target0/lun0/part2

check to verify swap is on

Code:
# free


5. Install/setup samba

- Install samba

Code:
# /opt/bin/ipkg remove samba
# /opt/bin/ipkg install samba2


- create a new smb.conf using vi editor (you may have to learn vi)

Code:
# cd /opt/etc/samba
# mv smb.conf smb.conf.bak
# vi smb.conf

-------------------file begin------------------------
# Samba config file created using SWAT
# from 192.168.1.113 (192.168.1.113)
# Date: 2008/10/02 14:36:42

# Global parameters
[global]
server string = Samba Optware Server
security = SHARE
log file = /opt/var/log/samba/log.%m
max log size = 50
load printers = No
dns proxy = No
hosts allow = 192.168.1. 192.168.2. 127.

[printers]
comment = All Printers
path = /opt/var/spool/samba
printable = Yes
browseable = No

[tmp]
comment = Temporary file space
path = /tmp
read only = No
guest ok = Yes

[share]
comment = Network share
path = /mnt
writeable = yes
read only = No
guest ok = Yes

---------------file end -------------------------------


- Add nobody user

Code:
# echo "nobody:*:65534:65534:nobody:/var:/bin/false" >> /etc/passwd

- Change /mnt to nobody so that you can write to the share

Code:
# chown -R nobody /mnt

6. Connect to the share drive from windows

Click on Start->Run then type

\\192.168.1.1\share
or
\\wl500w\share (since I named my router as wl500w)


7. If everything works we want to those steps in a startup script

Open the web admin goes Administration->Commands

Past the following and click "Save startup"

#============begin startup===================
echo "Mounting Optware partition..."
mount -t ext3 /dev/scsi/host0/bus0/target0/lun0/part1 /opt

echo "Activating swap..."
/opt/bin/busybox swapon /dev/scsi/host0/bus0/target0/lun0/part2

#echo "Checking user files partition..."
#e2fsck -p /dev/scsi/host0/bus0/target0/lun0/part3

echo "Mounting user files partition..."
mount -t ext3 /dev/scsi/host0/bus0/target0/lun0/part3 /mnt

echo "Masking etc/profile with /opt/etc/profile..."
if [ -e /opt/etc/profile ]; then
cp /opt/etc/profile /tmp
mount -o bind /tmp/profile /etc/profile
fi

echo "Add nobody user"
echo "nobody:*:65534:65534:nobody:/var:/bin/false" >> /etc/passwd

echo "Starting Optware programs..."
unset LD_LIBRARY_PATH
export PATH=/opt/bin:/opt/sbin:/bin:/sbin:/usr/sbin:/usr/bin
if [ -d /opt/etc/init.d ]; then
for f in /opt/etc/init.d/S* ; do
[ -x $f ] && $f start
done
fi
#==================end=======================
__________________
neihn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2008, 01:56 AM   #45
Moderator Emeritus
laurence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Diego
Posts: 5,234
Thanks for all this, guys! Now to spend some money w/o DW knowing it.

(on a sidebar cutefuzzy convinced me to come out of the 802.11g stone age. A home NAS is just gravy!)
__________________
laurence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2008, 09:07 AM   #46
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
cute fuzzy bunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Losing my whump
Posts: 22,697
You might have to pool your lunch money for a week or two...
__________________
Be fearful when others are greedy, and greedy when others are fearful. Just another form of "buy low, sell high" for those who have trouble with things. This rule is not universal. Do not buy a 1973 Pinto because everyone else is afraid of it.
cute fuzzy bunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2008, 11:10 AM   #47
Moderator Emeritus
Nords's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Oahu
Posts: 26,619
Quote:
Originally Posted by laurencewill View Post
Thanks for all this, guys! Now to spend some money w/o DW knowing it.
(on a sidebar cutefuzzy convinced me to come out of the 802.11g stone age. A home NAS is just gravy!)
Heck, shouldn't you pick up a couple dozen at the office for security testing?
__________________
*
*

The book written on E-R.org, "The Military Guide to Financial Independence and Retirement", on sale now! For more info see "About Me" in my profile.
I don't spend much time here anymore, so please send me a PM. Thanks.
Nords is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2008, 04:39 PM   #48
Moderator Emeritus
laurence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: San Diego
Posts: 5,234
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nords View Post
Heck, shouldn't you pick up a couple dozen at the office for security testing?
Wireless at work = verboten.

Ha! The problem is now I don't do any real work. I have people who do it for me. My biggest fear is becoming that ignorant manager the techies all laugh at. "He suggested a media converter for the OC3! What a rube!"
__________________
laurence is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2008, 05:53 PM   #49
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Bimmerbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,631
Yeah, wireless at my work is frowned on, but bringing them around. Using some FIPS 140-2 compliant radios, running stuff thru TACLANES for encryption. Should be cool.

Ok, another quesiton. I have my 120G USB drive, but wondering how to get it recognized by the router. EXT2 file system is what I'm supposed to use, but never played much with linux. So, should I download an EXT2 file system driver for XP and have at it?
__________________
Bimmerbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2008, 06:20 PM   #50
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Portland/North Port
Posts: 182
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bimmerbill View Post
Ok, another quesiton. I have my 120G USB drive, but wondering how to get it recognized by the router. EXT2 file system is what I'm supposed to use, but never played much with linux. So, should I download an EXT2 file system driver for XP and have at it?
If you just want to partition and format the drive, I recommend dowloading gparted live cd
GParted -- Download
Boot from the live CD and partition and format your drive.
__________________
neihn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2008, 07:04 PM   #51
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
cute fuzzy bunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Losing my whump
Posts: 22,697
You can format the drive for Fat32, but you wont be able to have any files on it that are over 2GB.
__________________
Be fearful when others are greedy, and greedy when others are fearful. Just another form of "buy low, sell high" for those who have trouble with things. This rule is not universal. Do not buy a 1973 Pinto because everyone else is afraid of it.
cute fuzzy bunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2008, 07:00 AM   #52
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Bimmerbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,631
Anyone have any luck getting the BT downloads to work? I have a couple BT files loaded in the download manager, but they are showing "queued" and 1 has had no activity, the other a very little bit.

Set up my USB device, partitioned EXT2 with Partition Magic. Can access it via network neighborhood (or UNC \\Wl500w\part0) so thats pretty slick.

Any ideas?
__________________
Bimmerbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2008, 08:53 AM   #53
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
cute fuzzy bunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Losing my whump
Posts: 22,697
Havent done it yet and since I'm on the ddwrt firmware now I cant try to repro it.

Wasnt there an option in the firmware for enabling the download master to run on the router that by default is turned off?
__________________
Be fearful when others are greedy, and greedy when others are fearful. Just another form of "buy low, sell high" for those who have trouble with things. This rule is not universal. Do not buy a 1973 Pinto because everyone else is afraid of it.
cute fuzzy bunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2008, 01:42 PM   #54
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Bimmerbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,631
Yeah, it seems to be working but it SLOW. Like unuseable slow. 3.75M downloaded in 12 hours slow... USB device is mounted and shared fine. I'll have to try to access it thru my media center PC to see how performance is.

I may try to flash to ddwrt firmware. I justs can't stop fooling with IT equipment ;-)
__________________
Bimmerbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2008, 02:00 PM   #55
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
cute fuzzy bunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Losing my whump
Posts: 22,697
I was seeing a GB per minute, which is okay for sharing, but not so good for things like backing up an 80gb drive. That was with the asus firmware...not sure about what the ddwrt firmwares throughput is.

Some torrents are just gawdawful slow or your isp may be slowing it down.
__________________
Be fearful when others are greedy, and greedy when others are fearful. Just another form of "buy low, sell high" for those who have trouble with things. This rule is not universal. Do not buy a 1973 Pinto because everyone else is afraid of it.
cute fuzzy bunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2008, 05:09 PM   #56
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Portland/North Port
Posts: 182
With the ASUS firmware, I measured about 2-3Mbytes per second writing to the share USB drive, reading is faster about 3-3.5MBytes/sec.

With the dd-wrt, both writing and reading improve by the factor of 1.5-2.0. Enough for me to stay with dd-wrt, plus I have access to ton of functinalities that's only available in the much more expensive router > $200 (such as VPN, IP filter and a lot more)

I installed transmission (BT client) on the router, and it worked wonderful downloading several torrents (I set the limit to 5 torrents at a time). The down/up load speed is about the same with my PC. But in this case, the only equipment stay ON for the download is the router and the USB drive - probably 30w total, talk about green :-)
__________________
neihn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2008, 08:37 AM   #57
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Bimmerbill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,631
I'll have to try that. Is the BT client a seperate download than dd-wrt? My PC downloads fine running utorrent, but the Asus router is slow and almost non functional.

I'd like to be able to shut down the PC and still download too.
__________________
Bimmerbill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-06-2008, 12:14 PM   #58
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Portland/North Port
Posts: 182
The BT client is an app that you need to install on your DD-WRT router. DD-WRT is basically an embedded Linux OS. After flashing your router with DD-WRT you get yourself a little Linux computer, it does all the routing plus you can then install extra applications. In my case, I install Samba (for file sharing), Transmission (BT client) , and few others apps.

It will requires Linux/Unix knowledge or some learning to do all that, but it is nothing too complicate.

If you still want to do it, I can summarize some instructions.
__________________
neihn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2008, 02:19 PM   #59
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
bright eyed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,891
Well, I got mine the other day and can't get it set up! surprise?

Out of the box, stuck in CD, followed instructions...not sure, but it can't connect. Shows the "local connection" is connected while going through the steps, but can't get on the internet...asks me to connect via a dial up?

Also, the support # in the manual doesn't work it's disconnected! and their support is pretty bad on their website. Just directs you to a bunch of message boards...finally found some discussion about problems setting up like mine and people said they had lots of problems, little answers...

I'm sure I just mistyped something or screwed up the order? but can't figure it out. I was hoping i'd get a live person to help, but no avail...maybe it has to go back in the pretty box...
__________________
If i think of something clever to say, i'll put it here...
bright eyed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2008, 03:02 PM   #60
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northern IL
Posts: 18,288
Quote:
Originally Posted by bright eyed View Post
Well, I got mine the other day and can't get it set up! surprise?

Out of the box, stuck in CD, followed instructions...
My (very limited) experience with these things so far is - IGNORE THE INSTRUCTIONS and DO NOT LOAD any CD that comes with it.

The defaults out of the box will probably be recognized by our computer. Once you have a connection, you can start setting up passwords and other options. Some stuff you may need to do wired, rather than wireless for increased security.

So probably, you want to see if you can completely reset it, and then try again, w/o the CD. I saw one review of the unit I bought my son, some guy (as a frustrated joke) gave detailed instructions on how to destroy the CD, all it does is give problems (that was a D-Link, IIRC, but it seems to apply to other brands as well).

Anyhow, there are people far more expert in this on the forum than I , so see if they agree.

-ERD50
__________________

__________________
ERD50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Just getting a wireless laptop. ???? Den26 Other topics 2 09-06-2008 10:55 AM
Help From Verizon Wireless Buckeye Other topics 1 09-02-2008 10:31 PM
Question about routers (wood, not computer) SC Other topics 16 03-11-2007 10:20 AM
best wireless router? bright eyed Other topics 19 02-21-2007 11:38 AM
Need a pair of External Laptop speakers............... Cut-Throat Other topics 1 02-08-2006 04:05 PM

 

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:30 PM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.