Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Problem with Mozilla Firefox???
Old 07-28-2010, 07:35 AM   #1
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 3,323
Problem with Mozilla Firefox???

This started on 7/27 and continues today 7/28, I am having trouble getting Firefox to load up with any speed at all. In fact, it is so slow that I switch to Internet Explorer to get on this board or look anything else up.
What the heck is wrong? And am I the only one having this problem?


For example, I just go on this board using Internet Explorer and was already typing the above paragraph and then Firefox finally loaded up. I have never run into this with Firefox before, so am really concerned. Maybe some computer gurus here know what is going on?

I checked all my ports and nothing is open. I run my McAfee daily a couple times often and update every single day. Since Internet Explorer is speedy today, it has to be a problem with Firefox. A first there.
__________________

__________________
Please consider adopting a rescue animal. So very many need a furr-ever home and someone to love them! And if we all spay/neuter our pets there won't be an overpopulation to put to death.
Orchidflower is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-28-2010, 09:11 AM   #2
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: No. California
Posts: 1,600
I quit using Firefox months ago because it ran so slowly. I rarely use it now, so I'm no help.
__________________

__________________
KB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 09:16 AM   #3
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 13,260
My firefox at home runs OK based on speed... the problems I have had since the last download was it kept crashing when I was not there...

Try downloading the newest updates and see if it gets better... also, get rid of all old files you do not need...
__________________
Texas Proud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 09:19 AM   #4
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
REWahoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas Hill Country
Posts: 42,077
Orchid, I've been using FF for years and never had the problem you describe. Could be your version is somehow corrupted. Maybe you should go to Firefox Browser and download a new copy.
__________________
Numbers is hard

When I hit 70, it hit back

Retired in 2005 at age 58, no pension
REWahoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 09:20 AM   #5
Moderator
MichaelB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Rocky Inlets
Posts: 24,424
Hi Orchidflower. What version Fifefox are you running and do you have any add-ons?
__________________
MichaelB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 09:21 AM   #6
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 7,526
Firefox could be corrupted. Back up your bookmarks/preferences then try uninstalling/reinstalling Firefox. Check their "help" section for info on how to back up bookmarks. It was pretty quick and easy if you follow step by step instructions (I did it recently).

Edit to add: I had installed some Java service pack add-on to my firefox a couple weeks ago and it caused it to crash instantly if I clicked on anything at the ER forum. I ended up uninstalling that java service pack. 6.0.0.2 or something.
__________________
Retired in 2013 at age 33. Keeping busy reading, blogging, relaxing, gaming, and enjoying the outdoors with my wife and 3 kids (5, 11, and 12).
FUEGO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 09:23 AM   #7
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Rustic23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Lake Livingston, Tx
Posts: 3,624
Ver. 3.5.8 here and working fine.
__________________
If it is after 5:00 when I post I reserve the right to disavow anything I posted.
Rustic23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 09:27 AM   #8
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
REWahoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas Hill Country
Posts: 42,077
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rustic23 View Post
Ver. 3.5.8 here...
You're behind one upgrade.
__________________
Numbers is hard

When I hit 70, it hit back

Retired in 2005 at age 58, no pension
REWahoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 09:39 AM   #9
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 3,323
Well, after doing alot of investigating I've kinda figured out Firefox crashed on me (duh...I am no computer pro as you can tell). I have uninstalled it a couple times but, obviously, files are still there as I cannot fix it. There are some good YouTube things on how to fix your computer when it crashes, but they say go to start then run and run won't even work properly.
I was using 3.6.8 the latest version. I update everything like crazy I'm so paranoid of this sort of thing happening...and it still happens.
After so many years using Firefox, this is the first time I have ever had any kind of problem with it.

Since another post said he also had a problem with this latest version, I wonder if there is something wrong with this version?
__________________
Please consider adopting a rescue animal. So very many need a furr-ever home and someone to love them! And if we all spay/neuter our pets there won't be an overpopulation to put to death.
Orchidflower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 09:42 AM   #10
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 3,323
Quote:
Originally Posted by MichaelB View Post
Hi Orchidflower. What version Fifefox are you running and do you have any add-ons?
My gosh this is embarrassing, but what are add-ons? I must not have them if I don't know what they are?
__________________
Please consider adopting a rescue animal. So very many need a furr-ever home and someone to love them! And if we all spay/neuter our pets there won't be an overpopulation to put to death.
Orchidflower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 09:43 AM   #11
Moderator
MichaelB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Rocky Inlets
Posts: 24,424
Do you have any add-ons?
__________________
MichaelB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 09:45 AM   #12
Moderator
MichaelB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Rocky Inlets
Posts: 24,424
Quote:
Originally Posted by Orchidflower View Post
3.6.3 but, my gosh this is embarrassing, but what are add-ons? I must not have them if I don't know what they are?
Sorry, we posted together. Go to tools, then add-ons. They are programs others have written to carry out specific functions for firefox. Every time there is an upgrade, add-ons cause problems.

If you have add-ons, to the far right there will be a couple of buttons to enable and disable. You should disable each one, then close firefox, then open again. Then you can enable those that you really use.
__________________
MichaelB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 09:47 AM   #13
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Nodak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Cavalier
Posts: 2,317
3.6.8 is the latest version of FF. If you are using any add-ons try disabling them to see if that improves the situation. I've been using FF for years and the only time I've had any problems they were caused by add-ons.
__________________
"Don't take life so serious, son. It ain't nohow permanent." Pogo Possum (Walt Kelly)
Nodak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 09:56 AM   #14
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Rustic23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Lake Livingston, Tx
Posts: 3,624
Wahoo,
Nope, my fingers are behind. It is actually 3.6.8.

Orchidflower,
You might try clearing the cache before removing, and then make sure the Mozilla directories are deleted before reinstalling. Might not be a bad idea to also do a registry clean, I use Crap Cleaner, between removing and install
__________________
If it is after 5:00 when I post I reserve the right to disavow anything I posted.
Rustic23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 10:06 AM   #15
Administrator
Janet H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Pacific NW
Posts: 4,954
I have the same issue with the latest version. Try Chrome - it's FAST.
__________________
E-R.org Custom Google Search | You're only given a little spark of madness. You mustn't lose it. (Robin Williams)
Janet H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 10:07 AM   #16
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 3,323
Yes, I did have about 5 add-ons, so I disabled all of them and voila! My Firefox is working okay again. Lesson learned and thank all you kind folks for your assistance...whew. I'm the person the computer repair man just dreams about walking in his door I'm sure...one less for the computer repair guy today!!!
__________________
Please consider adopting a rescue animal. So very many need a furr-ever home and someone to love them! And if we all spay/neuter our pets there won't be an overpopulation to put to death.
Orchidflower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 10:08 AM   #17
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
REWahoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Texas Hill Country
Posts: 42,077
Quote:
Originally Posted by Janet H View Post
I have the same issue with the latest version. Try Chrome - it's FAST.
Orchid, you can download the Chrome browser here: Google Chrome

Might be a quick solution to your problem and a much better alternative than reverting to Explorer.
__________________
Numbers is hard

When I hit 70, it hit back

Retired in 2005 at age 58, no pension
REWahoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 10:36 AM   #18
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 3,323
Annnnnnnd, thank you for that as I was just going to download Chrome!

Firefox working just great now...I never would have even thought of add-ons hanging up the entire program. Who knew?
__________________
Please consider adopting a rescue animal. So very many need a furr-ever home and someone to love them! And if we all spay/neuter our pets there won't be an overpopulation to put to death.
Orchidflower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 10:55 AM   #19
Moderator
MichaelB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Rocky Inlets
Posts: 24,424
Quote:
Originally Posted by Orchidflower View Post
Annnnnnnd, thank you for that as I was just going to download Chrome!

Firefox working just great now...I never would have even thought of add-ons hanging up the entire program. Who knew?
Glad FF is up and running. Go figure on the add-ons. I picked this up at a firefox help forum. Unfortunately, FF has had it's share of issues and them some over the past year.

Folks running FF might want to take a look at -tools - options - advanced - then open the update tab just ot make sure firefox isn't doing automatic updates.
__________________
MichaelB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 02:33 PM   #20
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 3,323
Quote:
Originally Posted by MichaelB View Post
Glad FF is up and running. Go figure on the add-ons. I picked this up at a firefox help forum. Unfortunately, FF has had it's share of issues and them some over the past year.

Folks running FF might want to take a look at -tools - options - advanced - then open the update tab just ot make sure firefox isn't doing automatic updates.

MichaelB: You don't want Firefox doing automatic updates??
__________________

__________________
Please consider adopting a rescue animal. So very many need a furr-ever home and someone to love them! And if we all spay/neuter our pets there won't be an overpopulation to put to death.
Orchidflower is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Taco & Adblock for Firefox dex Other topics 4 07-07-2010 01:55 PM
Need help: Can't log in to Firefox Achiever51 Other topics 9 09-27-2009 10:31 AM
Firefox 3.0 Danny Other topics 26 06-21-2008 08:16 AM
XP/Firefox/early-retire problem Khan Other topics 7 04-15-2008 03:09 PM
mozilla problem? tightasadrum Forum Admin 4 03-27-2008 05:15 AM

 

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:08 PM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.