Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Problems with Resume from Standby
Old 12-16-2006, 04:25 PM   #1
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
TromboneAl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 11,198
Problems with Resume from Standby

I have one remaining problem with my new laptop (Dell E1505):

About 20% of the time, when I resume from standby, the fan comes on and stays on, and the computer is exceedingly slow until I reboot.

Standby is great because the compute can sit there and take only 1-2 watts and yet be available almost instantly. I've googled newsgroups and haven't had any luck yet.

Anyone have any thoughts on this?

Thanks,
__________________

__________________
Al
TromboneAl is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Re: Problems with Resume from Standby
Old 12-16-2006, 04:37 PM   #2
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8,619
Re: Problems with Resume from Standby

Check the Dell web site to see if you need to update any of the software, BIOS, etc.
__________________

__________________
LOL! is offline   Reply With Quote
Re: Problems with Resume from Standby
Old 12-16-2006, 04:57 PM   #3
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,119
Re: Problems with Resume from Standby

You did buy a retooled model no??

I always am concerned with those types.

I had that issue with an old emachine laptop, I tried all kinds of things it was just slow.

Fan ran forever.

Get Dell on the phone and if you still have trouble get them to replace with a new machine and send that bad boy back!
__________________
newguy88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Re: Problems with Resume from Standby
Old 12-17-2006, 12:44 AM   #4
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
wabmester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 4,459
Re: Problems with Resume from Standby

Quote:
Originally Posted by TromboneAl
About 20% of the time, when I resume from standby, the fan comes on and stays on, and the computer is exceedingly slow until I reboot.
Generally, the fan will come on because the CPU is running hot, which means some task is stuck in a loop. Take a look at task manager when it happens to identify the stuck task, and then kill it.
__________________
wabmester is offline   Reply With Quote
Re: Problems with Resume from Standby
Old 12-17-2006, 04:14 AM   #5
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
ladelfina's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2,713
Re: Problems with Resume from Standby

Al.. I read this as "résumé".. and though you might be looking for w*rk!!

Whew!

(I don't know anything about PCs -I'm a mac person-but wab's assessment seems sound.. it's chewing on something.)
__________________
ladelfina is offline   Reply With Quote
Re: Problems with Resume from Standby
Old 12-17-2006, 05:20 PM   #6
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
TromboneAl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 11,198
Re: Problems with Resume from Standby

It's the System Idle Process that's using the most cycles, and the CPU is usage is low (under 10%). The room was about 60 degrees this morning when it happened.
__________________
Al
TromboneAl is offline   Reply With Quote
Re: Problems with Resume from Standby
Old 12-26-2006, 11:19 AM   #7
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
TromboneAl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 11,198
Re: Problems with Resume from Standby

To update you, in case anyone has a related problem, I seem to have fixed this. Updating the BIOS and setting a resume-related BIOS setting back to default did the trick. Thanks for your help.

__________________
Al
TromboneAl is offline   Reply With Quote
Re: Problems with Resume from Standby
Old 12-27-2006, 07:41 AM   #8
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8,619
Re: Problems with Resume from Standby

Congratulations O Enlightened One! As someone who has successfully updated their BIOS, you are now qualified required to answer all computer-related questions posted in this forum. With just 3 more correct answers, you can move to the next level: CFO at Dell.
__________________

__________________
LOL! is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
msn problems virginia Other topics 5 06-22-2006 01:01 PM
hard drive problems - reinstalling windows xp justin Other topics 19 04-11-2006 09:19 AM
Credit Card and IRS Problems REWahoo FIRE and Money 14 04-07-2006 09:10 AM
Contractor problems...what would you do? cute fuzzy bunny Other topics 17 05-23-2004 09:19 AM

 

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:35 AM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.