Join Early Retirement Today

Proud to be a Hokie
Old 04-18-2007, 02:41 PM   #1
Recycles dryer sheets

Proud to be a Hokie

The tragic events of Monday have effected my family in a very personal way. Thankfully my daughter had no Monday classes and stayed hunkered down in her apartment off-campus during the mayhem. I will be proud to see her graduate summa-cum-laude from the Virginia Tech, Pamplin School of Business on May 12. Just like her old man, she has immensely enjoyed her time at Virginia Tech. She spent her freshman year in the very dormitory where the first shootings took place. As a civil engineer, I spent most of my class time in Norris Hall. I can easily visualize the classrooms on the second floor. My daughter's circle of friends at Tech included several students who attended the same high school as the perpetrator. It is quite erie (and disconcerting) to see the random connections that exist between my family's experiences and this historic and heinous occurrence. Several of my daughters friends will be interviewed on WTTG Channel 5 at 5:00 pm. today, viewable in the DC area. Another will appear on ABC Worldnews Tonight at 6:30 or thereabouts.

I am greatly impressed (but not surprised) to see how well the Virginia Tech community has handled itself throughout this incredible event. Virginia Tech is a great school and a class act.

Even though only tangentially effected, the pain is still difficult to bear. I can only imagine what it must be like for the parents who lost their children to the acts of this madman.
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!