Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Question on my Cat5 Cabling......................
Old 05-08-2006, 07:25 PM   #1
 
Posts: n/a
Question on my Cat5 Cabling......................

When I built my house I had Cat5 wiring installed throughout the house. When I was hooking up my Router and switch in the basement, I was looking at all the wiring. Each wire was labled "Master Bedroom", "Den", "basement" etc. etc. - I came across one wire that was labled "Feed". Does anyone know what this would be hooked to?

I have "feed" also marked on my Coax cable, but that is for Cable TV and I understand that one. But what could possibly be hooked to the other end of "feed" of my "cat5" Cable?
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Re: Question on my Cat5 Cabling......................
Old 05-08-2006, 08:24 PM   #2
Full time employment: Posting here.
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 784
Re: Question on my Cat5 Cabling......................

No, it just wants a bite of your sandwich.
__________________

__________________
Cool Dood is offline   Reply With Quote
Re: Question on my Cat5 Cabling......................
Old 05-08-2006, 08:36 PM   #3
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
maddythebeagle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 2,450
Re: Question on my Cat5 Cabling......................

boy, for a guy that likes to itch for a fight on immigration, you sure do expect the rest of us to help you out a lot on computer and cable wiring questions.
__________________
- Hurry! to the cliffs of insanity!
maddythebeagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Re: Question on my Cat5 Cabling......................
Old 05-08-2006, 08:49 PM   #4
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Question on my Cat5 Cabling......................

Quote:
Originally Posted by Maddy the Turbo Beagle
boy, for a guy that likes to itch for a fight on immigration, you sure do expect the rest of us to help you out a lot on computer and cable wiring questions.
No, just the ones that agree with me. 8)
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Re: Question on my Cat5 Cabling......................
Old 05-08-2006, 09:06 PM   #5
Full time employment: Posting here.
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 699
Re: Question on my Cat5 Cabling......................

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cut-Throat
When I built my house I had Cat5 wiring installed throughout the house. When I was hooking up my Router and switch in the basement, I was looking at all the wiring. Each wire was labled "Master Bedroom", "Den", "basement" etc. etc. - I came across one wire that was labled "Feed". Does anyone know what this would be hooked to?

I have "feed" also marked on my Coax cable, but that is for Cable TV and I understand that one. But what could possibly be hooked to the other end of "feed" of my "cat5" Cable?
Maybe the same guys wired your house as wired mine. We have a LAN cable going from our central distribution panel to the outside of the house, where the phone comes in. Since our ADSL modem is inside the house, the other end of this cable is just dangling in the breeze. I guess they ran it "just in case."

Bpp
__________________
bpp is offline   Reply With Quote
Re: Question on my Cat5 Cabling......................
Old 05-08-2006, 09:40 PM   #6
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
BigMoneyJim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: DFW
Posts: 2,627
Re: Question on my Cat5 Cabling......................

"Feed" will be the line from the phone company. It's the source of your phone and DSL. (I presume.) It probably runs to a phone company box (the "demarc" or "demarcation point"...the phone company is responsible up to there...beyond that you are) outside your house. IOW, "FEED" is "IN", the rest are various "OUT"s. In an older house all the jack cables would begin at the demarc and then go from jack to jack.

That long blue/white pair winding in and out of your 66 block is a bus spreading the feed to your station runs (cat 5 cables to bedroom, kitchen, etc). We cheated a little bit and teed off from that bus with bridge clips to feed your dsl line. (Actually there's nothing technically wrong with it; it's just an inconsistent type of hookup within your block.)

BTW, illegal aliens could have provided this info to you much more cheaply while still contributing to the economy via consumption and encouraging growth.

EDIT: LOL, these context-sensitive ads can be sharp sometimes. This is an ER forum, but the ad at the bottom of this thread was "Great Cables", a cabling company.
__________________
BigMoneyJim is offline   Reply With Quote
Re: Question on my Cat5 Cabling......................
Old 05-09-2006, 10:06 AM   #7
Full time employment: Posting here.
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 784
Re: Question on my Cat5 Cabling......................

The demarc could also be inside your home, depending on what people have done and re-done to your wiring...
__________________
Cool Dood is offline   Reply With Quote
Re: Question on my Cat5 Cabling......................
Old 05-09-2006, 12:49 PM   #8
 
Posts: n/a
Re: Question on my Cat5 Cabling......................

Quote:
Originally Posted by bpp
Maybe the same guys wired your house as wired mine. We have a LAN cable going from our central distribution panel to the outside of the house, where the phone comes in. Since our ADSL modem is inside the house, the other end of this cable is just dangling in the breeze. I guess they ran it "just in case."

Bpp
I'm guessing this is the case with me also. I opened up my 'Telephone Network Interface' Box on the outside of my house and there was a Cat5 Cable just dangling there. I'm guessing that this is the other end of the cable marked 'feed'. Some Day, I might think of a use for it.

Thanks!
__________________
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to answer questions. ???With a question or assignment????? dex Forum Admin 2 02-25-2007 08:56 AM
Question About Friend's Expectation For His Widow's SS Benefit haha FIRE and Money 14 12-17-2006 10:35 PM
(yet another) FIRECalc Question Gone4Good FIRE and Money 0 02-22-2006 06:49 PM
Tax question re moving $$ from one bucket the next. tednvon FIRE and Money 9 10-10-2005 08:57 AM

 

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:54 PM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.