Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Quick Windows 8.1 Questions
Old 05-13-2014, 07:15 PM   #1
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
TromboneAl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 11,199
Quick Windows 8.1 Questions

I know I should search for a windows 8.1 forum and ask there, but these are easy questions, and I'm tired of joining new forums. Perhaps others have some questions as well.

On the apps page I want to see ALL my apps sorted alphabetically. All of them. But even when I choose "Apps By Name" many are put in categories:



So why isn't, for example, the "Kindle Previewer" under "K," and how can I put it there?

Thanks,
__________________

__________________
Al
TromboneAl is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-13-2014, 08:54 PM   #2
Full time employment: Posting here.
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 575
Move the bottom bar to the left to show your missing apps.
__________________

__________________
KingB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2014, 10:21 PM   #3
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 1,878
It's another poorly implemented feature. You are looking at the "all apps" view which is akin to "all programs" in previous versions. It doesn't show folders but your kindle app is basically in a folder. In the previous version "all programs" list program links first, then folders when sorted by name. This is doing the same thing ( not as obvious ).

"C:\programdata\microsoft\windows\startmenu\prgram s" is where it all is stored
__________________
rbmrtn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2014, 05:13 AM   #4
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
bUU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Georgia
Posts: 1,914
If I already know the name of what I'm looking for, I just type it in.
__________________
bUU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2014, 08:01 AM   #5
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
Midpack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 11,978
Quote:
Originally Posted by KingB View Post
Move the bottom bar to the left to show your missing apps.
If using a mouse, you can also use your scroll wheel instead of the slider if you like. Seems faster to me.
__________________
No one agrees with other people's opinions; they merely agree with their own opinions -- expressed by somebody else. Sydney Tremayne
Retired Jun 2011 at age 57

Target AA: 60% equity funds / 35% bond funds / 5% cash
Target WR: Approx 2.5% Approx 20% SI (secure income, SS only)
Midpack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2014, 08:10 AM   #6
Full time employment: Posting here.
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 575
Quote:
Originally Posted by Midpack View Post
If using a mouse, you can also use your scroll wheel instead of the slider if you like. Seems faster to me.
And since he has touchscreen, he can also use it to scroll the page.
__________________
KingB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2014, 08:20 AM   #7
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
TromboneAl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 11,199
Note that scrolling doesn't help. The issue is that since not all of the apps are alphabetized by name, you can't find "Kindle Previewer" by scrolling to the "K"s.

Quote:
It doesn't show folders but your kindle app is basically in a folder. In the previous version "all programs" list program links first, then folders when sorted by name. This is doing the same thing ( not as obvious ).
Yes, but in XP, I could simply drag an item out of a folder and into the list of non-foldered items. I had control. That doesn't work here. I guess I'll have to play around in that program data folder if I want to get all apps in one list.
__________________
Al
TromboneAl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2014, 08:28 AM   #8
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 1,878
Quote:
Originally Posted by TromboneAl View Post
Note that scrolling doesn't help. The issue is that since not all of the apps are alphabetized by name, you can't find "Kindle Previewer" by scrolling to the "K"s.



Yes, but in XP, I could simply drag an item out of a folder and into the list of non-foldered items. I guess I'll have to play around in that program data folder.
Yep, it seems that manipulating things directly from the "apps view" is not available. Manually do what you want in the folder, you can put a shortcut to your kindle app in the folder and then it should show in the "apps view".

And with 8.1 you can go back to a normal desktop where the drag-n-drop still works and bypass the tiles/apps interface
__________________
rbmrtn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2014, 08:37 AM   #9
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
TromboneAl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 11,199
Here's a funny thing.

Note in the screenshot above that the apps are alphabetized column-wise. That is, you go down the first column then on to the next.

Check out the alphabetization in the control panel (with small icons chosen):



It's row-wise.

How does that happen? Did Microsoft not notice? Did they think it was a good idea? I know it's not a good idea, because there are many posts in forums from users complaining that the icons are not in alphabetical order--they don't realize that it's alphabetized row-wise.
__________________
Al
TromboneAl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2014, 08:44 AM   #10
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 1,878
Quote:
Originally Posted by TromboneAl View Post
It's row-wise.

How does that happen? Did Microsoft not notice? Did they think it was a good idea? I know it's not a good idea, because there are many posts in forums from users complaining that the icons are not in alphabetical order--they don't realize that it's alphabetized row-wise.
That's been that way for a while, since vista, for the control panel view you posted.
__________________
rbmrtn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2014, 08:53 AM   #11
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
TromboneAl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 11,199
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbmrtn View Post
That's been that way for a while, since vista, for the control panel view you posted.
Interesting. So they must think it's a good idea. Can you think of any advantage of having it like that?
__________________
Al
TromboneAl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2014, 09:19 AM   #12
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northern IL
Posts: 18,288
Quote:
Originally Posted by TromboneAl View Post
Interesting. So they must think it's a good idea. Can you think of any advantage of having it like that?
Worst thing is that it is inconsistent.

Personally, I prefer the column order. I find it much harder to scan a row with 3-4 entries and then down and to the right again. A long vertical list just seems so much easier to scan. Plus, it isn't immediately obvious which is which, as a row alpha is also a column alpha.

This is making some of my nit-picking of changes going from Xubuntu 12.04 to Xubuntu 14.04 seem very trivial. The best part is, I've found the configuration settings to change most of my issues - and one minor one, which I've 80% 'fixed' requires a mod and recompile of the app (simple cut/paste instructions will do it, I don't really have to know much of anything tech-y to do it). I probably won't bother, but it's nice to know I have the option.

-ERD50
__________________
ERD50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2014, 09:31 AM   #13
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Mississippi
Posts: 1,878
Quote:
Originally Posted by TromboneAl View Post
Interesting. So they must think it's a good idea. Can you think of any advantage of having it like that?
I wouldn't go as far as saying they "thought it was a good idea", they may not have even thought about it. But I suppose most people read things across a page and not up and down, my guess. Actually I think that display goes all the way back to NT.

Here's a Win 3.1 control panel

http://toastytech.com/guis/win31control1.png

And NT control panel

http://toastytech.com/guis/nt4control.gif
__________________
rbmrtn is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2014, 04:58 PM   #14
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
TromboneAl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 11,199
Quote:
Originally Posted by rbmrtn View Post
I wouldn't go as far as saying they "thought it was a good idea", they may not have even thought about it.
Well, that's what gets me. They've had 14 years to think about it.

Here's another example: Knowing what version of software you have is often crucial. There's never been a good way to ask your windows software what version it is. With 8.1, you type winver, and when you do that, this is what you get:



Which tells me that I have either Windows 8 or Windows 6.3. Or, maybe, if I go by the trademark notice, I have Windows 8.1.

So, no one at Microsoft ever thought about this? No one looked at the dialog and said, "Well, gee, that's confusing."
__________________
Al
TromboneAl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2014, 05:30 PM   #15
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
target2019's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3,709
Quote:
Originally Posted by TromboneAl View Post
Well, that's what gets me. They've had 14 years to think about it.

Here's another example: Knowing what version of software you have is often crucial. There's never been a good way to ask your windows software what version it is. With 8.1, you type winver, and when you do that, this is what you get:

snip

Which tells me that I have either Windows 8 or Windows 6.3. Or, maybe, if I go by the trademark notice, I have Windows 8.1.

So, no one at Microsoft ever thought about this? No one looked at the dialog and said, "Well, gee, that's confusing."
Uh, I have your email now, Al. Did you intend that?
__________________
target2019 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2014, 07:00 PM   #16
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
TromboneAl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 11,199
Quote:
Originally Posted by target2019 View Post
Uh, I have your email now, Al. Did you intend that?
Didn't intend that, thanks. I fixed the image.
__________________
Al
TromboneAl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2014, 07:42 PM   #17
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northern IL
Posts: 18,288
Quote:
Originally Posted by TromboneAl View Post
Well, that's what gets me. They've had 14 years to think about it.

Here's another example: Knowing what version of software you have is often crucial. There's never been a good way to ask your windows software what version it is. With 8.1, you type winver, and when you do that, this is what you get: ....

Which tells me that I have either Windows 8 or Windows 6.3. Or, maybe, if I go by the trademark notice, I have Windows 8.1.

So, no one at Microsoft ever thought about this? No one looked at the dialog and said, "Well, gee, that's confusing."
Yep, stuff like that just amazes me. In so many ways, technology is so fantastic, but then the ball is dropped in ways that a 3rd grader could recognize. Somebody had to put that together, others had to approve it. How can it happen? These aren't amateurs.

Apple has it's own set of 'what were (weren't?) they thinking?' issues. And like I mentioned earlier about my Xubuntu upgrade - the simple application menu system was updated, and seems several steps backwards to me. I was able to install the old style, but it seems to have some conflicts and is a bit flaky. I'll get it straightened out, but...what were they thinking?

-ERD50
__________________
ERD50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2014, 08:24 PM   #18
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Kerrville,Tx
Posts: 2,725
Quote:
Originally Posted by TromboneAl View Post
Well, that's what gets me. They've had 14 years to think about it.

Here's another example: Knowing what version of software you have is often crucial. There's never been a good way to ask your windows software what version it is. With 8.1, you type winver, and when you do that, this is what you get:



Which tells me that I have either Windows 8 or Windows 6.3. Or, maybe, if I go by the trademark notice, I have Windows 8.1.

So, no one at Microsoft ever thought about this? No one looked at the dialog and said, "Well, gee, that's confusing."
Note that windows 8 is version 6.2 build 9200. that is the official version, all other naming like Windows 8 and windows 8.1 is marketing speak. Here is a link to a page at microsoft that translates between the marketing speak and the version numbers: Operating System Version (Windows)
Note that windows 7 is version 6.1 at build 7600 or 7601 if sp1, and windows xp is build 2600. version 5.x Windows Vista was the first version 6.0 system.
__________________
meierlde is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2014, 08:43 PM   #19
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
TromboneAl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 11,199
Quote:
Originally Posted by ERD50 View Post
Yep, stuff like that just amazes me. In so many ways, technology is so fantastic, but then the ball is dropped in ways that a 3rd grader could recognize. Somebody had to put that together, others had to approve it. How can it happen? These aren't amateurs.
I usually attribute it to three causes:

1. Design by committee.

2. Young phenoms that are too clever for their (and our) good.

3. That guy in high school who was charismatic, but dumb and never studied.

Still, I don't understand how these things get through.

Another problem is people who are too tolerant of complexity. We needed someone who would look at the registry and all the DLLs and different drivers, and say "Hold on, this is too complicated. Let's go back to the old DOS system of putting everything in one directory with INI files for settings. As an example, below is what Corel told me to do to get Paint Shop Pro working on Win 8.1.

I. DELETE PROGRAM FILE FOLDERS

Browse to the following folder:
C:\Program Files (x86)\Corel
Delete the Corel Paintshop Pro X6 folder

C:\Program Files\Corel
Delete the Corel Paintshop Pro X6(64-bit) folder

Press and hold the Windows key on your keyboard and click on the letter R to open the Run prompt, type "%programdata%". Click OK. Browse to Corel, delete PaintShop Pro X6.

Press and hold the Windows key on your keyboard and click on the letter R to open the Run prompt, type "%appdata%". Click OK. This will open the "Appdata\Roaming" folder, so go back up on one folder and choose the folder named "Local" instead. Open the Corel PaintShop Pro folder and delete the 16.0 folder.


II. CREATE A BACK-UP OF THE REGISTRY
1. Press and hold the Windows key on your keyboard and click on the letter R to open the Run prompt, type "regedit" on the Open box.
2. On the Registry Editor window, click File > Export.
3. Type "reg_backup <date>" as the file name. Make sure that the save as type is set to "Registration Files (*.reg)".
4. Click Save.

Proceed to the following steps once saving is finished.


III. DELETE REGISTRY ENTRIES

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE
1. Open the HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE folder and browse to Software. Locate and open the Corel folder then delete the following folders:
- PaintShop Merge > 16.0
- PaintShop Pro > 16.0
- PCU > Licenses > 540214299
- PCU > Licenses > 540218329

2. Open the HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE folder and browse to Software. Look for Microsoft > Windows > CurrentVersion > Installer > UserData > S-1-5-18 > Products. Locate and delete the following folders:
- 1E43D46117200694A8628E99A003D21B
- 1EE600617BDDF5E46869F9FE230C51A1
- 43328561C594C1F46AB6B3DF88666B47
- 6BC1D661A8DDDD04E952D4132D6DEDD4
- 6D2DB26136C67A141815398148053DA6
- A2B64361CB78C704D9B6274A2DA1FB30
- C68F8761D988891428944F26058552B6
- E26BA1616D565E643B8DA21CD5B329B0
- EFEE0228DC83E77358593193D847A0EC

3. Open the HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE folder and browse to Software > Wow6432Node. Locate and open the Corel folder then delete the following folders:
- PaintShop Merge > X6
- PaintShop Pro > X6
- PCU > Licenses > 540214299
- PCU > Licenses > 540218329


HKEY_CURRENT_USER
Open the HKEY_CURRENT_USER folder and browse to Software. Locate and open the Corel folder then delete the following folders:
- Global > Paint Shop Pro X6
- PaintShop Merge > X6
- PaintShop Pro > X6


HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT
Open the HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT folder and browse to Installer. Open the Products folder and delete the following folders:
- 1E43D46117200694A8628E99A003D21B
- 1EE600617BDDF5E46869F9FE230C51A1
- 43328561C594C1F46AB6B3DF88666B47
- 6BC1D661A8DDDD04E952D4132D6DEDD4
- 6D2DB26136C67A141815398148053DA6
- A2B64361CB78C704D9B6274A2DA1FB30
- C68F8761D988891428944F26058552B6
- E26BA1616D565E643B8DA21CD5B329B0
- EFEE0228DC83E77358593193D847A0EC
__________________
Al
TromboneAl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2014, 04:45 AM   #20
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
bUU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Georgia
Posts: 1,914
Quote:
Originally Posted by TromboneAl View Post
Still, I don't understand how these things get through.
As others have alluded to, they're not "getting through". They're highly integral business decisions, and reflections of what are higher priorities than the imperatives you would rate highly. In the United States, sales and marketing have overwhelming primacy on product packaging. As much as some of these things disturb you, there is no reason to believe that they adversely affect what's important to sales and marketing more than the positive affect they yield from the execution of their plans which work against your preferences.

Quote:
Originally Posted by TromboneAl View Post
Another problem is people who are too tolerant of complexity. We needed someone who would look at the registry and all the DLLs and different drivers, and say "Hold on, this is too complicated. Let's go back to the old DOS system of putting everything in one directory with INI files for settings.
Because you know so much about operating systems as to know that that will perform and scale as well as the Windows Registry? Really? You're basically advocating for a crappy, slow operating system, impossible to manage in the enterprise. Sorry - no sale.
__________________

__________________
bUU is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Aluminum frame vs "vinyl frame" windows gwix98 Other topics 12 08-28-2006 02:37 PM
Need a Windows XP network guru............... Cut-Throat Other topics 13 05-01-2006 01:11 PM
hard drive problems - reinstalling windows xp justin Other topics 19 04-11-2006 09:19 AM
Windows: Add/Remove Programs cube_rat Other topics 2 04-09-2006 07:46 PM
Harleys & Double Paned Windows cube_rat Other topics 13 11-30-2005 07:52 PM

 

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:40 PM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.