Join Early Retirement Today

Rant: Everyone has their hand out...
Old 11-12-2005, 02:11 PM   #1
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post

Rant: Everyone has their hand out...

As I go through my day, I feel that my wallet is perpetually open and everyone either has their hand out, or those who don't want to wait, reach right into my pocket for money. Whether it's the car mechanic, the grocery store, the dry cleaners, the allegedly "cheap" restaurant, etc... they all seem to be pushing for more and more of my money, while delivering less quality in their products or services than they previously did. The days of feeling like I received a "fair" price are few and far between. While this may be a function of the area in which I currently live, or the American economy, it's still an annoying and increasingly expensive experience.

As someone who could easily charge $250+ an hour for my time as a private practice attorney, I could certainly "return the favor". Thus, while everyone else squeezes me on their turf, I could squeeze them especially hard when they need my services (either as an upfront retainer or through a large bill). However, I'm more interested in getting back to the concept of being fair. Unfortunately, and people on this board are likely to confirm, business can't (or won't) go backwards when it comes to what they charge. The businesses I frequent are confident that if I don't spend my hard-earned dollars on their products or services, someone else will.

So what's the answer? Move to a cheaper area? Put up with it and pay?

He had one of those rare smiles with a quality of eternal reassurance in it . . . It faced, or seemed to face, the whole external world for an instant and then concentrated on you with an irresistible prejudice in your favor. -- The Great Gatsby, F. Scott Fitzgerald
Jay_Gatsby is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!