Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Rebuilding old battery charger
Old 05-17-2014, 01:22 PM   #1
Moderator Emeritus
aja8888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: The Woodlands, TX
Posts: 7,186
Rebuilding old battery charger

Well, I bought this charger so long ago I can't remember. It still works but the front gauge is broken (missing gauge face). I'd love to replace it but can't find an OEM one (ha ha).

I looked at Radio Shack online but I couldn't find any gauges. Maybe I looked at the wrong component sections?

Anyway, I want to have this old charger for continued use until someday the kids throw it out with all my other old tools.

Anyone have any ideas how to find a replacement gauge, OEM or otherwise? It's a:

Woodward-Schumacher Model WS86 (the front cover is also labelled Part 08-004-00003). Gauge housing has no part number or other ID. The unit is a 6 & 12 Volt charger (interior has a transformer tapped for both voltages operated by a slide switch on the front of the unit.)

Photos are unit, gauge housing front and back:





Thanks for all your help and suggestions.

Here is a sold unit I saw on ebay with a good gauge:

__________________

__________________
aja8888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 05-17-2014, 02:05 PM   #2
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 11,617
Ideas here, nothing solid:
- If you want something that looks similar, fits int he case, and has the same range, I'd probably search using Bing's "images" function to see pictures of ammeters. You can then click on the image and backtrack to the web site it came from.
- If all you want is the functionality, maybe it would be better to just put a clamp-on DC ammeter over the leads when you are using it--then you'd have the ammeter to use on other projects elsewhere.
__________________

__________________
"Freedom begins when you tell Mrs. Grundy to go fly a kite." - R. Heinlein
samclem is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2014, 02:25 PM   #3
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
travelover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9,906
If you search for "tractor ammeters" on eBay you'll lots of round ones in the range you need. An alternative is to buy a digital ammeter and shunt on eBay.
__________________
Yes, I have achieved work / life balance.
travelover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2014, 02:32 PM   #4
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northern IL
Posts: 18,299
Here's one on ebay - $5, free shipping.

1×DC 10A Analog Panel Amp Current Meter Ammeter Gauge 85C1 White 0 10A DC | eBay

You'll need to figure out what fits, but there should be lots of options on the webs.

I assume that the meter is measuring current directly, no shunt? That is, the wire path going to the battery goes directly through (in one terminal, out the other) the meter? So when it says '8 AMPS' there is 8 Amps going through the meter, not some voltage being read across a shunt?

If so, then any DC meter in the 8 A range should work.

As an alternative, I think you should put a modern digital meter in there, that would be a cool retro-modern mash-up, kind of like 'steam-punk'.


BTW, I 'inherited' one like that from FIL when they moved. I just looked, it is labelled "ALLSTATE" " SOLD only by SEARS, ROEBUCK, and CO.,". The ammeter on it has on of those symbols that looks like it came from the original Nuclear Regulatory Agency - looks like an atom with electrons orbiting it. Pretty cool.

-ERD50
__________________
ERD50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2014, 03:01 PM   #5
Moderator Emeritus
aja8888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: The Woodlands, TX
Posts: 7,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by ERD50 View Post
Here's one on ebay - $5, free shipping.

1×DC 10A Analog Panel Amp Current Meter Ammeter Gauge 85C1 White 0 10A DC | eBay

You'll need to figure out what fits, but there should be lots of options on the webs.

I assume that the meter is measuring current directly, no shunt? That is, the wire path going to the battery goes directly through (in one terminal, out the other) the meter? So when it says '8 AMPS' there is 8 Amps going through the meter, not some voltage being read across a shunt?

If so, then any DC meter in the 8 A range should work.

As an alternative, I think you should put a modern digital meter in there, that would be a cool retro-modern mash-up, kind of like 'steam-punk'.


BTW, I 'inherited' one like that from FIL when they moved. I just looked, it is labelled "ALLSTATE" " SOLD only by SEARS, ROEBUCK, and CO.,". The ammeter on it has on of those symbols that looks like it came from the original Nuclear Regulatory Agency - looks like an atom with electrons orbiting it. Pretty cool.

-ERD50
Yes, no shunt as one wire off the meter terminal goes directly to the battery. The meter diameter is 2".

I believe I did buy that from Sears a long time ago as that's where many of us DIY car guys bought tools, etc. I have a 4 HP 20 gallon Sears compressor that I bought in the 1970's that still works like a champ and puts out 7.3 SCFM @ 90 PSI (230V motor). And I have all my old Craftsman (USA made) sockets.
__________________
aja8888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2014, 03:12 PM   #6
Moderator Emeritus
aja8888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: The Woodlands, TX
Posts: 7,186
I suppose this one would work? About the right size and Amazon Prime! (no shipping from China).

Amazon.com: 85C1 DC 0-10A Rectangle Analog Panel Ammeter Gauge: Automotive
__________________
aja8888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2014, 03:38 PM   #7
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
travelover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9,906
Quote:
Originally Posted by aja8888 View Post
I suppose this one would work? About the right size and Amazon Prime! (no shipping from China).

Amazon.com: 85C1 DC 0-10A Rectangle Analog Panel Ammeter Gauge: Automotive
That looks like a good choice.
__________________
Yes, I have achieved work / life balance.
travelover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2014, 03:53 PM   #8
Moderator Emeritus
aja8888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: The Woodlands, TX
Posts: 7,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by travelover View Post
That looks like a good choice.
Just ordered it off Amazon, free shipping and no sales tax. How can they do that?

Thanks for the help, folks!
__________________
aja8888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2014, 07:36 PM   #9
Moderator
Walt34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Eastern WV Panhandle
Posts: 16,579
That's why I often refer to this forum to DW as "The Well of Knowledge". Somebody, somewhere, on this forum has dealt with almost every issue imaginable.
__________________
I heard the call to do nothing. So I answered it.
Walt34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2014, 10:01 PM   #10
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
grasshopper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,671
I may have a gauge on a unit that I burned up, out in the barn.
__________________
For me experiences are not good or bad, just different
grasshopper is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2014, 10:24 PM   #11
Moderator Emeritus
aja8888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: The Woodlands, TX
Posts: 7,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by grasshopper View Post
I may have a gauge on a unit that I burned up, out in the barn.
Let me know if you have one. OE would be nice.
__________________
aja8888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2014, 12:25 AM   #12
gone traveling
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 153
Why?
__________________
LongPrime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2014, 12:58 AM   #13
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,929
Quote:
Originally Posted by LongPrime View Post
Why?
It's what we do.

FIRE: Spending the day doing whatever we want to do, not what someone else thinks we should do!
__________________
M Paquette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2014, 07:27 PM   #14
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
grasshopper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,671
Quote:
Originally Posted by aja8888 View Post
Let me know if you have one. OE would be nice.


Sent from my Nexus 7 using Early Retirement Forum mobile app
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 1400545669434.jpg (84.6 KB, 7 views)
__________________
For me experiences are not good or bad, just different
grasshopper is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2014, 07:37 PM   #15
Moderator Emeritus
aja8888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: The Woodlands, TX
Posts: 7,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by grasshopper View Post
Sent from my Nexus 7 using Early Retirement Forum mobile app
That would work. Check your PM's.
__________________
aja8888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2014, 07:51 PM   #16
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Northern IL
Posts: 18,299
Quote:
Originally Posted by M Paquette View Post
... Spending the day doing whatever we want to do, not what someone else thinks we should do!
Some of the most beautiful words in the English language!

-ERD50
__________________
ERD50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2014, 08:10 PM   #17
gone traveling
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 153
I think I took a part a similar transformer styled charger. I seem to remembered that it had mica-selenium rectifiers and funny looking electrolytic capacitors. Forgot what I did with it - probably went up in smoke at the garbage incinerator.
__________________
LongPrime is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2014, 10:03 AM   #18
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
grasshopper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1,671
Quote:
Originally Posted by aja8888 View Post
That would work. Check your PM's.
Last call if you think this will work. David

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Early Retirement Forum mobile app
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 1400598176694.jpg (91.3 KB, 5 views)
File Type: jpg 1400598195397.jpg (88.3 KB, 6 views)
__________________
For me experiences are not good or bad, just different
grasshopper is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2014, 10:35 AM   #19
Moderator Emeritus
aja8888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: The Woodlands, TX
Posts: 7,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by grasshopper View Post
Last call if you think this will work. David

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Early Retirement Forum mobile app


David:

Now that I see the back and the tab arrangement, I think this will work but I will have to hack out a little bigger mounting hole for the face of the gauge. There is plenty of room inside the case for the sending unit as this one sits below the face while the old one is directly behind it. I'll give it a try.

Thanks,

Tony
__________________
aja8888 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2014, 02:44 PM   #20
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Telly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,448
I have that exact same 6 Amp Electromite charger!

It was given to me long ago when it was deemed to have zero value.
The ammeter was pegged one way or the other, don't remember which way, and would not move. It still charged. I took it apart and opened up the meter, freed it, and I think lubed it with a little oil. That was over 30 years ago. Still working fine.

Besides battery charging, I use it to test out power window motors and power lock actuators, both on and off vehicles.

The current flow through the meter is through the flat brass horizontal piece, and there is a small magnet on the meter movement. A crude and simple ammeter. But it is good enough to tell if a battery is charging or not, or if there is continuity through a motor.

I thought I had the last one on the planet, that was not underground
__________________

__________________
-- Telly, the D-I-Y guy --
Two fools dancing on the hands of time
Telly is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is there an AA battery charger that can do 16-24 at a time? thefed Other topics 34 01-20-2012 03:30 PM
Golf Cart Battery Charger Repair easysurfer Other topics 5 08-17-2011 05:26 AM
All charged up? Charger question Rich_by_the_Bay Other topics 3 05-20-2010 11:20 PM
15 minute battery charger for C and D size? Sam Other topics 17 01-24-2007 02:07 PM
Rebuilding New Orleans TromboneAl Other topics 29 10-28-2005 09:51 AM

 

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:00 AM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.