Join Early Retirement Today

Recommend a good book on "how cars work"
Old 04-23-2007, 05:40 PM   #1
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post

Recommend a good book on "how cars work"

I'm interested in learning more about how cars work. Eventually, I'd like to be able to troubleshoot/repair our cars for the most part. I'm an engineer, so I'm pretty familiar with all the theories and science behind what makes cars work (electricity/physics, thermodynamics, chemistry, mechanical engineering, etc).

Can anyone recommend a good book that will teach me about all the different parts of a car, how they interact with each other, things to look for when diagnosing car problems, the "why" behind all the recommended maintenance items, etc. Illustrations and examples would be great.

I've got our cars' chilton's manuals on reserve from the library for a little look-see (though I've heard mixed reviews about these books). I'm looking for something more general. Sort of like the Intelligent Investor, Four Pillars or Boglehead's Guide to investing if we're talking good one-stop investment books.

I remember my brother got a community college degree in "automotive technology" - I might like something like a community college textbook going over all the little details of a car, system by system, explaining how things work with examples and illustrations. Any ideas?
justin is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!