Join Early Retirement Today

Repair before Replace?
Old 07-20-2010, 02:47 PM   #1
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...

Repair before Replace?

So, since you've FIRE'd do you have a different mindset about buying stuff? I do as now when something breaks down, I think "can I fix it?" before deciding to just buy new to replace.

I sucessfully fixed a couple of things in the past few weeks. One, I have this solar flashlilght just that quit working. So, I took it apart and all it needed was a wire re-soldered. I'm not good with a soldering iron, but did get that to work (after about 5 tries ).

Yesterday, I was testing the 12v dc socket of my battery jumper but it didn't work. So I put some baking soda and tried cleaning the bit of corrosion I saw there. Didn't work. Next I was thinking of buying a replacement portable power station.

Something like either of these:

http://www.amazon.com/Duracell-DPP-3...d_sim_dbs_ol_3

http://www.amazon.com/JNC300XL-Jump-...9658993&sr=1-1

One last effort today, I bought a lemon, squeezed the juice into the socket to wash out the rust and ... Success!! A little patience, 48 cents for a lemon and now the thing works like new.
No need to replace at all.
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!