Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Rory's "provisional" on 15th at the Open?
Old 07-23-2017, 10:37 AM   #1
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
SecondCor521's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Boise
Posts: 3,498
Rory's "provisional" on 15th at the Open?

OK, I'm not sure what I'm missing here.

A little bit ago, Rory Mcilroy hit his tee shot left on 15. He and the crowd were unable to find the ball. According to the NBC announcer, he hit a "provisional" ball.

But it looked to me like he hit it from the area where the ball was lost in. How does that work?

I thought a provisional would be hitting a second ball from the tee, not from the area where the ball was presumed lost.

I also thought a provisional would be hitting the second ball before searching for the lost ball, not after. (This is sort of a nit.)

Finally, I don't understand where Rory would know where to drop the provisional ball in order to get a ball back in play.

He did this in full view of everyone, including the rules officials, so I'm sure I (and possibly the NBC announcer) are missing something. Anyone know what it is?
__________________

__________________
"At times the world can seem an unfriendly and sinister place, but believe us when we say there is much more good in it than bad. All you have to do is look hard enough, and what might seem to be a series of unfortunate events, may in fact be the first steps of a journey." Violet Baudelaire.
SecondCor521 is online now   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-23-2017, 01:06 PM   #2
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
RunningBum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 7,952
I didn't see it, but maybe he hit the second tee shot in the same general area, but found that one? How much did you actually see?
__________________

RunningBum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2017, 03:21 PM   #3
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
mickeyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: South Texas~29N/98W
Posts: 6,194
I recall hearing mention of a provisional ball, but do not recall much else.


I kinda liked Speith's scramble to get out of that mess on #13. Memorable 25 minutes.
__________________
Part-Owner of Texas

Outside of a dog, a book is man's best friend. Inside of a dog, it's too dark to read. Groucho Marx

In dire need of: faster horses, younger woman, older whiskey, more money.
mickeyd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2017, 03:25 PM   #4
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
Midpack's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: LKN
Posts: 13,718
Quote:
Originally Posted by mickeyd View Post
I recall hearing mention of a provisional ball, but do not recall much else.


I kinda liked Speith's scramble to get out of that mess on #13. Memorable 25 minutes.
Salvaging a bogey on #13 was good. Then going birdie-eagle-birdie-birdie-par to win, with several (very) long putts, was clutch. I like Kuchar and hope he wins a major but Speith had his afterburners on!

Didn't see the Rory lost ball/provisional, but with rules guys all over, I'm sure he was legit.
__________________
No one agrees with other people's opinions; they merely agree with their own opinions -- expressed by somebody else. Sydney Tremayne
Retired Jun 2011 at age 57

Target AA: 45% equity funds / 30% bond funds / 25% cash - radically changed Nov 2018
Target WR: Approx 2.5% Approx 20% SI (secure income, SS only)
Midpack is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2017, 05:12 PM   #5
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
pb4uski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Vermont & Sarasota, FL
Posts: 22,040
On Rory, I presume that he declared and hit a provisional ball from the tee after not knowing if his ball would be found and after searching for his original ball and not finding it he declared his original ball as lost and then played his provisional (which lied 3).... if so then that is fine.

However, if he had found his original ball and decided that it was unplayable then he could not chose to use his provisional, but would have to pick up his provisional, return to the tee and hit another ball and would be lying 3 (stroke and distance penalty for his lost ball).
__________________
If something cannot endure laughter.... it cannot endure.
Patience is the art of concealing your impatience.
Slow and steady wins the race.

Retired Jan 2012 at age 56...60/35/5 AA
pb4uski is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2017, 06:30 PM   #6
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
SecondCor521's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Boise
Posts: 3,498
Quote:
Originally Posted by RunningBum View Post
I didn't see it, but maybe he hit the second tee shot in the same general area, but found that one? How much did you actually see?
Ah, that's probably what happened.

All I saw was him and the crowd searching for his lost tee shot, the NBC announcer stating that nobody found his ball, and then hitting what the NBC announcer described as his provisional up to the general area of the green.

I did not see him hit his provisional tee shot, but he clearly could have done it before the TV storyline switched its focus to him. Since it's rare for those guys to hit provisionals anyway, and the "beginning" of the story from my perspective was searching for his original tee shot, and the NBC announcing crew sometimes making mistakes, and me rarely making any , I was confused.

And Spieth from 13 tee to 18 green...just wow.
__________________
"At times the world can seem an unfriendly and sinister place, but believe us when we say there is much more good in it than bad. All you have to do is look hard enough, and what might seem to be a series of unfortunate events, may in fact be the first steps of a journey." Violet Baudelaire.
SecondCor521 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2017, 07:58 PM   #7
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Jerry1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 2,376
Quote:
Originally Posted by SecondCor521 View Post
Since it's rare for those guys to hit provisionals anyway
Which is exactly why I think they should have showed the provisional hit. Give them a chance to discuss the rule and would have made more sense for the viewer. I like everyone saw that they just went to him and said, he's hitting his provisional ball.

Note to original poster - it was not in the same area. Might have been close, but the original went into an area of really long bushy grass.
Jerry1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2017, 04:35 AM   #8
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: warren
Posts: 400
Quote:
Originally Posted by pb4uski View Post
On Rory, I presume that he declared and hit a provisional ball from the tee after not knowing if his ball would be found and after searching for his original ball and not finding it he declared his original ball as lost and then played his provisional (which lied 3).... if so then that is fine.

However, if he had found his original ball and decided that it was unplayable then he could not chose to use his provisional, but would have to pick up his provisional, return to the tee and hit another ball and would be lying 3 (stroke and distance penalty for his lost ball).
If he found his first ball and deemed it unplayable why would he not take the penalty and drop it there? why would he go back to the tee? He obviously would not be able to play the provisional, but I see no reason he'd go back to the tee.
garyt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2017, 05:35 AM   #9
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
pb4uski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Vermont & Sarasota, FL
Posts: 22,040
You are right, he could opt to drop within 2 club lengths no closer to the hole or take straight back in a line from the pin the ball as far as he wants (like Spieth did on 13), or go back to the tee and take a stroke and distance penalty... I overlooked those first two options since I was focused on the provisional and wanted to make it clear that he could not opt to play the provisional if his original ball was unplayable... he could only play the provisional if his original ball was lost.
__________________
If something cannot endure laughter.... it cannot endure.
Patience is the art of concealing your impatience.
Slow and steady wins the race.

Retired Jan 2012 at age 56...60/35/5 AA
pb4uski is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2017, 06:25 AM   #10
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2,409
Quote:
Originally Posted by mickeyd View Post
I kinda liked Speith's scramble to get out of that mess on #13. Memorable 25 minutes.
Glad I didn't spend 25 minutes of my life on a golf shot.
gerntz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2017, 06:32 AM   #11
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
RunningBum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 7,952
Quote:
Originally Posted by gerntz View Post
Glad I didn't spend 25 minutes of my life on a golf shot.
The difference between 1st and 2nd at the British open is nearly $800K. The endorsement deals for winning will dwarf that. Money not important? The pride of winning certainly is to a pro athlete. I'd say it was very worth while.
RunningBum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2017, 06:33 AM   #12
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
pb4uski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Vermont & Sarasota, FL
Posts: 22,040
+1 Twice in two days... what in the world is going on here?
__________________
If something cannot endure laughter.... it cannot endure.
Patience is the art of concealing your impatience.
Slow and steady wins the race.

Retired Jan 2012 at age 56...60/35/5 AA
pb4uski is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2017, 06:54 AM   #13
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
zinger1457's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2,042
The was one hell of a finish by Spieth. I doubt many others would have recovered under that situation and hitting the drive that he hit on 13. I was surprised he was able to take a drop inside the practice area, most golf courses designate the practice area OB.
zinger1457 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2017, 01:43 PM   #14
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2,409
Quote:
Originally Posted by RunningBum View Post
The difference between 1st and 2nd at the British open is nearly $800K. The endorsement deals for winning will dwarf that. Money not important? The pride of winning certainly is to a pro athlete. I'd say it was very worth while.
Sure it is for HIM. It's worth zero for me - my point.
gerntz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2017, 04:52 PM   #15
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 2,232
Quote:
Originally Posted by garyt View Post
If he found his first ball and deemed it unplayable why would he not take the penalty and drop it there? why would he go back to the tee? He obviously would not be able to play the provisional, but I see no reason he'd go back to the tee.
I missed that part of the broadcast, but my guess is that he chose to play the provisional because a drop in long grass doesn't guarantee a good lie...so then he's lying 2 with no guarantee that the 3rd shot will be playable. By choosing the provisional, he knows the 3rd shot is playable.
Music Lover is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2017, 04:55 PM   #16
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Jerry1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Posts: 2,376
He did not find his original ball.
__________________

Jerry1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
british, open, provisional, rory


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hawaii Cruise for my 15th year wedding anniversary, any suggestions? Aiming_4_55 Travel Information 22 09-02-2015 07:05 PM
Ferragosto August 15th Chuckanut Travel Information 1 08-15-2014 11:43 AM
Another "bend over" Open enrollment ziggy29 Health and Early Retirement 19 11-10-2011 09:11 PM
Happy 15th birthday, WWW! dory36 Other topics 14 02-27-2006 12:10 PM

» Quick Links

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:01 PM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.