Portal Forums Links Register FAQ Community Calendar Log in

Join Early Retirement Today

Scholarship endowment or scholarship fund?
Old 12-11-2016, 04:40 PM   #1
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post

Scholarship endowment or scholarship fund?

Anyone start a scholarship endowment or fund?

I have a few years to go before I hang up the corporate j*b as I have a few personal non-financial areas to become comfortable with along with topping off my kids 529 funds.

When I attended college, I worked full-time ($7/hour), struggling with schedule and homework, etc. I received Federal financial aid and State grants, and a few small scholarships ($500 and $1,000). Very limited assistance from family, say $20 to $100 in total per year. Money was just not available. All in all, I graduated with no debt.

To pay it forward, I was wondering how I could help. I don't need my name on anything. I'm thinking it would be a nice thing to do. Maybe, it's not enough, but I was thinking $50k as funding, increasing to $100k over time. I'm thinking this would be 3 - 5 years out before I pull the trigger.

Any good or bad experiences to share? How do I limit administerative fees? Is my funding amount just too low and look for other avenues to help?
Aiming_4_55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!