Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Slooow booting latop
Old 07-20-2007, 02:29 PM   #1
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,322
Slooow booting latop

My HP Pavilion xt155 (4-5 years old) is getting slower and slooower to boot. It takes up to 20 minutes. Once it boots it runs pretty fast. I got rid of stuff on the hard drive and now have 5.4Gb free on a 30Gb disk but that didn't help. I have 15 icons showing up on the lower right bar (I use XP) so that might be a clue. 7 of the icons and non-windows add-ons. I also use PcCillin Intenet Security as firewall and virus checker. Any ideas to make it regain its pep short of resetting it to its original config and losing a lot of programs?
__________________

__________________
FinallyRetired is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-20-2007, 02:32 PM   #2
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
TromboneAl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 11,199
I have an app called Startup Control Panel which let's me see all the apps that start up during booting. You'll probably find lots of apps there that you don't need. You can delete them from the startup lists without deleting the apps themselves.

The free program is available at: Mike Lin's Home Page
__________________

__________________
Al
TromboneAl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2007, 02:39 PM   #3
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
saluki9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,032
who needs a separate app? Just go to start:run:and type msconfig

That will show you everything that loads with windows.
__________________
saluki9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2007, 04:09 PM   #4
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,322
Quote:
Originally Posted by TromboneAl View Post
I have an app called Startup Control Panel which let's me see all the apps that start up during booting.
Thanks, Al, I installed the program and disabled about half the apps in my startup panel. That cut my startup time in half. I would disable more but I don't know what they are, so don't want to take a chance.
__________________
FinallyRetired is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2007, 04:23 PM   #5
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
TromboneAl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 11,199
Quote:
I don't know what they are, so don't want to take a chance.
Right. What I do is google the ones I don't know about, and there's usually plenty of info that will tell you whether you can disable or delete it. I agree that it can be risky/scary to delete something since it might turn out to be a problem down the road. You can also set system restore points before doing these things, in case it does cause problems.
__________________
Al
TromboneAl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2007, 04:51 PM   #6
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
cute fuzzy bunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Losing my whump
Posts: 22,697
Eh, take them off until something bad happens. Then put whatever you took out back in.

Hey Al, your retirementstatus board is pretty dang slow today...anything you can do about that?
__________________
Be fearful when others are greedy, and greedy when others are fearful. Just another form of "buy low, sell high" for those who have trouble with things. This rule is not universal. Do not buy a 1973 Pinto because everyone else is afraid of it.
cute fuzzy bunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2007, 05:06 PM   #7
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 5,072
Here are some links that might help.

http://www.microsoft.com/windowsxp/u...storeperf.mspx

Annoyances.org - Solutions to ''Slow System Startup'' (Windows XP Discussion Forum)


Good luck.
__________________
chinaco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2007, 08:14 PM   #8
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
TromboneAl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 11,199
Quote:
Eh, take them off until something bad happens. Then put whatever you took out back in.
Well, yeah, but what about two weeks down the road when you get "Error 0x4993" messages, and you have no idea what's causing them. Was it something you removed.

Quote:
Hey Al, your retirementstatus board is pretty dang slow today...anything you can do about that?
You mean you want a retirementstatusstatus board. Truth is, it's too wild and unregulated over there, so I stay away.
__________________
Al
TromboneAl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2007, 09:41 PM   #9
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 116
Instead of shutting down your laptop, hibernate it. Then it only takes a minute to start back-up. Hibernation is different than stand-by. Go to start, turn off computer, then hit shift and you will see hibernate. It works great. Every now and then you have to do a total shut down, but I use hibernate 90% of the time.
__________________
Gworker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2007, 09:48 PM   #10
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,322
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gworker View Post
Instead of shutting down your laptop, hibernate it. Then it only takes a minute to start back-up. Hibernation is different than stand-by. Go to start, turn off computer, then hit shift and you will see hibernate. It works great. Every now and then you have to do a total shut down, but I use hibernate 90% of the time.
Gworker, we must have different systems. My start, turn off computer, doesn't have hibernate, it just has stand by, turn off, or restart. My computer does sometime try to hibernate (if I leave it on without using it), but when it does it takes about an hour or more. So I disabled hibernate in the power options.

It does go into standby and comes back quickly from standby, are you sure you didn't mean standby instead of hibernate? Anyway, I try to not turn it off, but use stand by whenever I can. But standby uses battery power and it eventually shuts down. And periodically I receive XP and other updates that require me to shut down and restart.
__________________
FinallyRetired is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2007, 11:25 PM   #11
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
TromboneAl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 11,199
Hibernate isn't an option for you when choosing Start/Turn off computer because you disabled it.

Hibernate should work fine for you, and it would be worth it to try to fix this. You should upgrade your XP and your BIOS to the latest versions since, at least on Dells, some of the earlier versions had problems with hibernate and standby.
__________________
Al
TromboneAl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2007, 11:54 PM   #12
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
cute fuzzy bunny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Losing my whump
Posts: 22,697
Quote:
Originally Posted by TromboneAl View Post
Well, yeah, but what about two weeks down the road when you get "Error 0x4993" messages, and you have no idea what's causing them. Was it something you removed.

Oh thats easy. That means you should buy a new core 2 duo machine, which will boot infinitely faster. Come on...$599 for a new lappie? Its almost automatic.

Oh waitaminit...sometimes the 4993 error means you're out of coffee filters.
__________________
Be fearful when others are greedy, and greedy when others are fearful. Just another form of "buy low, sell high" for those who have trouble with things. This rule is not universal. Do not buy a 1973 Pinto because everyone else is afraid of it.
cute fuzzy bunny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2007, 10:15 AM   #13
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 116
You have to hold down the shift key to make stand-by turn to hibernate.
I don't have any problems using hibernate and it doesn't use any power when in hibernation.

[quote=SoonToRetire;538111]Gworker, we must have different systems. My start, turn off computer, doesn't have hibernate, it just has stand by, turn off, or restart. My computer does sometime try to hibernate (if I leave it on without using it), but when it does it takes about an hour or more. So I disabled hibernate in the power options. [quote]
__________________
Gworker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2007, 10:48 AM   #14
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 1,322
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gworker View Post
You have to hold down the shift key to make stand-by turn to hibernate.
As Homer would say... DOH! I held the shift key down and it does hibernate. It still takes a long time but I can just leave it, then it took 30 seconds to come back. I guess what I hated was when it went into automatic hibernation after so much time of not hitting a key, like when I had that option on max battery. It would be idle for a few minutes then kick into hibernation. That's what I disabled, I said "never" for hibernation, but I can still force it with the shift key as you said.

I still need the faster restart, for program upgrades, etc.
__________________

__________________
FinallyRetired is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Possible to dispute a car booting charge on my CC? soupcxan Other topics 20 12-15-2005 07:29 AM

 

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:39 PM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.