So, Al - Did you feel that Quake?

audreyh1

Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso) Give me a forum ...
So, TromboneAl - Did you feel that Quake?

A pretty good one today in your "back yard".

Hope no damage on your property.

Wow - looks like this one was right on top of the Mendocino Triple Junction!

I studied up on the Mendocino Triple Junction in 2008 when I spent a month in Humboldt County. Never did make it out to Cape Mendocino - I really wanted to, but we ran out of time on our day trip to the redwoods south of Eureka.

[The Mendocino Triple Junction is right at Cape Mendocino south of Eureka. It is where San Andreas Fault (where the Pacific Plate and the North American Plate slide past each other) ends at the Mendocino Fault. North of this fault line, the Gorda Plate is sliding under the North American Plate creating the Cascade Volcanos.

SAF_JuanDF.gif

Mendocino Triple Junction Offshore Northern California]

Audrey

Also if any of our northern California members are reading please chime in! I wonder how bad this quake felt, or didn't feel, to those of you in that area and hope all is well.

Glad to hear no building collapses or casualties. If I were T-Al I would be more worried about safety should there be aftershocks, than about posting on the forum at the moment.

I'm in Silicon Valley.

I didn't feel it although it was reported that it was felt this far south.

We had a 4.1 in the hills east of here on Thursday that I felt.

IMHO there are two kinds of quakes.

(1) The "Oh cool! An earthquake!" type. These are sort of fun if there is no damage.
(2) The "Oh s***, an earthquake! Where do I hide!" type. These are the bad kind.

The Thursday quake was the former.

mb

Hi guys -- yes, we felt it, and the power went out for about six hours. No damage here, but at stores 30 minutes away, things fell off shelves, glass broke, etc. There was chaos and a few ambulances required at the mall, says the news.