Portal Forums Links Register FAQ Community Calendar Log in

Join Early Retirement Today

Son joining corporate world
Old 03-14-2019, 12:01 PM   #1
Dryer sheet wannabe

Son joining corporate world

My son just accepted a job at a Fortune 500 company and will be moving to Chicago next month. As a physician I have no experience with the culture of that environment and he has only worked for smaller organizations in the past. He will be doing web and social media stuff with a marketing background. Any advice that I could give him? TIA
Maurice
mrc758 is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 03-14-2019, 12:13 PM   #2
Recycles dryer sheets

To avoid layoffs due to corporate takeovers he wants to be his bosses most valuable employee. He will do that by turning in his work early with the best possible quality, get to work on time or early and stay late if needed, volunteer to take some undesirable work from the boss, and not talk smack about one or anything.
Old 03-14-2019, 12:20 PM   #3
Full time employment: Posting here.