Join Early Retirement Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 07-31-2016, 03:38 PM   #41
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,149
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonat View Post
SSA accepts only a "10-digit number" here, so US only.
Well, then, Canada numbers are OK? (Canada numbers look just like US numbers except the 3-digit area codes are Canadian area codes...)
__________________

__________________
tmm99 is online now   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that Early-Retirement.org is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 07-31-2016, 03:43 PM   #42
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 203
Ok, North America. It doesn't say explicitly.
__________________

__________________
jonat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2016, 07:50 PM   #43
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,861
Wasn't able to get SS to accept my login today in order to give them my cell number. They sent out the code OK, and I received it, but the website said there was an error and wouldn't let me enter the code.

I tried to set it up with Fidelity also, but Fidelity says they don't support my carrier (probably meaning Google Voice).

So 0 for 2 today.
__________________
Animorph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2016, 07:54 PM   #44
Dryer sheet aficionado
redshift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Seattle
Posts: 35
I finally got it to accept my Google Voice number and send the code. For a while it wouldn't even process my regular cell phone number. Their system may be slammed with folks trying to update their logins?
__________________
redshift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2016, 05:09 AM   #45
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Tadpole's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 1,145
Anyone try Google Voice with Vanguard?
__________________
Tadpole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2016, 07:30 AM   #46
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
gauss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,626
I received the following error when I attempted to login to My SS this morning. This message was shown after I was prompted to enter a 10 digit cell phone number.

I am not sure at this point if the system is overloaded, or if they do not like my Google voice number that I provided.

-gauss

EDIT- Update - 15 minutes later or so I did receive an SMS message on my Google Voice number that I provided. It was of the form "YOUR SECURITY CODE IS ######## ". I still don't have anywhere to enter it in that the web site already faulted out with the message shown below. I guess this is a good sign suggesting that the current problems may be capacity related and not specific to my Google Voice number.


Quote:
We're sorry...


We cannot process your request at this time. Please try again later.


If you need immediate assistance: please contact us.

__________________
gauss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2016, 07:52 AM   #47
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
gauss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,626
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tadpole View Post
Anyone try Google Voice with Vanguard?
Yes I use my GV number all the time with my Vanguard account. I keep my Vanguard account set to "this is a public computer" so it prompts me every time.
__________________
gauss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2016, 09:07 AM   #48
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
easysurfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,462
Quote:
Originally Posted by Animorph View Post
Wasn't able to get SS to accept my login today in order to give them my cell number. They sent out the code OK, and I received it, but the website said there was an error and wouldn't let me enter the code.

I tried to set it up with Fidelity also, but Fidelity says they don't support my carrier (probably meaning Google Voice).

So 0 for 2 today.
Had the same issue trying to login to SSA with the code sent soon, but error message and no place to enter the code. I already had my account set up with my mobile awhile back so didn't need to do any assigning my phone today.

Worked fine months earlier. Maybe the "improvement" broke something . Looks like I'll try again in a week or two .
__________________
Have you ever seen a headstone with these words
"If only I had spent more time at work" ... from "Busy Man" sung by Billy Ray Cyrus
easysurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2016, 09:20 AM   #49
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: New Hampshire
Posts: 203
I was getting the same error on the SSA site, but I just retried a minute or so later and it was fine. It looks as if they have some capacity issues with their SMS gateway.
__________________
jonat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2016, 10:43 AM   #50
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Huston55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: The Bay Area
Posts: 1,650
Seems to be working now. Just completed registration.
__________________
You may be whatever you resolve to be.
Huston55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2016, 10:47 AM   #51
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Historic Florida
Posts: 1,424
Still getting the error for me. Code comes in OK though.
__________________
"Arguing with an Engineer is like rolling in the mud with a pig. Just remember that the pig likes it."
ShokWaveRider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2016, 11:15 AM   #52
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
Dawg52's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Central MS/Orange Beach, AL
Posts: 7,311
Quote:
Originally Posted by gauss View Post
I received the following error when I attempted to login to My SS this morning. This message was shown after I was prompted to enter a 10 digit cell phone number.

I am not sure at this point if the system is overloaded, or if they do not like my Google voice number that I provided.

-gauss

EDIT- Update - 15 minutes later or so I did receive an SMS message on my Google Voice number that I provided. It was of the form "YOUR SECURITY CODE IS ######## ". I still don't have anywhere to enter it in that the web site already faulted out with the message shown below. I guess this is a good sign suggesting that the current problems may be capacity related and not specific to my Google Voice number.
I just tried to login for the heck of it. First time since the change. Got the message you got and received no text code. I imagine the system is overloaded.
__________________
Retired 3/31/2007@52
Full time wuss.......
Dawg52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2016, 02:35 PM   #53
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 88
SSA.gov is not accepting my username/password today (which I know is correct)...can't even get to the point where I can request an activation code. Grrr....
__________________
dadu007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2016, 03:04 PM   #54
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Car-Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Citizen of Texas
Posts: 2,244
I just gave it a try. The first time it failed. I got the "can't process your request - try again later" message. I waited a few minutes and tried again. It worked okay the second time.
__________________
Car-Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2016, 04:25 PM   #55
Recycles dryer sheets
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 88
Yep, working for me now, too. (And I was using my email instead of my username; two different things!).
__________________
dadu007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2016, 06:33 PM   #56
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
easysurfer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7,462
Tried again. Back in business .
__________________
Have you ever seen a headstone with these words
"If only I had spent more time at work" ... from "Busy Man" sung by Billy Ray Cyrus
easysurfer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2016, 07:05 PM   #57
Give me a museum and I'll fill it. (Picasso)
Give me a forum ...
audreyh1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Rio Grande Valley
Posts: 15,117
Wow - I bet SS wasn't expecting their email to cause such a demand.
__________________
Well, I thought I was retired. But it seems that now I'm working as a travel agent instead!
audreyh1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2016, 04:22 AM   #58
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
gauss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 1,626
Worked fine when I tried Off-Peak today (~ 6:15am EDT).

BTW - Be sure to be prepared to change your password if you haven't logged in for a while due to mandatory password change requirements.

-gauss
__________________
gauss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2016, 06:57 AM   #59
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Historic Florida
Posts: 1,424
Worked for me today too.
__________________
"Arguing with an Engineer is like rolling in the mud with a pig. Just remember that the pig likes it."
ShokWaveRider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2016, 07:03 AM   #60
Moderator
Alan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Eee Bah Gum
Posts: 20,383
Quote:
Originally Posted by gauss View Post
Worked fine when I tried Off-Peak today (~ 6:15am EDT).
+1

I just set up my cell phone number.
__________________

__________________
Retired in Jan, 2010 at 55
Now it's adventure before dementia
Alan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Two factor authentication for TurboTax Peter FIRE and Money 16 03-06-2015 10:46 AM
Four days without a cell phone. "Really?" Nords Other topics 7 08-06-2012 07:41 PM
Best place to get a cell phone / cell phone plan? bank5 Other topics 4 09-18-2009 05:01 AM
Getting a cell phone without a Social Security # bank5 Other topics 7 08-24-2009 02:10 PM
Am I the only person without a cell phone? bssc Other topics 65 02-21-2007 04:04 PM

 

 
All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:42 PM.
 
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.