Streaming security cameras

Tailgate

Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Considering a Nest (we have the thermostat) Are the cameras a good investment to be able to check on the house when we are away?

Sent from my iPhone using Early Retirement Forum

I have one that I use mostly to check on the dogs while we are away. It takes a series of stills and you can also tell it to record if you want. You get the pics on your smart phone.

Works well and cost was ~$60.

I have an older Foscam IP camera that I've been using for the past 5 years and like it a lot. Been thinking about upgrading it with one of the newer models with better features.

I have the original version of the Nestcam (was Dropcam at the time) and have had it for about 3 (maybe 4) years. Works well and does what it needs to do. Mainly used to watch house sitters when we travel.

Yes, +1 on the Dropcam (now NEST). Very easy to setup and use.

Take a look at these: https://goo.gl/VOpZPp I have 4 in my house and they are amazing for the price. Free iPhone app to view them. Could not be happier....

edit to add: When I got them they were running a deal if you purchased 3. Not sure if it's still going.....

Take a look at these: https://goo.gl/VOpZPp I have 4 in my house and they are amazing for the price. Free iPhone app to view them. Could not be happier....

edit to add: When I got them they were running a deal if you purchased 3. Not sure if it's still going.....

Did you notice the company can record you and family in your home and share the video's?

I don't doubt Nest is a quality product but just don't see why it would be worth 3-4X the cost of similar products. I also like the pan and tilt feature in my current camera, looks like the Nest is a fixed camera.

Considering a Nest (we have the thermostat) Are the cameras a good investment to be able to check on the house when we are away?