Tax residence for expats

BoodaGazelle

Recycles dryer sheets
On the off-chance that the august members of this forum may know the answer, I figured I would give this a shot.

My brother has lived abroad for at least 20 years. A few years ago he finally sold his home here in the US, which he had been renting.

Yesterday, he told me that as a “nomadic expat”, he needs to (re)establish a US address to get Social Security (he will be 62 in May).... He asked if he could put our address as his US address, stating that it “would require very little of you”, although he did not indicate what that would be.

I did some quick searches, but did not find anything exactly like what I thought he was asking. As I have no knowledge of what his tax status has been all of these years, and do not know what, if any, legal repercussions this could have for us, I asked him to send more details.

If anyone knows what this would mean to us to allow this, I would appreciate hearing your experiences.

Thanks,

Bood

He wants to use your home address as his US mailing address? I used my parent’s home as my US mailing address for many years and our son (who lives abroad) uses our current address as his US mailing address.

If he does, there’s no exposure to you. There might be to him, if the state were to decide he has some tax liability, but that’s not likely to happen.

If he is a US citizen he does not need to reside in the US to receive Social Security Benefits.

If he needs to prove US residency for some other reason, just having a mailing address is not enough. That is something that should not involve you and you probably shouldn’t get involved.

Many friends here in MEX get their SS check sent directly to their MEX bank and use their MEX address. It is not a problem for SS. There are a few countries that SS will not send benefits to directly, Cuba and North Korea come to mind.