Join Early Retirement Today
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
TCP-IPv6 and Link-Layer topology
Old 11-04-2014, 12:24 PM   #1
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
imoldernu's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Illinois and Florida
Posts: 3,935
TCP-IPv6 and Link-Layer topology

I've looked at the description, but wonder if it's necessary, and what are the downsides to disabling it. What parts of the MS system won't work without it?

Link-layer topology discovery ... While I have a home network, it's not much used. Is this necessary?

imoldernu is offline   Reply With Quote
Join the #1 Early Retirement and Financial Independence Forum Today - It's Totally Free!

Are you planning to be financially independent as early as possible so you can live life on your own terms? Discuss successful investing strategies, asset allocation models, tax strategies and other related topics in our online forum community. Our members range from young folks just starting their journey to financial independence, military retirees and even multimillionaires. No matter where you fit in you'll find that is a great community to join. Best of all it's totally FREE!

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest so you have limited access to our community. Please take the time to register and you will gain a lot of great new features including; the ability to participate in discussions, network with our members, see fewer ads, upload photographs, create a retirement blog, send private messages and so much, much more!

Old 11-04-2014, 12:42 PM   #2
Recycles dryer sheets
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Cville
Posts: 399
IPv6 is not really necessary for your home network. It will be necessary for your provider when the traffic hits another service provider but that is ok, your IPv4 traffic can be transmitted without a problem.

A little background, IP addresses are used to identify devices connected to an IP network like the internet. To keep it simple, they are like a home address. The way to get the traffic to a specific IP address or routing is based on your IP address. However, we started to run out of new IP addresses. So one option was to increase the size of the IP address with IPv6. However, one part of the IPv6 address is reserved for IPv4
addresses, so IPv4 can be translated to an IPv6 address with simply prepending a string that says this is an IPv4 address.

I would just disable IPv6 all together on your Microsoft PC and use v4.

RetireBy90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2014, 12:58 PM   #3
rodi's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: San Diego
Posts: 6,753
IPv6 is being used to deliver video/cable/apps from "the cloud" to homes by Time Warner in their next gen products. But once it's in the home, it can be transfered via IPv4. IPv6 addresses definitely look a lot different than the familiar IPv4 octets.
Retired June 2014. No longer an enginerd - now I'm just a nerd.
rodi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2014, 03:14 PM   #4
Full time employment: Posting here.
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 906
Windows uses ip6 internally even if you disable it for your adapters. Dont break that design.

Sent from my iPhone using Early Retirement Forum
dallas27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2014, 03:48 PM   #5
Thinks s/he gets paid by the post
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 3,919
Here's a nice write up on why. IPV6 addressed a limitation in IPV4, who'd thought 4 billion addresses were not enough(never ever seen a hard limit get blown by, how does that happen? :what.
Everything will eventually be IPV6.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using Early Retirement Forum mobile app
MRG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2014, 05:41 PM   #6
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,929
Originally Posted by MRG View Post
Here's a nice write up on why. IPV6 addressed a limitation in IPV4, who'd thought 4 billion addresses were not enough(never ever seen a hard limit get blown by, how does that happen? :what
Hey, it looked like a huge number back in 1980. There were a whole 61 machines on the ARPANET (Internet predecessor) in 1975, and Vint Cerf and Bob Kahn had been banging the rocks together for about 2 years to try and create an internetwork linking SATNET, the Packet radio net, CSNET, and ARPANET when 1980 rolled around. Several hundred computers on some sort of internetwork! Yow!

The system didn't pass 10,000 machines until 1987. THEN it took off. 80,000 machines in January 1989, and 160,000 by November 1989. Folks gave up trying to make printed maps of the Internet.

Then Tim Berners-Lee got his NeXTCube and wrote his app to link physics papers together...

M Paquette is offline   Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Kink in the Old Retirement Plan akck FIRE and Money 55 06-25-2012 11:01 AM
How do you layer your cash reserves? Berkshire_Bull Young Dreamers 0 02-11-2012 08:43 PM
Do you agree with Bengen's "Layer Cake" withdrawal rate MikeK FIRE and Money 23 12-16-2006 10:50 AM
withdrawal plan "layer cake" JohnEyles FIRE and Money 4 10-11-2006 04:58 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:48 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.